We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay room, good location, AVOID the breakfast”
Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Eden
Ranked #223 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Okay room, good location, AVOID the breakfast”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The design and decor of this hotel is definitely quite attractive. Everything is very modern looking. The room was clean but we found the temperature quite warm. We weren't a fan of the separated toilet from the rest of the bathroom. The shower felt strange - it was either too strong of a water pressure (kind of painful) from the small hand held showerhead or it spat all over the place from the overhead showerhead. The table near the door tilted in a slanted position, making it difficult to put anything on there. We found the bed uncomfortable after a couple of nights, causing a bit of a back ache. The room was generally clean.

Our biggest complaint would be the lack of signage or notification about the cost of breakfast (11 Euros per person). When we checked in, the front desk agent told us breakfast was served from 7 - 10:30am, but she did not say that it costs anything. There was also no signage next to the breakfast whatsoever indicating the cost. You would think that it would say on the table where breakfast was laid out exactly how much it costs. If a hotel has a bowl of candies out in its reception area without any price listed, would you assume you needed to pay to eat one?

Now it wouldn't be a huge issue if the breakfast was a gourmet buffet of hot items, but it was just a small selection of baguettes and croissants, cheese in plastic packages, and store bought packages of yogurt. Probably worth at most 6 Euros per person in my opinion.

When we checked out, we said we didn't know there was a cost to breakfast, and the front desk agent shrugged and said "It is very clear to us." Well, it wasn't clear to us. We paid the extra 66 Euros, but in our opinion, it is borderline fraudulent to not label how much something is next to the product or at least tell people when they check in that breakfast is 11 Euros each. If we had known, we would've avoided it completely.

Shoddy breakfast antics aside, the room is clean, the location is convenient and the neighbourhood is nice, so I begrudgingly give this a 3 star rating.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vinniey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien B, Assistant Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for taking some time to share your experience after you stayed in Hotel Eden Paris, especially since you liked our property overall.

However, we are very suprised to hear that you had so much trouble with your room and your bed. As a matter of fact, our bedding is only a few months old.
We apologise for these inconveniences, but had you mentioned them during your stay, we would have been delighted to offer solutions to improve your moments with us.

Then, we are sorry to hear that you didn't like our breakfast. We would like to remind you that it is made up of organic bakery (3 sorts of danish pastries and fresh baguette) and of the most popular french brands of yoghurt, cheese or jam for example.

Finally, we are sorry if you thought that you had booked on a bed & breakfast basis, but the rate type of your booking stated "Room Only" and your booking did not mention otherwise.
We would like to draw your attention to the fact that our breakfast rates apear on all of our rate displays such as our street window, the frame on our Front Desk, our guestroom doors - right beneath the emergency instructions, or our website to name but a few.

We believe it was only a misunderstanding and as we were delighted to welcome you, we look forward to welcoming you again on a future stay in Paris.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    204
    29
    8
    4
See reviews for
87
327
25
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Gorgeous 3 star hotel in a quiet neighbourhood close to the Eiffel Tower and with metro station Vaugirard just around the corner (+/- 2 minute walk). I simply adored the interior design and the beautiful, comfy rooms. We had a room with a lovely balcony on the fifth floor with a nice view. The bathroom was small, but very practical due to a great design and had the best shower ever. Everything was new and clean. There were also a (very resonable priced) mini bar, a hair dryer, an iPhone/iPod dock, climate control, TV, nice handy closets and free wifi (worked perfectly). I had the feeling the rooms were very well insulated. The breakfast was good, everything was fresh and delicious, especially the freshly squeezed orange juice. An egg and maybe some bacon would have been nice, but there really was enough to eat. The staff was extremely friendly, very easy going and helpful. They really made us feel very welcome. Also, we arrived at 9 am and our room was ready !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vanessa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien B, Assistant Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your excellent review and your perfect rating.

We were delighted to receive it so quickly and we enjoyed your suggestions.

We look forwar to welcoming your again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Weekend stay (Fri to Sun) before a business trip.
2 minutes walking to Vaugirard station.
Hotel does not have a restaurant.
Free WiFi (tickets with logins)
Honesty bar (take your drink from the bar & sign for it)
Free parking on the street Friday 19:00 - Sunday night.
Corner cafe (L'Auvergne) close to the hotel and a small park. Good dinner - but poor & overpriced coffee. Happy Hour 16-19h every day, expensive beer (9,10€ for 50cl) after that.

Room Tip: All rooms are modern / new / clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kallekenkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien B, Assistant Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent rating and for all the insider tips you published.

We hope you could relax enough in Hotel Eden Paris in order to make your ensuing business trip successfull.

We look forward to welcoming you again either for leisure or business.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orvieto, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

The wifi didn't work for two days and the room smelled like a skunk. We enjoyed the neighborhood and cleanliness of the room besides the horrible smell. Right near the metro 12 line which provides great access to all of Paris. Great shower!!!!! No English channels except BBC.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien B, Assistant Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking some time to write your review.

We are happy to hear that you liked our location, our housekeeping and your shower.

We are sorry if our wifi connection was unexpectedly severed during your stay, but as we did our utmost to have it back on as soon as possible, we would like to remind you that it was out of order from the early evening to 8am the following morning. According to our reports, the signal blackout lasted only a few hours.

Hence, we are suprised to hear that you had some trouble connecting to our wifi network for 2 days. We would like to remind you that our reception is at your disposal 24/24h and that we would have been delighted to assist you with your connection before or after our signal blackout.

We are sorry to hear that you also smelled something you did not like in your room. As you did not mention it before checking out, we were not able to check this issue before departure. Unfortunately, we did not notice anything particular once you were gone - and even later - besides the usual room fragrance.

We hope you had a nice stay anyway and that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future so that you live a full Eden experience.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here during our short vacation in Paris. The staff at the receptionist spoke good English and were very helpful in helping us get a taxi to the Gare de l'Est train station. Rooms were comfy enough (not too cramped like certain hotels of similar budgets) and the bathroom was spacious, with a separate compartment for the toilet.

This hotel is situated in a very serene and quiet neighborhood and it is a 2 min walk to the Vaurigard METRO station. Not many shops or restaurants were open on Sundays. However, it was not a really big issue as there are loads of places to go to for food in Paris. The experience with Hotel Eden is just as what its name suggests - tranquil and relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien B, Assistant Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very good review and your excellent rating.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Paris at Hotel Eden and that you could grab some of the essence of our core concept : we aim at making our guests feel comfortable and relaxed in our shared haven.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

My mother and I stayed at this hotel over the weekend. We had a superior room on the top floor (601) which was right by the lift but couldn't be heard. The room was a very good size with twin beds, dressing table, small table and chairs for 2, and large windows that open wide with very small balcony. The bath was huge with very good shower with separate toilet- again spotlessly clean.
The beds we're very comfortable with a tv on the wall opposite showing BBC world news as the only English Channel really. There is an iPod docking station and free wifi.
The staff are friendly and available 24/7, although they didn't seem to have much local knowledge of restaurants, or didn't seem to know the local restaurants recommended by trip advisor in the area as we were hoping for a little information about walking times and opening times of the restaurants etc... For example there are hardly any local restaurants open on a Sunday and Le Veraison recommended by trip advisor is only a short walk away (10mins) but you need to book prior to your weekend stay.
The hotel (area 15) is a 2 min walk from Vaugirard metro (line12) from which you can stay on and get all the way up to the Scare Coeur (area 18).
We didn't eat the breakfast as there are so many fantastic places to eat in Paris (hard to find on a Sunday?!).
There is a bar service on the ground floor which is paid via honesty box although I am not sure why as there is always a member of staff available that could take payment.
The Eiffel Tower is visible from the end of the road and the roads surrounding the hotel are nice and quiet.
Overall I thought this hotel was fantastic and would recommend highly!!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien B, Assistant Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your very good rating. They are a fabulous incentive to always do our utmost to bring our guests full satisfaction.

We were delighted to welcome you and to hear that you enjoyed this gift from your brother.

We are sorry if there was a misunderstanding upon dealing with your restaurant requests as our Reception uses a list of restaurants to be found around our hotel and sometimes further.
They are mostly restaurants we tried ourselves to be able to share them with our guests.
Unfortunately, as a lot of restaurants close on Sundays and even on Mondays in Paris, we can not always rely on the best of of selection.

We hope you had a nice trip back home and we look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Eden Paris.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Me and my sister shared a room at this hotel and although a little on the small side, there was enough room to get round. Everything we required in the hotel, including TV and an iPod docking station which was handy, plus free wi-fi. The bathroom was through a sliding door and again, not massive in anyway but still just about enough room to get by.
There is a small courtyard type garden with a few comfy chairs but nothing else.
We didn't use the bar or eating facilities in the hotel (though the drinks appeared to be sold using an honesty box with price list which I thought was a bit odd).
Staff were extremely polite and helpful and spoke very good English. For info, they have a bag hold too.
Hotel was very smart and clean but for some reason our mini fridge wasn't plugged in when we arrived, so worth a check!
The nearest metro is Vaugirad which is just through a little park, a minute or 2 walk away. On numerous occasions we walked to Central Paris despite the boiling weather when we went in July. This took the best part of half an hour though you can see the Eiffel Tower from the end of the street where the hotel is which is deceiving, but a good view at night when it is lit up.
There is numerous eateries and bars within walking distance all doing local cuisine.
Would recommend this hotel and go back myself, very nice with modern, boutique style rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien B, Assistant Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your good review and for sharing all of this handy information after your stay.

Thank you for mentioning our Honesty Bar as well. It is open in the lobby daily, right after breakfast and until the evening.
Coffee, tea, soft and alcoholic drinks are available there. Our guests are very welcome to help themselves without forgetting to fill-in the price form with what they have and to hand it over to Reception.

Our fitness room is open from 7:00am to 10:00pm and our steam bath from 7:00pm to 10:00pm, both with complimentary access for all of our guests.

We hope you will enjoy even more all of these entertaining and leisure facilities next time you stay at Hotel Eden Paris.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Yllen Eiffel
Hotel Yllen Eiffel
#172 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Val Girard
Hotel Val Girard
#492 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Montcalm
Best Western Montcalm
#347 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chouette Hotel
Chouette Hotel
#296 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vic Eiffel
Hotel Vic Eiffel
#182 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.6 mi away
Home MODERNE
Home MODERNE
#270 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Property: Hotel Eden
Address: 110 rue Blomet | Vaugirard/Grenelle, 15eme, 75015 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing