We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, stylish but what about the location?”
Review of Hotel Fabric

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fabric
Ranked #12 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We booked to stay here for two nights earlier this week. There were many positive reviews on here and so being high up on the Tripadvisor list and affordable we decided to take up the offer. We know Paris very well and have stayed in various different parts. To start with the not so good - I would say that the thing that lets this hotel down is the location. It is not really quite North Marais and it is not really quite Oberkampf. It is a residential type part of Paris across the road from a school and near local shops and restaurants. There are not a lot of tourists wandering the streets around here. This you might think is a good thing - but we wondered if this was our first trip to Paris and we wanted to see the sights how we would feel about the location. I think it is a bit far from the main areas of Paris and if you stay here you will find you are either doing a hell of lot of walking (which is what we did) or use the metro, which is close by. So in my view this hotel is let down by its location. For the good though - all the staff are naturally friendly and helpful. They were keen to make our stay enjoyable and nothing was a problem. The room was good, with a very good sized bathroom and excellent shower, but not a lot of room around the bed and with limited room to put luggage and anything else. The "packing crate chic" is interesting and different and again a clever way to use limited space and we found the bed large and comfortable. We were left wondering if all the rooms are this size or whether we had drawn the short straw on this occasion. The public areas are stylish and the all day coffee and madelienes were a great touch that drew guests to the public areas and enabled some conversations to be struck up. We looked at the hammam and gym room but didn't use them. The hammam needs to be booked in advance or at the very least you need to give staff half an hour to get it ready and switched on. We had a good stay and there was not really anything to grumble about but honestly I am not sure I would wish to stay in this part of Paris again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Getmearoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnabelleVM, Gérant at Hotel Fabric, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We are very glad that you found our staff naturally friendly and helpful .Regarding the size of our rooms we are happy to inform you that our double superior rooms have around 20m² and our deluxe rooms have around 24m².
If you will change your mind and you will visit us again we hope that you will have enough time for using our hammam and fitness area which are for free.
We would like to touch a word about the location of our hotel. We are sorry that you didn’t find it a little far from the main areas of Paris. But, as one of our guest told “Paris has great public transport”.
The metro stop 'St. Ambroise and Oberkampf are just few meters from the hotel. The line N° 9 of the metro takes you in 10 minutes to the most important areas of Paris: Eiffel Tour, l’Arc de Triomphe, Champs Elysées, and Galleries Lafayette. Our hotel is situated in the 11th district of Paris. It is a very trendy area with a lot of nice bars, restaurants and shops.
Hoping that my words will change your mind about the 11th district of Paris and we will have the pleasure to see you again,
Yours Sincerely,
Natalia Rusnac
Front desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

819 - 825 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

Fabric Hotel Review

Myself and my girlfriend stayed in the Hotel Fabric during a short overnight stay in Paris. I decided on this hotel due to its relative proximity to Gare D'Nord, as we arriving late from London on the Eurostar.

The hotel is located approx 10 minute drive from Le Gare D'Nord and cost approximately €10 from the station to the hotel in a taxi.

Although we booked via a third party website (pointshound) and arrived fairly late (2300) we were upgraded from a club room to a superior room on our checkin in the hotel which was a pleasant surprise.

The superior room was extremely spacious and had an equally big bathroom. The room included the various mod cons, with a mini-bar, paid snacks, safe, wi-fi et all available in the room. Downstairs there was spa and messages available and also a very small gym. The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well and despite the fact our room was located beside the lift we did not hear anything and we were not disturbed throughout the night.

We had an early start the next morning, and we decided to pay for the hotel breakfast, at a cost of €15 per person which was of a buffet continental style, with pastries, cereals, cold hams, unlimited coffee, juices etc. It was very pleasant and by Parisian standards was excellent value.

Not far from the hotel was a French market which also had local produce including crepes, bagels, and fresh fruit and vegetable etc. It was about 10 minute walk an provides an excellent local and fresh start to the day if the hotel breakfast is not for you.

Overall the hotel was far better than expected and although it appears to be some distance away from the sights on the map, it was no more than 15-20 minute walk from Hotel De Ville. Very much would recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Huffaduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This was a surprise for my partner. It really couldn't have been better. Sara on reception recommended and booked a dinner cruise which was excellent. The rooms are small but very comfortable and the bathroom was amazing.
The reception area with honesty bar and coffee facilities is a very relaxing area one that we found to be the ideal place to unwind after our days out in Paris. Although the location may not be ideal for everyone we didn't experience any issues with this. Overall a truly wonderful city break that my partner and I will always remember.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daddafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnabelleVM, Gérant at Hotel Fabric, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for trusting us and stay at hotel FABRIC. It is a real pleasure for us to read a comment such as yours. I will share your comment with my colleague Sara and I am sure she will be very happy.
Our hotel is located in the very trendy 11th district of Paris next to Marais area. The metro Oberkampf, Line N°5 allows our customers to reach very easy Gare du Nord for Eurostar. We also have the metro N°9, which is 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. This metro line will take you directly to the Eiffel Tower, Galleries Lafayette, Champs Elysées and other touristic places. Being in a typical Parisian neighborhood we are able to advise our customers the restaurants with excellent quality of service and food.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Yours sincerely,
Natalia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for about a week with family. Hotel is clean , staff great and helpful. The hotel is not central to tourist attractions. But Paris has great public transport. There is metro stop 'St. Ambrois' just few metres from the hotel. It is served by metro 9. It takes you to 'Nation'. You can connect any where from there.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Asim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnabelleVM, Gérant at Hotel Fabric, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Asim,
Thank you very much for leaving this comment on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay. It is a pleasure for us to know that you found our staff “great” and “helpful”.
We want to thank you for mentioning that our hotel is very well served by public transport: metro Oberkampf, Line N°5 allows our customers to reach very easy Gare du Nord for Eurostar.With N° 9 of the metro we can easily reach the main touristic areas of Paris: Eiffel Tower, Galleries Lafayette, Champs Elysées and other places.
Waiting to welcome you again,
Best regards,
Regards,
Natalia Rusnac
Front desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a gorgeous hotel - the room we stayed in was designed beautifully, the shower was amazing and the bed was huge. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious. I wish we could have stayed longer but will definitely come to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JaneABasingstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnabelleVM, Gérant at Hotel Fabric, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Madam, Sir
We are happy to read this wonderful review.
All our staff take very much to heart such comments as yours.
Waiting to welcome you very soon,
Best regards,
Natalia Rusnac
Front desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Great hotel, luxury linen, awesome pillows, best coffee in Paris, and out of the traditional tourist routes. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Fabric! The hotel is well located, and has a colourful history of old textiles factory in another life... Would definitely do it all again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shell3fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is a lovely little hotel with wonderful rooms and really helpful staff. As with most of Paris, it is very easy to get around using public transport. We had a marvellous supper at the Cave over the road and found the best almond croissant ever at a boulangerie around the corner in Rue Oberkampf, (turn right into Oberkampf and about 200 meters on the right hand side of the road.)
It is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FeyonaAndPenelope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnabelleVM, Gérant at Hotel Fabric, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear guest,
We are delighted that you appreciated our hotel and especially its location.
It is very true that the area of our hotel allows our guests to enjoy good restaurants, bakeries and other typical Parisian trendy places.
Waiting to welcome you again,
Yours sincerely,
Natalia Rusnac
Front desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Monge
Hotel Monge
#2 of 1,805 in Paris
485 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Batignolles-Monceau
XO Hotel
XO Hotel
#6 of 1,805 in Paris
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#23 of 1,805 in Paris
529 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#21 of 1,805 in Paris
1,928 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Le 10 Bis Hotel
Le 10 Bis Hotel
#8 of 1,805 in Paris
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fabric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fabric

Address: 31 rue de la Folie Mericourt, 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £145 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fabric 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel FABRIC is located between Republique and Bastille in the heart of Paris. This former workshop was transformed into a chic and stylish hotel. The 33 guestrooms are as stylish as they are comfortable. Their decor plays on the dualities which have always enlivened the neighbourhood: graphic shapes and industrial furniture from the factories sit alongside highly colourful, quality fabrics evoking the workers' allotment gardens of the Menilmontant quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fabric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing