We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent and Functional”
Review of Hotel Ambre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ambre
Ranked #1,359 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Very compact spartan rooms but nice and clean with comfy beds. Friendly hotel staff who were keen to help. Located 5 minutes walk from a Metro station in a quiet part of the south of he city.

Not recommended if you are going out late (as we were) as they take the keys off you and they have no door bell. We were left banging and rattling the door at 3am for 15 minutes in the freezing cold before someone came to let us in.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank S-333C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Room:
I had till now never walked into a hotel room and found a used bath towel and an empty toilet roll waiting to be replaced. There was a floor towel by the sink, I had honestly seen cleaner towels in dog kennels.The bed was made but the sheets had not been changed, how do I know? Hair from the previous occupier was still on the pillow covers and bed sheet.

Staff:
Incompetent, lazy and painfully slow.

Other notes:
Be prepared to eat breakfast by the entrance to the hotel at a minuscule coffee table while literally rubbing shoulders with other irritated hotel guests.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edmond D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

For my 21st birthday my boyfriend booked for us to stay in Paris. I was a tad apprehensive as this was his first time booking. But I was pleasantly surprised.

Although the hotel takes a while to get to from the airport, it is close to many other attractions within Paris. And the metro is only about 5 min walk. We found that we soon became experts of the metro and if you are familiar with the London Underground it will be second nature. Hotel staff were great in guiding us to stations where attractions were located.

The rooms were great, modern decor very clean, plenty of towels, Comfy bed, lots of plug sockets. And to our surprise a little hob and microwave. Which was nice as we arrived late from the airport so we popped over to the supermarket (30 secs opposite) bought some bits and made dinner. Which was convenient.

Only few small issues that I would suggest to improve the hotel:

There was no kettle!
Although we had pots and pans we had no kettle which was bizarre so we had to boil the water on a hob!

There was a small kitchen and sink, but nothing to wash our dishes up with.

Also no toilet roll holder

And a phone, but with no numbers to ring reception etc

Overall very good experience, just a few minor things that would make the hotel even better. We managed to cram all the famous attractions into our trip with the benefit of the metro being so close!

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethanniee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend booked this hotel for us as part of a surprise trip to Paris for my birthday and, considering he admits to 'knowing nothing about booking holidays' I have to say he chose pretty well!

Hotel Ambre is a fantastic hotel to stay in as it is in a convenient area which is in easy reach of the attractions along the Seine by metro (or foot, if you're up for a bit of a walk!)
The rooms are small but clean and modern with comfortable and stylish bedding and bathroom facilities (although our bathroom window was broken in our first room, we were immediately relocated to a much nicer room with a bigger tv- bonus!)
Also, the kitchenette turned out to be very useful even though we didn't think we would use it (but check the crockery in the cupboards- some of it wasn't clean) and having a fridge is great for keeping wine/bottled water chilled.

The staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful when we needed to know the best way to get back to our hotel, explaining the metro journey and also recommending places to go such as the Sacre Coeur, which we visited on our last day and loved it!

The breakfast is basic but ideal if you like continental (which I do!) with croissants, cereal, yogurt and bread, but there is a great shop (Carrefour) just down the road so if you want more you can buy and make your own which is a great alternative (plus you can take your breakfast up to your room)

I would definitely stay here again as the rooms were quiet (we barely heard any noise from our neighbours and were so tired from our days of sightseeing that we didn't notice the faint traffic noise from the main road) and it has everything you want and need from a city hotel, and the price to match!

Thankyou for a lovely stay :)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in September. It was a good price on the internet and breakfast was included.

The hotel is quite south, but it was in an interesting and friendly neighbourhood. The Tolbiac metro is only a 5 minute walk away.

The hotel is small. The bedrooms are average in size, but the bathroom was almost as big as the bedroom. The bedroom includes a kitchenette, which would have been useful if we had stayed longer. The bed was smaller than I'd have liked.

Breakfast was better than we hoped - if there isn't room in the lobby you take it back to your room. The coffee was real and much better than usual hotel slop.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Exetergourmets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The hotel offers good condiciona The rooms are clean the breakfast is average althought the meal is served in the own hall of the hotel near to the front door, and there are very few tables. One think to be improved is the mindset of the employees they never are friendly and even sometimes can argúe with you

Room Tip: Never ask for it in the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Everything was correct but the concerge, they are not too proffesional. The location is a bit far from city center, however is very quite and looks safety, it is a good area. You have the underground close and the rooms are modern and have kitchen, fridge, sink, dishes...and you can cooking if you want.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juandesalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Hotel Saint Charles
Hotel Saint Charles
#937 of 1,805 in Paris
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Villette
Adagio Access Paris La Villette
Adagio Access Paris La Villette
#1,510 of 1,805 in Paris
309 reviews
Hotel Residence Quintinie
#426 of 1,805 in Paris
173 reviews
Hotel des Ecrivains
#817 of 1,805 in Paris
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambre

Address: 175 T rue de Tolbiac, 75013 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Gobelins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,359 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £58 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambre 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hôtel Ambre welcomes you in style in this brand new boutique hotel located in Paris’s 13th arrondissement. Contemporary furniture, soft lighting and modern design will make your stay a refined and comfortable one. Each room has an individual kitchenette to give you more independence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ambre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing