We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg
Ranked #116 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Lovely boutique hotel in good location, staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms are great and have been renovated recently, thoroughly enjoyed our experience at this hotel and recommend highly. Thank you to Jessica and Moustafa.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Ben750,

Thank you for your positive review about your recent stay at the Observatoire.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed our refurbishing and our staff. Please rest assured that your kind words were forwarded to them.

We thank you for recommending our hotel and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again for your next stay in our capital.

Warm Regards,

Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (940)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

388 - 394 of 940 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We recently stayed at Hotel Observatoire - what a lovely find. It is in a reasonably quiet area yet still very convenient.
Quick taxi ride into city. Metro station close by. Staff excellent, small rooms as is the way in Paris, but very comfortable beds. Moustafa (on the desk) is a wonderful assest to this Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belle_abode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear belle-abode,

Thank you for taking time and share your comments about your recent stay with us.

Your comments about our location and our staff were highly appreciated. Please rest assured that your kind words were shared with our team!

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the quietness of our location: we are indeed located within walking distance from the main touristic attractions but the district stays quiet.

We hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again and we invite you to contact us directly to benefit from our best offers,

Warm Regards,

Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Paris has thousands of great hotels to choose from and so it's always difficult to decide, where to stay. This time I'd decided I wanted to be in the Luxembourg quarter and when searching for hotels, the quirky style of this hotel jumped out at me and then I saw it was metres from the metro station with a direct line to the airport - Sold.

We booked through the hotel website in the end as that offered the better deal compared to the multitude of hotel booking sites claiming to offer the lowest cost.

On arrival the hotel staff were friendly and efficient checking us in, the room was small as expected, however for us it was perfect. It was very clean, had a kettle to make tea and coffee and we loved the funky mirrors above the bed.

As I mentioned earlier the location is great, close to the metro station, meaning easy access to the whole of Paris if you want, or you can easily spend a day or 2 just walking around the local area. The Pantheon is 5 minutes walk away, the Luxembourg gardens are opposite and Montparnasse is 15-20mins walk away too.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ES_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear ES_77,

Thank you for taking time to share your impressions about your recent stay with us.

We were glad to read that you had a nice stay with us and that you found our own website to have the best offer for your stay. We do indeed offer special offers for our future guests such as buffet breakfast included or even a dinner included during your stay.

We are indeed located 5min away from the Pantheon, which is famous for hosting the tombs of some French well-known celebrities, such as Marie Curie, Mirabeau, Marat... As you did mention, the Montparnasse district, famous for its "crêperies" and its tower, is also within walking distance (15min). Our Front Desk staff will be happy to provide you with further information if needed.

We hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again and we invite you to contact us directly for our best offers,

Warm Regards,

Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We were delighted with our stay! I lived in Paris many years ago and have visited many times since. This is my new favorite place to stay! The location is wonderful and very quiet for Paris—just a short walk from some of the best places in Paris (it was also fun to stroll through the Luxembourg Gardens each day which are just across the street). The RER/Metro for the hotel (Luxembourg) was a direct stop from Charles de Gaulle airport which was extremely convenient and the access is practically across the street. Our room was quite large by Paris standards (most hotels in Paris are extremely tiny), and even included a place to put luggage, a desk/chair, a refrigerator, a large closet, two nightstands, lovely lighting and handy reading lights by each bedside. The bathrooms are modern, clean and well appointed, including bathroom slippers and heated towel racks. The thing we truly enjoyed was the amount of light and the beautiful view we had from our economy priced room (we stayed in room 404). The “flat iron” shaped building affords every room large windows--a very, very unusual treat for Paris! Even the stairway had windows. Most hotels in Paris do not have views, and if you are in an economy room, you will probably be at the back of the hotel overlooking an airshaft. We overlooked the garden across from the back of the hotel and our room was so quiet we could even hear the small fountain in the middle of the garden all throughout the day and night if we had the windows open. On the very few occasions we came back to the room in the middle of the day, we enjoyed sitting and looking out the window at our lovely view. The weather was quite warm at times and our air conditioner worked very well when needed. They have complimentary wifi (a bit slow, but we were happy to have it), and a nice café is also attached to the building which can even provide room service if needed. The elevator was small, but we were glad to have it when coming in and out with luggage. We were greeted by name each day we were at the hotel, and the staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. It was my daughter’s birthday during our stay, and they even helped me arrange for flowers and macaroons to be waiting in our room upon arrival which was very special. I would VERY DEFINITELY recommend this hotel and we plan to stay here on our next trip to Paris!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sharman a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear sharman a,

Thank you for your detailed and positive review about your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to read that you found your "new favourite place to stay" and all your wonderful comments about our rooms, amenities, location and staff were highly appreciated.

We were pleased to organise the surprise for your daughter and were glad to read that she enjoyed it. If you are coming on a special occasion and wish to have flowers, champagne or even chocolate in your room upon arrival, we invite you to contact us prior to your arrival for the organisation.

Our Classic and some of our Deluxe Rooms indeed benefit from a view on a private garden. Our Superior Rooms have a view whether on the Boulevard Saint Michel or a corner view on a square. Do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival if you have a preference: we will do our best to meet your request.

Thank you for recommending our hotel: we would be pleased to welcome one of your relatives or yourself soon again!

Warm Regards,

Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spent 3 nights here and we enjoyed our stay very much. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The bed was extremely comfortable and we had a nice view of the gardens behind the hotel. The RER is on the next corner and across the road is the entrance to Les Jardins de Luxembourg which are just beautiful and calm amid the hustle and bustle. Thank you Mustafa for a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back or end are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear June H,

Thank you for your positive review about your recent stay with us.

We were glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us, especially our beds and our service. Our mattresses were changed recently for the best comfort of our guests: we would be happy to provide you with their references if interested.
As you mentioned, the Luxembourg Gardens are a few steps away from the hotel. If you are traveling with children, there is a children park with a lot of facilities. The park has different opening hours, depending on the season. Our Front Desk staff will be happy to provide you with them.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you for your next stay in our capital and invite you to contact us directly for our best offers,

Warm Regards,

Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My sister and I stayed here for one week. Very clean, delicious breakfasts, friendly and helpful staff - especially Moustafa!
There is a Bus that stops right outside the hotel to take you down Blvd. St. Michele, if you like. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenPKathyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear KarenPKathyE,

Thank you for sparing your time and share your recent experience in our establishment.

Your comments about our buffet breakfast and our staff were highly appreciated.
As you did mention, the bus 38 stops in front of the hotel and will drive you down the Boulevard Saint Michel and up to Gare du Nord if you are taking the Eurostar or the Thalys train. If you walk a bit further and reach the main entrance of the Luxembourg Gardens, you will be able to catch the bus 27 (going to Musée du Louvre and the Opera). Our Front Desk staff will be happy to assist you to find the best and quickest route.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again and invite you to contact us directly for our best offers,

Warm Regards,

Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A good place to stay!! Near Sorbonne University, Luxemburg Park, Saint Germain... Good place to stay in vacations or for a congress 8that was my case). Near the touristic center but at the same time in a very quiet area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Berta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Berta A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions about your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to read that you particularly enjoyed our location and that you recommend our establishment for both leisure and business. We are indeed located close to the Senate and other business institutions such as the “Ecole des Mines” or the ENS.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming next time you come to Paris then, for business or for leisure, and we advise to contact us directly for our best offers.

Warm Regards,

Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#80 of 1,802 in Paris
1,189 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#127 of 1,802 in Paris
1,680 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#417 of 1,802 in Paris
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#171 of 1,802 in Paris
597 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg
Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg
#1,043 of 1,802 in Paris
175 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#135 of 1,802 in Paris
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg

Address: 107 boulevard Saint Michel, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Business Hotel in Paris
#86 Family Hotel in Paris
#93 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £100 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just next to Luxembourg Gardens and a few steps from La Sorbonne and the Latin Quarter, Hotel Obervatoire Luxembourg offers you a typical Parisian experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatoire Luxembourg Hotel
Observatoire Luxembourg Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing