We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg
Nearby Hotels
US$479
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$411
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Muguet(Paris)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$543
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$527
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Astoria - Astotel(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Duquesne Eiffel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$510
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$411
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (988)
Filter reviews
988 results
Traveller rating
627
320
35
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
627
320
35
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrer ble lucolatin quarternotre dameboulevard st michelattached restaurantmacaroonsrer stationthe hotel staffrooms are smallbottle of champagneminute walkeach morningclassic roomleft banklovely boutiquecroissants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
433 - 438 of 988 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My wife, 14 year old daughter and I stayed here in early July. We really liked this hotel. Our room was a very comfortable size for the three of us. It had a large bathroom with a tub/shower combination. The air conditioning worked very well, as did the free wifi. The decor was attractive and tasteful. There is a small elevator, typical of most European hotels. We had a street side room. Although St. Michel is a busy street, the windows kept the street noise out.
The location is excellent. It is maybe four blocks from the Pantheon, two blocks at most, to the Luxembourg Gardens, 6-8 blocks to Montparnesse and maybe a mile to the Seine and Notre Dame. There is a RER/Metro stop a block away and the orange route of the Hop on/Hop off bus stop is only 3 blocks away.
The staff is wonderful. We were greeted by name in the morning. They were helpful with directions, printing tickets that we had purchased online and printing boarding passes. We had the impression that they were happy to see us when we returned and would have missed us if we had not.
We did have the breakfast included with our room. It was the only thing average about this above average hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mdrrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear mdrrar,

Thank you for your detailed and positive review about your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to acknowledge that you enjoyed our Triple Room. Located on the Boulevard side, our Triple Rooms are 20 sqm and are composed of a double bed (which can be converted into twin beds) and a rollaway bed. This extra bed is a charge of 25€ per night and is only available upon request.
Your comments about the friendliness of our staff were highly appreciated and rest assured that they have been forwarded to the concerned parties.
We have noticed that you mentioned our breakfast as being the “average” aspect of your stay. As we are always eager to improve our service, we kindly ask you to provide us with a more detailed description to our manager (vammeux@observatoirehotel.com).

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you for your next stay in our capital and advise you to contact us directly for our best offers,

Warm Regards,

Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed for 6 nights at the hotel. The rooms were lovely. The hotel was located in a great area, close to the RER station and with lots of wonderful restaurants in the area. The staff could not have been more helpful and kind. We would definitely stay there again the next we are in Paris.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JStein01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear JStein01,

Thank you for sparing your time and share your impressions about your recent stay with us.

We were glad to read that you particularly took delight in the proximity of the RER station and of a lot of restaurants. The exit “Rue de l’Abbé de l’Epée” of the Luxembourg station is only a few steps away from the hotel. The RER will take you directly to the airports (Orly and Charles de Gaulle) in 45 minutes.

We thank you for considering staying again in our establishment for your next stay in Paris and recommend you to contact us directly for our best offers,

Warm Regards,

Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed for three and enjoyed the proximity to the Latin Quarter, Notre Dame and Ile St. Louis (my favourite area). Jessica and Moustafa were very helpful and answered all our questions. I would not hesitate to stay in this clean and well appointed hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nadia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear NadiaTO,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to read that you appreciated the assistance of our staff as well as our location. You mentioned the Ile Saint Louis: this island, located just behind Notre Dame, welcomes one of the best ice-cream makers of Paris, Berthillon. Their main shop is open daily from 10AM to 8PM.

We would be pleased to welcome you for your next stay in Paris and advise you to contact us directly for our best offers,

Warm Regards,

Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel was exactly what we wanted, with friendly and helpful personnel, clean and well decorated rooms, a good hot breakfast (with delicious croissants), and close to the metro/RER. I was travelling with my daughter on her first visit to Paris, and I appreciated that the hotel staff treated her with respect and kindness. They also tolerated (and even seemed to appreciate) my attempts to engage with them in French, although it's not my first language. I loved the proximity to the Luxembourg gardens, which is a beautiful place to find some shade during the heat of the day or to lounge by the fountains in the sun. It's also very close to the Latin quarter, where walking the cobblestone streets gives you a real sense of old Paris. I would return to this hotel in a heart beat, and hope I'll get the chance again before too long.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Sarah C,

Thank you for sparing your time and share your comments about your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to read that your daughter enjoyed her first stay in Paris with us and that you particularly appreciated our staff attitude towards your daughter and your desire to practice your French.
You came to visit us in July which is one of the best months to take advantage of the Luxembourg Gardens. In summer, they are open for a longer time (7.30AM to 9.00 PM) and you can picnic or relax in one of its numerous lawns. The Gardens also welcome the Luxembourg Museum where you will be able to visit its permanent or temporary exhibitions. The Front Desk members will be happy to provide you with more information upon request.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you for your next trip to Paris and invite you to contact us directly for our best offers,

Warm Regards,

Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed three nights at the Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg. The hotel staff was always ready with help and a smile. We found that the room was very quiet. At the RER B Luxembourg station we exited the underground at the Abbe de L'Epee. The Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg was right in front of us. However, there was some construction near the RER exit so the hotel was not immediately apparent. We checked into the hotel. The extremely nice man at the desk gave us a map with our location circled and sent us to our room. The elevator was barely large enough for us and our two carry on bags. Basically, the room and bath are the size of cruise ship cabins that we have had, maybe smaller. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Probably the best bed of the hotels on our multi-city Europe trip. We had breakfast twice at the restaurant attached to the hotel. Breakfast was good with a selection of breads, cheeses, meats, yogurt, cereal, and coffee. We recall that there were eggs but not sure. Down St. Michel maybe 15 minutes walk towards the Seine there are many eating establishments, some serve early dinner. Also, the Luxembourg Gardens near the hotel is nice to walk through and there is a small version of the Statue of Liberty there, one of three in Paris.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Nicole W,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience with us.

Your comments about our location and our staff were highly appreciated. As you did mention, the Latin District (Saint Michel) is located only 15 min walking from the hotel. This area welcomes a lot of restaurants where you can usually eat all day long.
Our room sizes respect Parisian standards and architecture. For the best comfort of our guests, we offer 4 categories of rooms: Classic (14 sqm), Superior (15 to 18 sqm), Deluxe (17 to 20 sqm) and Family (25 sqm). We would be pleased to help you choosing the most suitable room for your stay.

We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you for your next stay in Paris and invite you to contact us directly to benefit from our best offers,

Warm Regards,

Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews