We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent all round” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sur le Fil

Sur le Fil
Ranked #2,612 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Montparnasse
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We visited Sur Le Fil on our last night in Paris and were not disappointed. It was most certainly the best meal we had in Paris, possibly even one of the best meals we've ever eaten! Food was fantastic. Service was excellent. The lay out of the restaurant is superb. Excellent value for money. Next time we are in Paris we will be sure to visit again!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian_T24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    37
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
163 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Superb Sur Le Fil”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The starter of sardines layered with roasted red pepper on a tomato wafer was as beautiful on our palates as it was on our plates. I chose the scrumptious grilled octopus on a bed of citron pasta decorated with zucchini. The octopus was perfectly grilled, tender in the center, and the delicate pasta, made with a lemony sauce was a bright light accompaniment. Everyone else ordered the lamb, and they all agreed it was the best lamb they had ever eaten:) I taste traded and it was a succulent, meltingly tender, and very generous portion.

Main plates were quite large portions, so keep that in mind if you wish to order appetizers or desserts. The dessert hit of the night were the two choux pastries filled with chocolate mousse which was literally fought over (I suggested that they order another one so that everyone who wanted a dessert could have their own, but they decided to share).

With two kirs, four sodas, a bottle of wine, three appetizers, four main courses and three desserts, our total was still less than 35€ ($48 US) per person for excellent food, friendly service, and a charmingly small place that opens out to the street. I think I may have found my new favorite restaurant:)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elainetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
143 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We called in to ask if there was anything on the menu for a vegetarian, the chef was telephoned and we were told there would be no problem. Everything about this place is first class. The vegetarian meal was as good as anything. The chef is exceptional and the service a delight. There are only a few choices for each course but this a a very good sign of using only fresh ingredients.
Don't miss it. Raspail or Vavin metro.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Logistical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent 3 course Gourmand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Tiny but uncrowded Latin Quarter gem. Limited but carefully constructed menu is a gourmand experience. The amazing part was that, including a bottle of reasonably priced but tasty wine, the entire bill for two was only 100 euro.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cozy, good food, many locals - GREAT dessert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Very cozy and welcoming non-tourist place easily found off of Bd Raspail/Bd Montparnasse. We dined early, but sat near a group of 8 obvious locals and a couple with a potential mother in law. The food was good. It was limited in choices (4 entrees) but we both enjoyed our selections and the recommendation for dessert served to be our favorite of our 14 day trip! (Religious Chocolate?) It was a perfect way to end a long of sightseeing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sur le Fil also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Sur le Fil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing