We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good! ”
Review of Hotel Le Marcel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Marcel
Ranked #334 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Really good! ”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

I stay here in the first week when they open the hotel , the tv was not working but they make me a upgrade for my room like apologize.Was everything clean, the only problem that I have was whit the cleaning personal and they supervisor because they came in the room like was nobody there . Really good location and friendly staff . I will came back for sure.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Cristina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie G, Directeur général at Hotel Le Marcel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear friend,

Thanks a lot for your comment on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay in an early Marcel Hotel, I take advantage of your review to confirm that we have worked on our team learning and organization and they now operate more carefully to assure our guests comfort and quietness.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    212
    52
    10
    7
See reviews for
59
296
43
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Travelled with my Daughter for 4 nights. Obviously not a top hotel so cannot give top hotel rating, but for what it is, it's great. A trendy, funky boutique hotel. Some rooms are small, yes, but functional. Very clean. Sheets and towels changed every day even though I wouldn't have minded if they weren't. Wonderful staff. Friendly, helpful, and relaxed,like it didn't matter what you asked them - it wouldn't be a problem. Always on hand to assist. And that was 24/7. No worrying that you wouldn't get in after midnight. Room service was also 24 hour even though we didn't use it - nice to know we could have.Lovely HD TV which could be changed to get some English speaking channels. Fabulous location. Was reassuring to know that as soon as we left the metro we were 'home' within seconds.A busy and bustling area, much like London, but Le Marcel provided an oasis of calm security. Oh what the heck - I'll give it 5! It may have been small but they deserve full marks for everything else. Small = more personal anyway.

Room Tip: Don't be put off with your tiny room. It's cosy and all you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibettan, Directeur général at Hotel Le Marcel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Friend,
Thank you very much for your really kind and enthousiastic review. I am thrilled to read that you have enjoyed your stay at le Marcel Hotel and that the overall 24/7 service has been much appreciated. Availabilty is one of our priority and even if you did not use it all I am glad that you point it out, I will transmit your satisfaction message to the whole team.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,
M. GARABEDIAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galesburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location. The metro is literally 100 meters from the hotel door. Great restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Rooms are very clean and average size for Paris. The elevator cannot fit more than 4 people in it. Breakfast is on the second floor down the short hallway from the reception area.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kdrum82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibettan, Directeur général at Hotel Le Marcel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear friends,
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad to read that the hotel Marcel has coped with your expectations.
Best regards,
M. GARABEDIAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol Stream, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights,I could see Gare de lest train stationfrom my window, beautiful..... the hotel was clean and neat and convinent. A 5mins walk from Gare de nord, their central station, so i did not need to take the taxi from the airport. check in and check out was pretty fast and easy, tons of resturants around, and the walkable distance to the L' open, tour bus stop, which was terrible by the way. only problem i had was finding the hotel because the sign was very small, it is located between some burger joint and another resturant,morealso if you are claustophobic, you may have a hard time because of the small size of their rooms.

Room Tip: room on the top floor by the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibettan, Directeur général at Hotel Le Marcel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your message. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the Hotel Marcel and its neighborhood. I am glad also to inform you that we propose different types of rooms, from the Standards to our Suite of 35m² for more space.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Warm regards,
M. GARABEDIAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydon london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

i stayed at this hotel for 3 nights room 501 and friends in 502 the reason I chose this hotel as it is within walking distance from the gard du nord and you don't have to worry about getting in taxis or getting on the metro with suitcases upon arrival in paris yes the area it is in is not the best but with the metro nearby its easy to explore paris the rooms we had were clean and tidy our rooms were street facing but could not hear any noise we did not have breakfast as we thought 15 euros was a bit much and maybe the management should look at this as there are plenty of places to eat nearby for a lot less the staff we met were nice and friendly we plan to go back to paris later in the year and I would use this hotel again

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank wave60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibettan, Directeur général at Hotel Le Marcel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guests,

I wish to thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor about your stay at Le Marcel Hôtel. I am glad that the location and rooms coped with your expectations. Regarding the breakfast, despite the attention we pay in offering a variety of fresh products we will keep looking for new ideas.

Best regards,
M. GARABEDIAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
248 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a nice hotel within walking distance of the Gard du Nord as we were then this is a very good choice. The location otherwise, is a bit dodgy. There are lots of unsavoury characters hanging out near the train stations. We hunted down some nice restaurants although there are plenty of tourist traps nearby. I'm not sure that it is truly a four star hotel but its probably the nicest in the area. I don't think I would stay again, I'd probably head closer in to the 3rd.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Retired_at_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibettan, Directeur général at Hotel Le Marcel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Friends,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Marcel. I regret however that we did not have the opportunity to recomand you the canal Saint Martin area, as it is one of the most charming and emerging place in Paris, and only a couple minutes away from the hotel.
I hope we will have the chance to welcome you again and be able this time to make you discover our 4* services such as 24h english speaking staff, flat screen TV, free WIFI, King Size beds,…
Warm regards,
M. GARABEDIAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Mademoiselle
Hotel Mademoiselle
#249 of 1,802 in Paris
1,176 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais
Entrepôt
Hotel Hor
Hotel Hor
#181 of 1,802 in Paris
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
#422 of 1,802 in Paris
684 reviews
Entrepôt
Best Western Premier Faubourg 88
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Midnight Hotel Paris
Midnight Hotel Paris
#409 of 1,802 in Paris
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Marcel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marcel

Property: Hotel Le Marcel
Address: 11 rue du 8 Mai 1945, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Marcel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affirm your "Avant-gardisme" by staying at the Marcel. A typical Parisian Bourgeois-bohemian Hotel, located in a young and dynamic district of the capital. A nod to Proust's Madeleine and a haven of peace, between the Gare du Nord and the Gare de l'Est.At a first glace, a modern façade, out of sync with the rest of the neighbourhood : One only sees the hotel. As the doors open, you step into a bubble, cut off from the exterior world. A well-known land-mark to Parisians, the Marcel hotel welcomes you upon your escapade to the capital and offers a perfect place to sleep for business travellers. The avant-garde décor was the work of the designer Claudia Del Bubba, who also worked on the Jules Verne (Gourmet restaurant on the Eiffel Tower). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Marcel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing