We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg
Ranked #126 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed at this fabulous, romantic hotel with my fiance in March.

The location is superb. From CDG Airport, take the RER B train, that stops right in front of the hotel (Metro stop: "Luxembourg") - it is convenient and will cost you a fraction of a taxi fare. For sightseeing, take a bus across the street and get off at "Champ de Mars" (10 - 15 minutes ride), and you will find yourself right in front of the Eiffel Tower. Another highlight: Just walk through the charming St. Germain all the way to Le Louvre for an authentic Parisian experience.

The hotel is tastefully designed with beautiful furnishing and very comfortable beds. We really liked the fine little details, such as funky mirrors, nice paintings, pillows and lamps. Their "Brasserie Le Luco" serves wonderful breakfast, lunch and dinner, while you can enjoy people watching on the streets of this colorful neighborhood.

The staff was fantastic! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed the warm hospitality. Mustafa from the Reception deserves special mention as he really was there for us from check-in to check-out, always with a warm smile and more than happy to assist anytime. He truly went the extra mile to make our stay very memorable.

L'observatoire Luxembourg - just fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyLevelofTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable commercial at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs MyLevelofTravel,

We thank you for your kind review.

We are delighted the meals you had at our brasserie Le Luco suited to your taste. You also seemed to appreciate the decoration of your room.

To bring a pleasant ambience to the accomodations , we paid attention to every details; the pieces of furniture are made to measure, the pillows remind of the famous painting of Mona Lisa and the photograph Gilles Trillard created the pictures especially for the hotel.

Our team would be very happy to warmly welcome you again and make you discover some other spots of our beautiful city.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    304
    34
    4
    0
See reviews for
159
504
34
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orewa, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We have 9 nights staying in this hotel. The staff are fantastic, they go out of their way to help, and speak fluent english. The room is much bigger than we expected, and within easy walking distance to most places. The rooms are clean and although a lot of traffic you hardly hear it. Would be very happy to stay here again, mainly thanks to the wonderful staff

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aprilholiday_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable commercial at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Aprilholiday_13,

We thank you for your positive review and for appraising our services.

As you noticed the hotel Observatoire Luxembourg very well located. It is served by many means of transport with a direct access to Roissy Charles de Gaulle Airport, Paris Gare du Nord train station and the main touristic attractions.

To prepare your next stay you can visite our web page and take advantage of our best rates.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is my second stay at this hotel, and the staff is as wonderful and helpful as always. The location of the hotel is great. Spend a little more and get one of the bigger rooms. It's great having the cafe downstairs for breakfast and/or dinner when tired.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelerDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable commercial at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear M. and Mrs TheTravelerDC,

We thank you for your kind review.

At hotel Observatoire Luxembourg we are at your service all day long, for a coffee or any other thing you might want. It is your home away from home.

Your faithfulness is our best reward. All the team is awaiting for your next visit.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We only stayed one night, but we were very impressed. The room was a normal size for Paris, very clean and nicely decorated. Staff very friendly. I was a little nervous that our room overlooked boulevard st michel which is a main road, but was pleased with how quiet it was. Extremely easy access from Gare du Nord.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viross5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable commercial at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear viross5000,

We thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted you liked the decoration of your room. We wanted our rooms to be elegant and original with a wink to the italian paintings and made-to-measure furniture.

However, we are sorry you didn't like the view on the Boulevard Saint Michel beside our soundproof windows.For the next, call us directly so that we could choose a room that suit you better.

All the team wishes you had a nice trip back home.

Yours Sincerelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2013

As many others have already said, one of the best features of this hotel is the outstanding staff who strive to make sure that your stay is enjoyable. They are friendly, helpful and for those whose French is not up to speed (mine is definitely subpar), they speak perfect English.
The hotel is located near many wonderful Latin Quarter restaurants, attractions (Seine, Notre Dame, Pantheon, Luxembourg Gardens, etc.) and also near the Saint Germain area.
It is conveniently located near the RER B train line (direct from CDG airport) and to other parts of Paris (just change to another metro line). To return to the airport, for greater convenience, we took a shuttle arranged by the very helpful front desk staff.
Our room (408) faced Saint Michel, was spacious enough, clean and quiet (great sound-proofing). The lobby was lovely and cozy, and my husband and I spent a couple of evenings there with our laptops and a bottle of wine purchased at a small market just a few doors away.
We would stay at the Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg when we return to Paris (though not sure when) and will definitely recommend it to our friends and family when they visit.
To sum it up, a wonderful hotel in a great location with outstanding staff and customer service!!!!!!

Room Tip: Higher floor is probably better, as other reviewers have mentioned noise from the trains below (thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable commercial at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Gail K,

We are greatful for such a kind review.

We are pleased to read you found our lobby homelike and that you took advantage of the free WIFI connection. Among other services we provide newspapers, a lluggage store, a 24 hours front desk and Concierge assistance.

We welcome more and more international guests so our receptionists are perfectly bilingual.Here human qualities are as much important as professional abilities and we thank you for being sensitive to it.

Have a lovely spring and see you soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I stayed here with my mother for a little weekend away, mother and daughter, so I was looking for something special and this hotel ticked all the boxes. Its very central right near the luxembourg gardens and only a stones throw away from Notre Dame, St Germain de Pres and lots of other interesting parts of the city. The staff were excellent and friendly and always willing to help. The room was spotles, not too big but we didn't need much more as we were out all day. The hotel is close to restaurants and churches for Sunday mass and the RER stops right outside direct from the airport which was brilliant as we didn't need to change. The buffet breakfast was expensive for what it was but there was an a la carte menu, so there is a choice. All in all I'd gladly come back here again next time I am in Paris.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor at the front of the hotel, it was a bit noisy but nothing too serious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oonacol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable commercial at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Oonacol,

We thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that the three of you enjoyed the helpfulness and kindness of our team. We are also delighted you felt confortable in your room.

In order to be compatible with our guest's wants; our brasserie Le Luco serves different "à la carte" breakfasts composed of fresh quality products.Therefore, we regret you were not completely satisfied with this service. So for your next reservation, contact us directly so that we could offer you our best deal.

We hope you had a nice trip back to Cork.

Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This is a lovely modernised hotel at the heart of Paris. 30 meters away from the RER Luxembourg station (direct access from Gare de Nord and both airports) and steps away from the Latin Quarter, Pantheon, Sorbonne, Notra Dame, etc. Rooms are of average size for Paris (small by many standards) but what REALLY makes the difference is the very good service of the people working in the front desk. For Paris standards they seem like from a different planet but by any standards they were honestly happy people with a great desire of service. We visited the hotel with a small baby and they didn't hesitate helping in every occasion, warming her food in the microwave, helping with the small elevator, and showing a genuine interest in her. Their English was impeccable, their rate of response was immediate and they always had a helping tip for us. They made us feel important for them and I greatly appreciate finding such service in a city not famous for that.

The only real downside is the terrible and loud noise that the underground train makes. We were in a second floor and still you could find the passing of the trains all night long. I am not particularly sensitive to noise at night but I have to admit that I felt disturbed a few times during my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goguca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable commercial at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Family Goguca,

We are delighted you chose our hotel for your stay in Paris. We are also proud we made you change your mind about the way parisian hoteliers can welcome their guests. We are eager to take the utmost care of our guest so it is always a pleasure to be complimented for it.

However, we apologize for the metro's disturbances and sincerely regret not being warned; we would have certainly managed to make you switch rooms.

Next time, please contact us directly so that we could take charge to handle your reservation in the smallest detail.

The whole team wishes you a nice spring.

Looking forward to receiving you in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#85 of 1,800 in Paris
1,157 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#138 of 1,800 in Paris
1,648 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#112 of 1,800 in Paris
1,622 reviews
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#186 of 1,800 in Paris
1,002 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#131 of 1,800 in Paris
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg

Property: Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg
Address: 107 Boulevard Saint Michel, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Paris
#86 Family Hotel in Paris
#93 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just next to Luxembourg Gardens and a few steps from La Sorbonne and the Latin Quarter, Hotel Obervatoire Luxembourg offers you a typical Parisian experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookAssist, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatoire Luxembourg Hotel
Observatoire Luxembourg Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing