We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cultival

Cultival
Book In Advance
More Info
US$32.04*
and up
Behind-the-Scenes Eiffel Tower Tour Including Champ de Mars’ Underground Bunker
Ranked #67 of 525 Tours in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Who has never dreamt of being locked up in the Palais Garnier, just like the Phantom of the Opera? Of entering behind the scenes of the Eiffel Tower? Live culture differently, this is Cultival’s credo. Cultival offers not only show tickets, but also tours of Parisian monuments and backstage tours.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I went to book the tour of the Eiffel Tower three weeks before visiting Paris. I was disappointed to see all the tickets for the dates I wanted were taken, so I was forced to look elsewhere, and saw Cultival's tour.

The start meets outside the Gustav Eiffel statue in front of the North Pillar. It's really easy to find, despite the large crowds. The groups are separated into two - one for the English speaking and one for others.

The tour is true to what it describes - truly a backstage tour. The tour initially takes away from the proximity of the tower, to a bunker which was used in the history of the Tower, when it acted as a radio mast. This part of the tour gives the history of the tower and how it was used to deliver messages.

The highlight for me, however, was seeing how the lifts are operated. You taken underneath the tower and see the how the lifts are powered by giant mechanisms which are still in use from the time they were built at the end of the 19th century. It's fascinating.

By doing this, we got to skip the lien for the lifts, and took our journey to the second floor, where the guide gives you more information about the history of Paris and points out landmarks. You can then purchase another ticket to the next floors - this is 9 Euros each.

This was a great tour as we saw and learnt more than we expected.

The overall cost is more than we would have paid if we could booked a standard ticket. However, there are plenty of discount codes online (we served 10%) so the extra cost doesn't feel too bad.

Recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank sifeldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    165
    54
    34
    44
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“My advice, don't trust them”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We booked a June tour on March 30th. On April 8th we decided to book another company's tour because Cultival told us that the ticket line on the second floor would be a long wait in June. Cultival's terms and conditions read, "In the case of cancellation by the client, reimbursements are as follows: Cancellation 15 days in advance,100% of the invoice." They offered a useless credit for future services instead of reimbursement of the amount paid.

My advice, don't trust them.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HowdoSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cultival, Resp community management at Cultival, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear customer,

We are very sorry to read your message. You are totally in your rights and it's a terrible mistake from our part. Can you please send a mail to contact@cultival.fr with your name and your order or client number to procede to the reimbursement of your order.

Sorry again for this mistake;

Sincerely, the Cultival Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We did the behind the scenes Eiffel Tower tour with friends. The tour guide was a little bit late, but very good. We started in the underground bunker, which was nothing special, then moved into the workings of the tower. You get a good insight as to how the tower operates and was constructed. From here we made our way to the roof of the second floor, on top of the restaurant which if free from the crowds below. Our tour ended on the second floor with the guide rushing off for his next tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jlo-john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Behind the scenes Eiffel Tower”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We heard the lines at the Eiffel Tower were very long and you could spend hours waiting. We read from many sources that booking a tour was the best way to go. The tour was a little pricey, but I'm genuinely glad we did it. Our guide was a friendly, young girl who spoke quite fluent English. We started at the bunker under the tower, then we toured the inner workings of the lifts. After that, we got front-of-the-line access onto the lift, which we took to the second level. We got to view Paris from the roof of the second level restaurant and all throughout, we learned interesting things about the tower that we would never have known. We had to purchase additional tickets to get to the top of the tower, but it was worth it. It was windy and very cold, but an experience I will never forget.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 2BeachLvrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cessy, France
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Multiple visits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband and I are regular users of Cultival visits and I'm very surprised to read the previous negative comments. We've always been warmly greeted and always thoroughly enjoyed all of the visits (Opéra Garnier, the Eiffel tower, the Lido, etc.). We've always been impressed by the knowledge of the guides and regularly warmly recommend Cultival to our friends. So far, they've all been pleased...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank famille_walsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cultival also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Rungis, Val-de-Marne
 

Been to Cultival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing