We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfriendly” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel d'Angleterre Champs Elysees

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre Champs Elysees
Ranked #1,492 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unfriendly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed at the hotel over the Augsut Bank Holiday. The Hotel Sign did not give us the best impression, it was supposed to be a lit sign but no lights were ever one while we were there, and part of the sign was broken. On arrival the receptionist was less than friendly, took our reservation slip and gave us a key to the room on the 1st floor. Stairs very narrow and the lift was barely big enough to fit two of us with bags. Although the room was comfortable enough and reasonably clean, the shower door was half hanging off and as a consequence water sprayed out onto the floor. The hotel is allegedly in a quiet street off the Champs Elysees. We did not find this to be true. The road is a link between two very busy avenues and although the balcony windows were double glazed, the street noise was horrendous, starting very early in the morning with scooters and trucks roaring along. The street itself was also not very clean and we saw several drunks lying on the pavement in the early evening on all three evenings. Breakfast was very basic - we were brought a tray with a "grunt" from the member of staff, and on one morning we obviously got a second-hand tray because the plates and serviettes were floating in water. When we asked the receptionist (it was never the same one) for some directions to a local shop we wanted to visit, we did not get any help, and found all the staff (apart from the cleaning lady) to be unhappy looking and unhelpful. Perhaps it was because they were having to work over a bank holiday - who knows? When we left on the Monday there was no "au revoir, smile or thank you". This was our first visit to Paris, and we had been told Parisians were not particularly polite. We did not experience this anywhere else other than in this hotel. On the plus side it is ideally located for most of the sites, and the room was adequate, but we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Josie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    32
    26
    17
    12
See reviews for
12
22
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

This hotel benefits from its location and so should its visitors. If you do not expect much for the price and you are not prepared for 5-star Hilton but 1-star hostel (as I was), you might be even surprised in positive way.
Yes, rooms are small but I have seen even smaller. Yes, they are dated but I have seen older ones in Paris as well. However, bathroom and toilet were clean and so was the room. I had room on 2nd floor facing kind of depressing courtyard where it was not much to see but on the other side, I was saved from traffic noise on the street. Reception staff polite and speaking English, check-in and check-out without problems. For my business trip this hotel was just ok mostly thanks to its location and the fact that I had no problems I would expect for this price and rating.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

The location was key - just off the Champs D'Elysee. The hotel is friendly and helpful. Whilst rooms are quite small and the decor is a little dated it was clean and adequate. Staff were great and we were very grateful for the use of a shower after the marathon.
Breakfast was good value- the 10euro, better than eating out. Night-time can be noisy, especially if your room is facing onto the road but the location makes up for this.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjw47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

We had a reservation for 5 nights in the september 2008 on that "hotel". We have seen the web site of the hotel, and were prepared for small rooms.
But it is difficult to describe what we found!
Old, dirty, smelly rooms (smell of cigaretts and something undefinable), extremely small and dark...
Next to the door of the room there was a sign with the text: “We advice you for your security, to lock the door!”
Unfortunately, our door was broken, so we were unable to fulfill that advice.
The room of our daughters next to us, was even worse – darker and smaller, but it was lockable.
When we ask the receptionist to organize the staff to fix our door , we received the answer: “It is forbidden for the guasts to lock the doors, because in case of emergency the hotel staff shall be able to enter the room”. Of course, there wasn’t safe case in the hotel.
Narrow and dark corridors - it was scary to walk in that corridors for our daughters.
We were unable to find an other hotel the first night.
But the next morning we leave the Hotel, and only 20 meters down the street Rue La Boetie, we check-in to an other hotel from the same category and the same price – apprx. 135 euro for double room per night, which seemed like 5 star hotel in comparison with D'anleterre.
We will remember our first night as a real nightmare.
And will never recommend that hotel, even to the worst enemy.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FreeTravelerBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Istanbul
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2009

I have decided to stay in this hotel based on the reviews that I have read in tripadvisor.com. the hotel is in an excellent place, especially for first time visitors. it is just 2 minute walk away to champs elysees and 1 minute walk away to the nearest metro station. I have stayed in this hotel with a friend of mine. the room was small but it had all the required facilities. the room was clean and the beds were comfortable. you can easily walk back to hotel even late at night. the only problem was that the street was too loud on saturday night. there was an awful traffic until 7 in the morning and the cars were honking all the time. overall, this is a great hotel with a good price.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tugcey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2009

This hotel is ideally placed for all the major sights. The Arc de Triomphe, Tuileries, Eiffel Tower, Notre Dame are all within reasonable walking distance, and the Champs Elysees just a 2 minute walk away. The hotel itself was clean, service was polite and helpful, breakfast fresh and plentiful with an excellent pot of coffee. Our triple room was really a double room with an extra bed, a little cramped over 4 nights but exactly what the website indicated. The bathroom was very good with a deep bath, power shower and separate toilet. Our room looked on to the street and was noisy from 6.30 in the morning. The lounge and breakfast room have been refreshed or upgraded since the pictures were taken for the hotel's official website and we found them pleasant and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with our 7 year old daughter. There are many excellent restaurants close at hand and it is worth exploring the side streets for more interesting options.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jm1722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2009

The hotel is in an excellent location about a 2-3 minute walk from the Champs Elysees. The staff at the reception were friendly and spoke English. The lift was tiny (could fit 1 person and a suitcase or 2 or 3 people). The decor of the room was outdated with a 70's bathroom, brown tiles, old bedding etc. However there was nothing wrong with it. Most peoples houses are outdated and ugly, with old furniture and they still live there happily. It is the cheapest hotel in the area and it is better to be in a good area. The room was clean, had a separate toilet (which is unusual) and a proper deep bathtub. The bed was comfortable and the room was reasonably sized (bigger than a lot of European hotel rooms) It had a homely atmosphere and a small balcony with a fantastic view of a Parisian street. We had a great time, the area is fantastic with a supermarket next door to the hotel and several good shoe shops on the same street. No fridge in the room though, which was annoying.

  • Liked — Location, price
  • Disliked — shabbiness of decor
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Europeobsessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel le Colisee
Hotel le Colisee
#849 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Delarc
Hotel Delarc
#1,523 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel des Champs-Elysees
Hotel des Champs-Elysees
#846 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Beauchamps
Hotel Beauchamps
#543 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Elysees Hotel
Elysees Hotel
#1,284 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Monna Lisa
Hotel Monna Lisa
#224 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre Champs Elysees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre Champs Elysees

Property: Hotel d'Angleterre Champs Elysees
Address: 91 rue la Boetie | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,492 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Angleterre Champs Elysees 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre Champs Elysees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Angleterre Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing