We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best meal we had in paris”
Review of La Bouteille d'Or

La Bouteille d'Or
Reserve with
Save up to 50% when you reserve online *
La Bouteille d'Or is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,542 of 17,283 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: US$25 - US$58
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
northeast
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“best meal we had in paris”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

opportunistic finding for our last night in paris and what a find. Lovely old building with fascinating history, (read on their website).
Very busy restaurant but the service was outstanding. Good choice of food, my french onion soup was delightful followed by veal stuffed with mushrooms and my husband had duck. All the food was well presented, served hot and with a suitable break between courses. This restaurant has a lot to be proud of, high standard of customer service and fine food. I will return on my next visit without a doubt.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank happytreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    274
    82
    52
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, great location, price ok”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Very nice restaurant in the Latin Quarter opposite Notre Dame. Atmosphere is upscale but not pretentious. Staff very friendly. Tables too close (not uncommon in the neighborhood). Dinner for two with a bottle of table wine was 100 euros. Very nice experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LindaFox3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful romantic dinner here ... Excellent food, beautifully prepared, great wine wine and cocktails. The service was exceptional - very attentive. Reasonably priced for the experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spectacular view and good food experience”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Let's not lie to ourselves: eating watching Notre Dame is enough to be satisfied even if you end up eating just some buttered bread!
This restaurant combines a very good menu ( at an affordable price) with a great view. Waiters are not the politest persons, but the do all speak english and that is a big plus in a country where almost no one does.
It is mandatory to book a table since they are full most of the times, and i greatly suggest to go there during lunch hours for a much more relaxed environment.
The plates are good, well presented ( although some of them are composed in advance and completed on request, for example my fois gras had some kind of sauce that was stuck (as in dried) to the plate as if the chef composed the plate in advanced and completed it by putting the slice of fois gras and the finishing touch at the end. Very nice wine list, dessert were good as well.
Check came out to be at around 80 € for two ( 40 each).
Overall would recommend!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doctorpeppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excuisite food”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Very delicious and fresh food. We went there quite early (7PM) and were the first guest, but after about an hour the place was full. Music was mainly English songs, but soft enough to ignore it. The waiter was friendly, with no word English. Also, the rest of the guests were French families, couples or businessman. So if you want a authentic French restaurant, go there! Don't worry about it's neighbourhood to Notre Dame, I don't think there are many tourists in there.
All of our food looked and tasted excellent, the wine and aperetif was good too.
We sat there for about two hours and had starters (I recommend goat cheese with bacon), main course (of our four dishes I liked duck breast with potatoes most) and dessert (crème brûlée and mousse au chocolat are advisable) and paid ~110? for four people (with discount- if you reserve, you get 40% off)

Helpful?
Thank JakobJojo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed La Bouteille d'Or also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Bouteille d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing