We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a concept on its own but deserve a try”
Review of Hotel Oscar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Oscar
Ranked #1,189 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 6 May 2013

If you search a good price for money at less that 100m from Champs Elysée. This is the place. Do not expect a 5 star hotel full of useless service. Here you have a good room (big in Paris standard), at a decent price, with a breakfast delivered in your room (because there is no restaurant in the hotel). The room is equipped with a small kitchen with coffee and tea machine. Not these low cost machine but a Nespresso machine with various choice of coffee and a good instant teal machine.

Next door you have a 24h open shop (good deal to fill up your fridge with a good bottle of wine and some charcuterie )

Call the hotel before arriving because otherwise you will not find it

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frédéric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

A wonderful hotel.The room was clean well modern equipments . The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.The location is outstanding - right next to Champ Elysees,fast WiFi and even an iPad mini. There are plenty of cafes and restuarants to chose from nearby. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lubna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Finally an accommodation option in Paris that is larger than the typical shoebox sized rooms!
Hotel Oscar is slanted towards a self-serviced apartment, which gives it the advantage of more spacious rooms and comes equipped with all the mod-cons (fast WiFi and even an iPad mini) which is great for the savvy traveller. Location is central, with a small supermarket a few doors down.

However, for first-timers to Paris who are less independent, you might prefer a hotel with 24 hour reception desk (Hotel Oscar has limited reception hours).

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Champagne001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We were amazing by the modern and spacious apartment. Such great value - central Paris and as our son even had a separate small room this was in effect like a 2 bed apartment. Would definitely recommend a stay here; it's easy to stay somewhere mediocre for lots of money in Paris so this place is a real gem.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank josiemmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We booked this hotel without sight of any reviews as it was so new (we went in September 2012), so we took a chance and im so glad we did as it was simply outstanding value for money in relation to the other hotels we were looking at. We stayed in the Ernest Hemingway room which was a good size - more of an apartment than a hotel room. We had two bedrooms (even though there were only 2 of us), a lounge and a kitchen/diner plus bathroom, all of which had a high-end spec and were spotlessly clean.

Other reviews state that the hotel is hard to find and we would totally agree. Only a small brass nameplate designates it at the main access door, and you would have to look really hard to see this. We deliberated as to whether or not to make our own way, or take the hotel up on their offer of airport transfers and, having decided to go with the hotel pickup option, we were so glad we did as I dont think we would have found it on our own!

There are only a few rooms and so booking early is recommended - the location is absolutely first class (literally 150m from the centre of the Champs Elysee and George V metro stop) and a 5 minute walk from all the top Designer shops. There are plenty of cafes and restuarants to chose from nearby. Lido is a 10 minute walk away on the Champs Elysee where we went to watch a fabulous show on my birthday! The staff are fantastic, on the journey from the airport I mentioned I would like to see Moulin Rouge show whilst in Paris and the hotel rang me 2 days later to say they had found tickets for us! We were very grateful but having seen Lido was so close to the hotel we had already booked tickets for their show. We would recommend the champange dinner and show, even though it is a bit steep at 175 euro each, but its a great parisian experience.

When we go back to Paris then this is the first place we will look to book. There is a very rustic and 'Parisian' restaurant a few doors up from the hotel (an organic steakhouse - "L'Aubrac" I think) which we ate at on our first night and would go as far as saying that it is up there in the top 3 meals we have ever had, and at a reasonable price (well, reasonable for Paris!).

Overall, we took a bit of a gamble and it paid off. A superb hotel in an excellent location and at a decent price in comparison to everything else in that area of Paris. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LancashireShamrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

This hotel has only been open about three months, it shows and a great deal of effort has been put in to ensuring a comfortable stay. The room had everything you could imagine, apart from a full length mirror but we were told there was one on order and that it had been forgotten!

Real coffee and tea making machines were a real bonus too along with the complimentary drinks in the fridge. Lovely linen and really comfortable beds - just perfect.

The staff were very very helpful and couldn't do enough to help. Though be careful, I asked the gentleman on reception to book us in at a nice restaurant that he would go to, when the two of us had eaten, for €1,065 I had to wonder whether he really ate there! He only managed to get us in one of the top 15 restaurants in the world - most unexpected!

This hotel is in fact part of a floor of a central large building, and therefore there is no frontage and you need to make sure if you're arriving late as we did that you let them know so they can meet you to let you in and show you to one of their six superb rooms.

Did I mention it was in a perfect location? Well it is!

Not particularly cheap, our stay for two nights cost €600 but I guess that's Paris for you - and it was exceptionally nice. I don't think anyone would be disappointed staying here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different but all great I'm sure (we saw a couple which were being cleaned - v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We loved our stay at hotel Oscar in Paris France. This was more like a rental apartment than a standard hotel. There is a front desk staff until 8pm everyday, but not hotelbar/lobby hangout area. We didnot need/or want that so this was a perfect hotel for us. We were surprised to have a little kitchen with a refrigerator in our room and a market just downstairs. This made our stay even more comfortable.

The hotel is just a half block off the Champs-Élysées with tons of restaurants and cafe's all around. We stayed in a double room and, while small (what isn't in europe) It was very comfortable.

The room had Internet that always worked, a few English tv channels(all news ) and a very comfortable bed. The hotel was quiet for the most part. We could hear noise from the little courtyard outside our room. Front desk staff were always friendly and willing to help us with anything.

The hotel provided coffee and tea, umbrella for the rain, basic toilettries (shampoo conditioner soap etc), and a few beverages stocked in our fridge upon our arrival.

One last tip, this hotel is in a Haussmann style building, that houses other businesses, and there is only a small plaque outside showing that the hotel is inside. It is a little confussing, but I read other reviews that alerted us to this so we weren't surprised when we got there.

Overall I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat to anyone looking to stay in central Paris.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meuniedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Monna Lisa
Hotel Monna Lisa
#305 of 1,803 in Paris
383 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel le Colisee
Hotel le Colisee
#917 of 1,803 in Paris
220 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Beauchamps
Hotel Beauchamps
#382 of 1,803 in Paris
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Claridge
Hotel Claridge
#676 of 1,803 in Paris
287 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Rochester Champs-Elysees Hotel
Champs-Elysees
Melia Paris Tour Eiffel
Melia Paris Tour Eiffel
#329 of 1,803 in Paris
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oscar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oscar

Address: 33 Rue Marbeuf, 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,189 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £147 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oscar 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within a Haussmann-style building in the exclusive Golden Triangle area of Paris, Hotel Oscar offers upscale accommodations two minutes from the Champs-Élysées. Each designer guestroom and suite features a small kitchen with oven, refrigerator and premium coffeemaker. Living spaces are equipped with iPad, iPhone docking station, security safe, and a TV and Blu-Ray player. En-suite bathrooms include Italian-style shower and luxury toiletries. Free Wi-Fi is available at the hotel, while tourist information is available from the on-site hotel manager. Guests can arrange to have breakfast delivered to their room. The hotel is located above a convenience store, while the local neighbourhood is home to a seemingly never ending supply of restaurants and eateries. Hotel Oscar is 650 metres from the Grand Palais and a ten-minute walk from the Arc de Triomphe. Meanwhile, the Place de la Concorde and the Eiffel Tower are within a mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Oscar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing