We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg
Ranked #118 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Canada
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The staff were very absolutely wonderful - gracious and friendly. The rooms were lovely - very charming and nicely decorated. We received a tray of macaroons upon our arrival - a nice touch. Great location - close to transit and easy walking to many sites. It is nicely situated right across from Luxembourg Gardens. I would highly recommend this hotel.
Nadine A.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Nadine A,

Thank you for taking time to share your impressions about your recent stay with us.

We were glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our location, rooms and staff.
The hotel was refurbished 3 years ago to become a boutique-hotel with a décor inspired by the Italian artist, Fornasetti. Our Front Desk will be happy to provide you with the direction to the Fornasetti store in Paris if you are interested.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you for your next stay in Paris and invite you to contact us directly for our best offers,

Warm Regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    295
    32
    4
    0
See reviews for
150
481
33
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
638 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 768 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My hubby and I stayed at this lovely hotel for 9 nights and upon our arrival, we were greeted with beautiful smiles that would be the signature for every departure and arrival during our stay. Being French Canadian, language was not a barrier for us, but all the staff speak English very well. We had booked a superior room #406 with breakfast and received a small yet very beautiful room with a wonderful view! We usually don't stay in one hotel for more than two or three days, but this being the exemption for a full nine nights, we were kind of disappointed with the lack of closet space and drawers, but this is only a minor detail. We are on the go from very early in the morning to very late in the night, so the size of the room or closet space wasn't an issue for very long. Beautiful bathroom with full Fragonard toiletries! Shower is heavenly with great water pressure. Bed is very hard, but we love it that way so we both slept like babies plus no room or street noise.

We were celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary in Paris and received a bottle of champagne upon our arrival with macarons and a hand written welcome note. Very nice surprise!

Breakfast was nice; croissants and Nutella (mmm...), fruits, cereal, yogurt, scrambled eggs, potatoes, bacon, cheese and baguettes. Just enough to get you going! We also had a dinner included in our package at the Brasserie Lucco. The food was delicious and the service was wonderful!

We walked pretty much everywhere; Eiffel Tower, Champs Elisées, Montmartre (name it, we walked it) however if you are pressed for time, the RER B Luxembourg is just across the street from the hotel with a connexion to Chatelet/Les Halles metro station. Luxembourg Gardens are right in front, Pantheon and Latin Quarter, Musée Cluny, 5 to 10 minutes walk, Notre-Dame 15 minutes. This hotel is very well located, close to the tourist attractions, but just far enough to be quiet.

Free Wifi, but you must ask for daily codes.

Would return to the Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg in a heartbeat! Loved every minute there!

Room Tip: Superior room is a must, but still very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SylvieFrancois444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear SylvieFrancois444,

Thank you for your detailed and positive review of your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed “every minute” of your stay, as you said.
You particularly enjoyed the location of the hotel apparently: our location is quite central and you can reach the main touristic spots easily (whether by walking or public transport). Our Front Desk staff will be happy to provide you with the needed directions.
Your comments about our breakfast and our showers were highly appreciated. Please do not hesitate to share any suggestions you might have for our breakfast if you have any: your opinion matters to us.
You did mention the smallness of the closet: please kindly note that our staff will be happy to provide you with extra hangers if needed and that some of our rooms have a larger closet, such as our Deluxe Rooms.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you for your next stay in Paris and invite you to contact us directly to benefit from our best offers,

Warm Regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had a very warm welcome and we had a perfect room over looking the street. The room was very tidy, and also very modern. Even the bath room was perfect for us (equipped from everything). Our stay was with the breakfast. The food was really good and a vast range of everything. We had dinner too, and also the food was excellent. All the staff were helpful and very good to us. I have no regrets to stay once again in this hotel. Thanks for everything!

Room Tip: I Think that the rooms were more or less all the same..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helios G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Helios G,

Thank you for sparing your time and share your impressions about your recent stay with us.

We were glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our welcome, bathrooms and breakfast. We remind you that our rooms are equipped whether with a shower or a bathtub. Please do not hesitate to let us know your preference prior to your arrival.

We hope to welcome you for your next stay in our capital and invite you to contact us directly for our best offers,

Warm Regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

upon arrival here had the most amazing and "genuine" welcome, nothing better than friendliness that comes across as 100% authentic and not faked. I was offered two vouchers for free champagne, I asked to exchange for included breakfast as I don't drink champagne, at first he said this wasn't possible then decided to give me free breakfast anyway, plus the free champagne! shame I overslept and missed breakfast but it didn't matter, it was still great to be treated so well.

The hotel is small but perfectly decorated, the rooms feel lavish with a well designed modern en-suite bathroom, loved the large windows which opened the room up to the street below, though pretty noisy paris street still created a great atmosphere in the room.

The attached bistro restaurant served very nice food and had a lovely atmosphere.

Couldn't recommend this place enough and will be coming back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picky077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear picky077,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us.

Your remarks about our “genuine” welcome were highly appreciated. We always put our guests first and are delighted that you found to be treated very well.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you next time you come to Paris and that you will have the opportunity to try our buffet breakfast next time!

Do not hesitate to contact us directly to benefit from our best offers,

Warm Regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We arrived early on a Thursday morning and the staff made an extra effort to get us into our rooms ahead of check in. We took two rooms and the beds were comfortable and the room very clean. Jessica, Moustafa and the rest of the staff were very hepful to the point of helping us manouever our rental card as we were checking out. We would definetly stay there again. An added bonus is the location right next to Luxemvbourg Gardens for a nice stroll and the Metro is so close.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear John D,

Thank you for your positive and detailed review about your recent stay with us.

We were glad to read that you appreciated having access to your rooms before check-in time: when possible, we always try to have your rooms ready as soon as possible. We advise you to send us an email if you are supposed to arrive at the hotel before 2PM.
Your comments about the cleanliness and the comfort of our rooms were very much appreciated, and we were glad to read that you enjoyed our location, a few steps away from the Luxembourg gardens and within walking distance of most touristic spots (Eiffel Tower, Louvre & Orsay Museums, Notre-Dame). We remind you that our Front Desk team is available 24/7 to give you directions and recommendations.

We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again and invite you to contact us directly to benefit from our best offers,

Warm Regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife had a short trip last week and booked this room 3 months ago. They even arranged our invitation letter for the Schengen Visa. Upon arrival, they managed to give us a room as early as 11 am. Although the check-in time is at 2pm. Shhhh...They even gave us some free perks ;). The stay was exquisite and relaxing. This was our first time in Paris, the room was so comfortable that we even managed to sleep at 7-8 hours. Our tip: Open the windows, you'll feel and hear Paris. We had a wonderful time and surely be back again. Thanks Mustafa, Jessica and Theo.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Nelledo,

Thank you for sparing your time and share your recent experience with us.

Your positive comments were highly appreciated: we were happy to help you, prior to your arrival, with obtaining your Schengen visa. Do not hesitate to contact us before your stay if you need assistance of any kind.

We always try to offer our guests special treats, especially when they stay for a long time or for a special occasion; we were delighted to read that you enjoyed the macarons and would be happy to suggest you the best places to get some in the hotel area.

We look forward to your coming back and invite you to contact us directly for our best offers,

Warm Regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and found the staff to be very accomodating and friendly. The rooms are decent size (there are some really small ones) but we had a fairly large room with a very large bathroom,

Very clean and a great location. Would highly reccomend this hotel if going to paris.

Room Tip: make sure to get one of the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Gary S,

Thank you for taking time and share your impressions about your recent stay with us.

We were glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the friendliness of our staff. You mention the size of our bathrooms: please kindly note that we do have rooms with a shower or with a bath. If you have a preference, do not hesitate to mention it prior to your arrival: we will do our best to meet your request.

We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you next time you come to Paris and invite you to contact us directly for our best offers,

Warm Regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#89 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#130 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#139 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#160 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#165 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg

Property: Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg
Address: 107 boulevard Saint Michel, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Paris
#86 Family Hotel in Paris
#93 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just next to Luxembourg Gardens and a few steps from La Sorbonne and the Latin Quarter, Hotel Obervatoire Luxembourg offers you a typical Parisian experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, BookAssist, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatoire Luxembourg Hotel
Observatoire Luxembourg Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing