We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel.”
Review of Hotel De Nell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel De Nell
Ranked #101 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I needed a room for a night while in Paris and decided to go with this little gem of a hotel. We were given one of the rooms on the top floor, next to the elevator. At first, I was a little concerned that it might be too loud, but we had absolutely no issues during the night. I would definitely stay here again during my next visit to Paris.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank playeraPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDeNELL, Directeur général at Hotel De Nell, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear PlayeraPV,
We thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor, we will be extremely glad to welcome you for your future visit in Paris.
Best Regards
Arnaud Valary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Really enjoyable night in Paris - very welcoming staff (including allowing us to check-in early when we arrived at 10:45am), well presented room, good evening meal. Walkable distance from the main tourist attractions. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wjnivek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDeNELL, Directeur général at Hotel De Nell, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Wjnivek,
I am delighted to read your comment about your stay at the Hotel de NELL. We sincerely like to take care of all our guests. Thank you very much.
Best Regards,
Arnaud Valary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Had a three day city break through BA and chose the hotel based on previous TripAdvisor reviews - and they were right.
We were on the top floor next to the lift, and there were no issues with noise at all from the hotel. The church bells opposite do peel incessantly, and we always knew the time, but the view from the tiny balcony across the roofs of Paris were worth it.
Only had dinner in the restaurant one night, which was a mistake as the food, service and value were fabulous - definitely eat there!

Room Tip: Liked the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDeNELL, Directeur général at Hotel De Nell, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Uktraveller9569,
For your next stay with us, at the Hotel de NELL, you know now where to eat…
Thank you very much for your comment and your support on TripAdvisor. Your statue of Senior Contributor with 98 reviews makes that your opinion is really important for us.
Thanks again, and see you for your next Parisian stay.
Best Regards,
Arnaud Valary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I was in Paris on business and my boyfriend came along with me. I had initially wanted to stay at the very trendy Hotel Costes, but so glad we didn't. As I usually do on my visits to Paris, we stopped in at Hotel Costes for a drink after doing some shopping on the St. Honore. The hostess was so rude, uppity and condescending that we actually left and didn't have a drink. Glad we didn't book a room there as this is probably indicative of the kind of treatment we would've received if we were hotel guests. In contrast, everything about Hotel de Nell was perfect. Especially the staff. They are all so friendly and welcoming and helpful. We had a wonderful stay and did not want to leave. We had breakfast everyday at the hotel which was delicious. But even better than the breakfast, was the dinner. The restaurant at the hotel was one of the best I've eaten at--and I'm a serious foodie. Simply amazing. I dare say it should have a michelin star. Before the meal, they serve a loaf of delicious country pate instead of the normal bread and butter. Omg. Heaven. A few dishes not to miss if you can have them: The risotto, the rice puddiing, and the souffle. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and Sunday evening not all restaurants are open in Paris. The concierge recommended a little bistro called Richer within walking distance. We sat at the bar and had the most fantastic meal. You must go. It is the perfect casual neighborhood spot. Not touristy. Where the locals go. These are the types of places i love. Have the lapin (rabbit). It is amazing. For another meal we wanted to try this tiny but very popular restaurant called Frenchie (Chefs Anthony Bourdain and Eric Ripert had just dined there). Unfortunately, because it was last minute, we couldn't get a reservations. You must call and book a table here before your trip, if you want to get in. There are 2 seatings a night and they only have a handful of tables. It is on the Rue de Nil which is a little side street. While you wait, the restaurant has a wine bar with charcuterie and snacks just opposite the main restaurant.

Ok, enough about food... On to the hotel...

Our room was on the 1st (not ground, as this is Europe and ground floor is 0) and overlooked Rue St. Cecile. One of the best things about this hotel is that it is in a quiet street. We got upgraded to a Prestige room which was extremely large, by any standard, Paris or elsewhere. It was such a pleasant surprise to find that the bathroom floor was HEATED. Yay! I wasn't feeling well and I was tired from the day's travels and so I took a long, hot bath in the japanese soaking tub which has a teak bench so you can sit and relax. The king bed was extremely comfortable and had luxury linens, complete with a baby alpaca throw (awesome). It cannot be said enough that the Free Wifi was a super plus. I travel for business a lot and hate the exorbitant per day charges you pay at most hotels (especially the 5-star luxury ones). And then there are the hotels that offer "free" wifi but that is for the slow connection and you end up paying extra for the high-speed connection anyway. At Hotel de Nell the Wifi connection was completely free and FAST. Lastly, the hotel has a car and chauffeur that can be booked. We took it to dinner one night and our driver was so courteous. He even went inside with us to the restaurant to announce our arrival to the maitre'd and to make sure we were looked after. At 20Euro a trip, to anywhere in the Paris metro area, it is a good deal, if it is available. Call the front desk first to see. Another feature of the room is the ability to make a Nespresso coffee or a hot tea in the room. Great for when you just wake up and want a coffee but don't want to wait for room service or get dressed and go down to the breakfast room.

Cannot recommend this hotel enough. Simply wonderful. We will be back!

Room Tip: Get the rate with the breakfast included because you are going to want to start your day here everyd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neophileNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDeNELL, Directeur général at Hotel De Nell, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear NeophileNYC,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience about your stay at the hotel de NELL on TripAdvisor ! We all hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.
Sincerely
Arnaud Valary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We recently stayed in this hotel . My wife and I stayed for 1 night in a deluxe room prior to a tour of the Western front . On return to Paris we stayed a further 5 nights in a Prestige room .Both rooms were modern and large by Paris standards . Double glazing ensured quietness and a restful night .

Room Tip: Prstige room is worth the extra money if staying for more than 1 night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDeNELL, Directeur général at Hotel De Nell, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Mr Peter H,
Thank you very much for your kind feedback, It is always a pleasure to see our guests happy with their stay at the Hotel de NELL.
Looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you again at L'Hotel de NELL.
Best Regards,
Arnaud Valary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The hotel was recommended to us - and when we viewed the wed site we agreed to try the hotel.
It is rare to get to a hotel and everything is like the Web Site!! - Hotel de NELL lives up to all the acclamation's we have heard - and we would like to add our own. Perfect hotel for being comfortable i Paris - close to the heart yet far enough away to have local attractions.
The room was spacious - storage perfect and the bath a delight.
the staff - all - gracious at all times.
The food served for breakfast was ideal - fabulous bread!!!
Dinner menu and quality - superb.
What more can be said of a hotel?? Highly recommended, and we will use again.

Room Tip: We chose superior for the extra space, and Japanese bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doktorhuset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDeNELL, Directeur général at Hotel De Nell, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Doktorhuset
I am delighted to read your comment about your wonderful stay at the Hotel de NELL. We sincerely like to take care of all our guests. Your comment is very rewarding for all the team. Thank you very much.
Best Regards,
Arnaud Valary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed at Hotel de Nell the first weekend in May. We landed in Paris early in the morning and because of the bags we headed straight to the hotel in hope they would keep them for us until our room was ready, but to our surprise the room was already available (this was at about 10am) AND they had upgraded us from a Deluxe to a Prestige room which was just great. Now I am not easily pleased when it comes to hotel bedrooms (I detest anything old, tatty, and in the slightest bit run down) and I spent ages researching the best place to stay that would not cost an arm and a leg (see the Bristol,Le Maurice etc) but still be nice and clean and I can safely say I was not disappointed. The room was very large (by Paris standards...or London infact) , there was a balcony running the entire length of the room which made it nice and airy and all the furnishings were well kept and looked fairly new. The bathroom with the Japanese bath was excellent and very modern and so was the rainfall Italian shower. Separate toilet room too. Only downside was that on our second day there was a bad smell of stagnant water coming out of the sink/bath area which was unpleasant but then again we were out most of the day so it didn't bother me excessively but I did mean to mention to reception as I'm sure it should be fixed but forgot.also meant to ask for some moisturising lotion which was not within the toiletries provided (but a body scrub was!) The free wifi was also a bonus. Bed was good and clean. The lounge is small but well designed and cozy and we also dined in the restaurant one of the nights and the food was very good. The actual restaurant is fairly small but the fixed price menu is very good value.Good location (we walked to the centre even if it is a long walk!) and even better for getting to Gare du Nord (we decided to get the train back to the airport as taxis are a bit of a gamble on prices 50-100€ ) only took us 10-15min walk from the hotel. The staff was very friendly and pleasant and they kept the bags for us the day we left after we had checked out. All in all Very Good and we shall be definitely returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GKCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDeNELL, Directeur général at Hotel De Nell, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Mr GKCW,
I would like to thank you, with the entire team of the Hotel de NELL, for your comment on TripAvisor.
You consider yourself as a picky guest and we are delighted to read that you have appreciated our hotel, our staff and services.
Thank you again.
Looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you again at L'Hotel de NELL for your next Parisian stay.
Best Regards,
Arnaud Valary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Cinq Codet
Le Cinq Codet
#174 of 1,804 in Paris
564 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Adele & Jules
Hotel Adele & Jules
#61 of 1,804 in Paris
236 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Napoleon Paris
Hotel Napoleon Paris
#109 of 1,804 in Paris
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Banke
Hotel Banke
#256 of 1,804 in Paris
1,312 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Bel Ami Hotel
Bel Ami Hotel
#173 of 1,804 in Paris
1,260 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Marignan Champs-Elysees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Nell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Nell

Address: 7 rue du Conservatoire, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £205 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel De Nell 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When Charm & More decided to create a hotel of discreet luxury with top-end amenities and service, all in a chic, relaxed atmosphere, they brought together the talents that could turn that dream to reality: Jean-Michel Wilmotte for the design, Bruno Doucet for the restaurant and a team from the luxury hospitality industry for the services.Whether it’s in one of our 33 rooms or suite, settled in at the restaurant or lounging under the bar’s glass roof, the Hôtel de Nell welcomes you in style, with intimate spaces trimmed in exclusive décor with the sole objective of enhancing your well-being.The Hôtel de Nell is much more than comfort. It’s a state of being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De Nell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing