We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel”
Review of Hotel Le Marcel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Marcel
Ranked #354 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Quirky hotel well located across the road from Gare de L'est and very close to Metro. Not the best neighbourhood, especially at night, but hotel felt pretty secure. Rooms are not the biggest but typically Paris, small but practical but very clean Staff were very good, very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: probably not a hotel for longer stays but we were there 2 nights and it was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brooking255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie G, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Marcel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Brooking,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post comments on the website.
The Marcel Hotel get all the charm of a boutique hotel combining comfort and high quality service.

With the pleasure to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Travelled with my girlfriend for a 4 days long we. We found Le Marcel a nice and comfortable botique hotel. The location is quite nice and very near to the metro station (100m); on the other hand, it is probably not the safest spot in Paris (especially late night). Room was very clean, new and comfortable; bathroom was new and very clean as well. As other reviewers are pointing out, room wasn't that big but, in my opinion, it was absolutely aligned with Paris stds. Staff was very kind, friendly and helpful. Very good value for money for Paris. I would definetely suggest this nice boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRicky2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie G, Directeur général at Hotel Le Marcel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review on the Hotel Marcel. I am glad to read that you had a nice experience with us during your stay in Paris and I can just hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again soon.
Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

I stay here in the first week when they open the hotel , the tv was not working but they make me a upgrade for my room like apologize.Was everything clean, the only problem that I have was whit the cleaning personal and they supervisor because they came in the room like was nobody there . Really good location and friendly staff . I will came back for sure.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
Thank Cristina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie G, Directeur général at Hotel Le Marcel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear friend,

Thanks a lot for your comment on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay in an early Marcel Hotel, I take advantage of your review to confirm that we have worked on our team learning and organization and they now operate more carefully to assure our guests comfort and quietness.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Travelled with my Daughter for 4 nights. Obviously not a top hotel so cannot give top hotel rating, but for what it is, it's great. A trendy, funky boutique hotel. Some rooms are small, yes, but functional. Very clean. Sheets and towels changed every day even though I wouldn't have minded if they weren't. Wonderful staff. Friendly, helpful, and relaxed,like it didn't matter what you asked them - it wouldn't be a problem. Always on hand to assist. And that was 24/7. No worrying that you wouldn't get in after midnight. Room service was also 24 hour even though we didn't use it - nice to know we could have.Lovely HD TV which could be changed to get some English speaking channels. Fabulous location. Was reassuring to know that as soon as we left the metro we were 'home' within seconds.A busy and bustling area, much like London, but Le Marcel provided an oasis of calm security. Oh what the heck - I'll give it 5! It may have been small but they deserve full marks for everything else. Small = more personal anyway.

Room Tip: Don't be put off with your tiny room. It's cosy and all you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibettan, Directeur général at Hotel Le Marcel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Friend,
Thank you very much for your really kind and enthousiastic review. I am thrilled to read that you have enjoyed your stay at le Marcel Hotel and that the overall 24/7 service has been much appreciated. Availabilty is one of our priority and even if you did not use it all I am glad that you point it out, I will transmit your satisfaction message to the whole team.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,
M. GARABEDIAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Annie O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ibettan, Directeur général at Hotel Le Marcel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location. The metro is literally 100 meters from the hotel door. Great restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Rooms are very clean and average size for Paris. The elevator cannot fit more than 4 people in it. Breakfast is on the second floor down the short hallway from the reception area.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank kdrum82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibettan, Directeur général at Hotel Le Marcel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear friends,
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad to read that the hotel Marcel has coped with your expectations.
Best regards,
M. GARABEDIAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights,I could see Gare de lest train stationfrom my window, beautiful..... the hotel was clean and neat and convinent. A 5mins walk from Gare de nord, their central station, so i did not need to take the taxi from the airport. check in and check out was pretty fast and easy, tons of resturants around, and the walkable distance to the L' open, tour bus stop, which was terrible by the way. only problem i had was finding the hotel because the sign was very small, it is located between some burger joint and another resturant,morealso if you are claustophobic, you may have a hard time because of the small size of their rooms.

Room Tip: room on the top floor by the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibettan, Directeur général at Hotel Le Marcel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your message. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the Hotel Marcel and its neighborhood. I am glad also to inform you that we propose different types of rooms, from the Standards to our Suite of 35m² for more space.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Warm regards,
M. GARABEDIAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Entrepôt
Hotel Hor
Hotel Hor
#198 of 1,809 in Paris
624 reviews
Château d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Holiday Inn Paris-Gare de L'Est
Château d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Château d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Whistler
Hotel Whistler
#13 of 1,809 in Paris
209 reviews
Château d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Mademoiselle
Hotel Mademoiselle
#255 of 1,809 in Paris
1,287 reviews
Entrepôt
Best Western Premier Faubourg 88
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Marcel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marcel

Address: 11 rue du 8 Mai 1945, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #354 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £95 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Marcel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affirm your "Avant-gardisme" by staying at the Marcel. A typical Parisian Bourgeois-bohemian Hotel, located in a young and dynamic district of the capital. A nod to Proust's Madeleine and a haven of peace, between the Gare du Nord and the Gare de l'Est.At a first glace, a modern façade, out of sync with the rest of the neighbourhood : One only sees the hotel. As the doors open, you step into a bubble, cut off from the exterior world. A well-known land-mark to Parisians, the Marcel hotel welcomes you upon your escapade to the capital and offers a perfect place to sleep for business travellers. The avant-garde décor was the work of the designer Claudia Del Bubba, who also worked on the Jules Verne (Gourmet restaurant on the Eiffel Tower). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Marcel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing