We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average ”
Review of Hotel Ambre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ambre
Ranked #1,421 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Average ”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself was nice, I loved the room and the kitchenette in there.

The daytime staff were really helpful. Can't say the same for the man who works on the evening - he wasn't very helpful at all.

The wifi worked one night we were there I think, other than that couldn't access it at all.

Room clean - the plug button didn't work properly in the bath, so ended up having to try and do this each time.

There is a carrefour supermarket nearby should you want to cook your own food.

I thought that I saw a picture of a kettle in the picture online but there wasn't one - so ended up having to microwave the cup to boil the water.

Would I stay again? Probably not.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jaigu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    61
    31
    15
    17
See reviews for
24
70
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

When we checked into the Hotel Ambre, there was no toilet paper or paper holder, the safe didn't work, the stove didn't work, there was no soap in the bath, we were given the wrong wifi password, the night clerk told us that the breakfast wasn't too good and then charged us for it when we checked out even though we hadn't taken it. He also told us that we should stop complaining because this was Paris. When I told him that I had lived not far from the hotel years ago, he confided that the hotel was being sold and that they were putting off maintenance. The other staff members were more helpful. But I still wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not choose the smallest room. It is really small although the bathroom is a decent size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed 5N (26-31 May) with my sister.

Easy to find the hotel, from Exit #1 from Tolbiac metro station, walk straight along the street to your right. The hotel is located across the road (to your left), just side by side to Ibis. There's a Carrefour just few steps down the road from the hotel or Monoprix along Place d'Italie (@ Exit #1, walk straight instead of turn right).

Room is clean & equipped with microwave oven, a mini fridge & a sink. Lighting in the bedroom area could be brighter. Bathroom is spacious (compared to those we stayed during our trip). Wifi signal tends to be unstable (we're at room #304) and sometimes we need to tap on Ibis' wifi.

When we're there, the weather was still quit cooling and the air condition in the building was not turn on. We slept with the windows opened. The only problem with opening the windows was that we're disturbed by the noise of motorcycle/cars/pedestrian passing by in the middle of the night and early morning.

The hotel is just 15~20mins walk to the Latin Quarter (or about 4 metro stations). Along Place d'Italie, there're nice selection of restaurants but I'd say those in Latin Quarter offer wider selections & better value for money.

Staff was generally friendly & helpful if you have questions.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and will recommend Hôtel Ambré to our friends.


Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Iris_LTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The room/bathroom were very clean. Rooms have aircon. Very close to the metro with small shops and restaurants. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaisharAhmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

we stay in the suite room, it is big and comfortable. staffs generally friendly. 5 mins walk to nearest metro, one restaurant nearby, supermarket dia nearby also. there is a carrefour near place d italie, within walking distance. one bag thing is the metro station got some steps, so good luck when u carrying heavy bags.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank hosang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Good location - only 20 mins direct on metro from Place D Italie to Trocadero (Eiffel Tour) and Gar Du Nord. Local area also nice with a few good restaurants.

Rooms - modern and big enough, wet room w/ powerful shower. General cleanliness ok except for a few marks on walls.

Breakfast - was good for free, fresh croissants, bread, cereal, coffee etc. all of which you can take to your room.

Staff - seem friendly and professional.

Value - only paid 60 euro a night on a weekday so can't fault that.

Overall - if your on a budget then this hotel certainly will meet all of your needs for a hassle free trip to Paris.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveRed89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Gobelins
Ibis Paris Italie Tolbiac
Ibis Paris Italie Tolbiac
#856 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Amhotel Italie
Amhotel Italie
#1,311 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Citadines Place d'Italie Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Hotel Verlaine
Hotel Verlaine
#885 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Ibis Paris Avenue d'Italie 13eme
Opera / Bourse
Residence Cosy's Cadet
Residence Cosy's Cadet
#778 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambre

Property: Hotel Ambre
Address: 175 T rue de Tolbiac, 75013 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Gobelins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,421 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambre 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hôtel Ambre welcomes you in style in this brand new boutique hotel located in Paris’s 13th arrondissement. Contemporary furniture, soft lighting and modern design will make your stay a refined and comfortable one. Each room has an individual kitchenette to give you more independence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Ambre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing