We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ups and downs”
Review of Yves Robert Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yves Robert Hostel
Ranked #46 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Paris
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
275 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Ups and downs”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

There were some really good things to this hostel but also some rather negative ones as well.

Pro
New building
Spacious
Free breakfast (Note: mainly cereal and croissant, NO toast)

Cons
Door key didn't work, at first didn't lock then didn't unlock
Neighbourhood seemed very dodgy, didn't feel safe. Didn't want to leave the hostel.
Showers were very short timed and water went everywhere

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vladvonbounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    48
    28
    9
    9
See reviews for
6
16
40
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

For the price you pay.. You expect to be staying in a place that is comfortable. No.

I was travelling with my mum and boyfriend, we were unable to all share a room because they only had doubles or same sex rooms. It was to full for us to pay for a room with four beds. So we ended up with a double and a bed in a dorm. The least they could have done was placed us in rooms on the same level, but that was not possible.

The double room has a bunk bed, and two over sized lockers that take up about half of the room. Which seems unnecessary because when you're staying in a double room it's usually just you and your travel companion. So there isn't a need for lockers that can fit humans. The room was crowded and stuffy.

Don't stay here if you want to meet other travellers. During my stay there was just lots of school groups. Which included them running around and yelling like crazy, shouting at all hours.

It's in a little of dodgy feeling area, in the middle of nowhere - no attractions anywhere near by. Realistic,y the Gare du Nord station is about a 20 minute walk away when walking with packs.

Breakfast is nothing special.

The communal toilet was always dirty.

I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kyah94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The rooms are cramped and very hot and stuffy. No opening windows and no air-conditioning and not even any rudimentary ventilation. The vent pipes are there but they are not working. Report it to manager and he just tells you lies. No en-suite toilet. If you want a towel you have to pay an extra 3 euro. The whole place is a joke. Sweaty plastic covers on mattress. Bunk beds. Management couldn't give a stuff. En-suit shower but with only one on-off tap so a non adjustable fixed temperature which was too hot. This together with the hot room was a very sad state of affairs. Washbasin again had only a hot tap so you couldn't get a cool drink of water. This has to be the worst place I have ever stayed at. Was booked and paid for 2 nights but walked out after the first sleepless night. After 3 hours of complaining to the manager the small locked window in the room was eventually opened. However the room was directly above a noisy bar and cigarette smoke started coming in through the window. The bar noise and smoke continued till 2 am. Then the bar staff made even more noise by banging about moving and packing all the outside chairs and tables. This continued till about 3 am.
Please be warned. This is not a place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't bother. Stay away from this place like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I was part of a group and shared a four bed dorm. 1 Bunk and two single beds, 4 lockers, 4 chairs and a table. Each bed had 2xUSB ports, an electric point and light. A shower but no WC. On this visit the air conditioning was not working and we slept with the window wide open all night. We suffered noise from a disco next door then people outside. The trains started at 6 am. The breakfast was adequate although I am not used to drinking tea or coffee from a bowl, so would advise you take your own cup or mug. La Rochelle Metro is only 10 mins walk or less from the hostel where directly across the road you can walk to the Gard Du Nord station. Max Dormay Metro is 5 minutes away through a slightly seedy area but we had no problems as we always walked in a group.15 minuite walk to the Montmartre however would suggest you take the Metro.. The hostel is visible from the Eurostar as it passes. Modern hostel just a pity no wc en suite. There is nothing of interest in the area of the hostel to make it worth while walking around or eating out so we stayed out all day returning for a nightcap before retiring.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Visited in August. Hostel was clean, but ran out of hire towels. Reasonable proximity to Marx Dormoy metro. Many nice bars and cafés nearby. Washing machine in hostel didn't work, but laundrette nearby.
Rooms supposed "automatically ventilated". This was not aircon and ineffective. Windows can only be opened by management from the outside. However, other people able to do this as well and a security issue. Room shared with 4 was unpleasantly hot. Shower and hand basin in room, but toilets in corridor with extra showers

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from here with a small school group. It's a really great hostel and the design is very modern using the frame of some old locomotive sheds. Rue Pajol is about a 10-15 minute walk from Gare du Nord and has 2 metro stations ; La Chapelle and Marx Dormoy within 5 minutes walk away. The area around the hostel is a working class area of Paris but Rue Pajol around the hostel is pretty smart with a bar with a pavement terrace. There were groups of local youths hanging around on a few corners but we never had any problems with safety, and when we came back from Disney at 1am the street was very quiet. The area around La Chapelle station and the part of Rue Pajol north of Rue Riquet were rougher and felt more intimidating, but it's really like visiting any major city, be cautious, be sensible, and trust your instincts about anywhere you're walking.
The hostel itself is clean and modern with en suite showers and sinks, the toilets are on the corridor and are reasonable in terms of cleanliness. All rooms are basic but did have USB sockets and card entry. The room I stayed in had no curtains! I think it was 231 so avoid getting that one if possible! Food in the restaurant was fine, and you can fill up at breakfast with cereal, croissants etc. reasonably priced vending machines are around the public places and there's a bar with outside balcony deck chairs and bean bags. There's also TV in the public areas in reception. The staff were very friendly and tried to help in English all the time. Although not in the centre, the metro is close by and is very fast and efficient. There's a MacDonald's right by Marx Dormoy Station. I would definitely recommend this hostel, but like I say, use the same caution in the area as you would back home and you'll be fine.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank middyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

It was a great hostel with friendly and welcoming staff members, however it is situated in a terrible location.

The area didn't feel safe at night and wasn't near the main area of Paris. A lot of taxi drivers didn't even know where to go once I gave them the address.

Stayed in the private double room.It was very clean and spacious with a nice little balcony.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
République
Les Piaules
Les Piaules
#30 of 166 in Paris
130 reviews
Le Marais
Auberge de Jeunesse MIJE  Fourcy
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#2 of 166 in Paris
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 Ducks Hostel
#18 of 166 in Paris
323 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Arty Paris
#7 of 166 in Paris
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yves Robert Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yves Robert Hostel

Property: Yves Robert Hostel
Address: 20 Esplanade Nathalie Sarraute, 75018 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halle Pajol consists of a youth hostel, a public library, local activities and a public garden in three distinct but related entities. The hostel was fully completed in May 2013, and is a unique Parsian spot. Commissioned by the residents, the project Halle Pajol began in the early 2000s, following the decision of the city of Paris. In order to answer to the resident's requests, the city hall of Paris decided to build a cultural facility in a sustainable and ecofriendly way. It is in this spirit of innovative and efficient building that the hostel Yves Robert was born. The hostel is located in an environmental-friendly-neighborhood one of the best examples of sustainable development in Paris, between the Gare du Nord and Montmartre. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing