We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in the heart of Paris”
Review of Hotel Monte Carlo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Monte Carlo
Ranked #1,124 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 10 November 2011

My wife and I recently stayed in Paris for two nights during a European whirlwind tour and stayed at the Monte Carlo while visiting. Here's the lowdown:

Rooms - Expectantly small (as is typical of hotels in Europe) but spotlessly clean with a quirky style and fun decor. Having a room overlooking the street gave us a true feel of Parisian atmosphere.

Reception/staff - friendly and very helpful. Being our first visit the Paris, the front desk was more than happy to assist us in planning our street walks and finding particular places.

Location - Fantastic location located on a less busy side street very close to cafes and about a 25 minute walk from the Louvre. Once you get your bearings, Paris seems to get easier and easier to more you walk around.

Breakfast - seemed a little pricey for what was being offered so opted not to take it and rather eat at one of the numerous cafes in the immediate area.

Overall - Very much enjoyed our stay, and would definitely recommend it as one of the more affordable options for sightseeing in Paris. We loved the atmosphere, the Monte Carlo's unique style and had a generally positive experience all round. 4 well deserved rating points.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the street view rooms as we feel you can be part of the street action, but perhaps not fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globalwanderer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

Amazing location, walking distance to the Galleries Lafayette and the Opera, not too much further to the Louvre and the Champs E'lysees. A 2 second stumble to a Metro station, and there's a decent amount of restaurants in the area, though nothing IMO to write home about. Rooms are indeed colorful, and a bit small, but I was travelling solo so I didn't need too much. Free wi-fi a plus, albeit somewhat hard to access and was on the fritz at the time. I think I paid like E50 a night, which was very hard to find short of a hostel. A very good hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan7482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We spent 5 days and 4 nights in Paris in May 2011 staying at the Hotel Monte Carlo. We arrived early in the day via the Eurostar from London. Mr. Thomas at the desk was just great when we arrived long before check-in time. He gave us a couple of suggestions of things to do in the area and stored our bags for us. We walked up to Sacre Coeur easily found with Mr. Thomas' directions. When we had taken a look around the church and area we headed back to the hotel. The room was all ready as promised. It was small, but certainly adequate for our needs. There was a small desk that was very handy for our laptop and the free internet that was included in the room price. Our room was on the street side so it was a bit noisy but it had a great view up and down Rue Faubourg, We enjoyed the people watching from the two large double windows in the room. If you need something quiet they also have rooms that face an interior courtyard. The next morning when we were about to head out for the day we asked Mr. Thomas how to get to our first destination and ended up with a whole itinerary for the day. It was just great. He was also more than happy to make dinner reservations for us and when we couldn't get one at the restaurant of our choice until a day later, he suggested a great restaurant just a block away. When we got there they asked if we had a reservation we said no but Mr.Thomas had sent us, They were more than happy to seat us. We did see other people turned away as they were quite busy. The food was very good as was the service. Mr. Thomas checked with us later to see how the dinner was. I can't say enough about how helpful all the staff were and especially Mr. Thomas. The hotel is very close to two metro lines and is within walking distance of many of Paris' sights. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Street side room are noisier but they are great to people watch from. If you want quiet they have co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler1775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Hotel staff were very helpful and nice and the room was not at all tiny (which is normal for Paris budget rooms). You had room to walk around the whole double bed and there was even room for small desk in our room. Hotel has been very thoughtfully decorated with bright colours and art deco and photos of Paris scenes. We shared a shower and toilet (but had a sink in our room) and we almost never had to wait for the toilet but once or twice we had to wait for the shower. Never had to wait in the evening for a shower. The shower itself had good pressure and the hot water seemed plentiful. Very good for a shower in Europe. My friend's room had its own shower and this was in a separate bathroom with a shower cubicle to catch the water, so this seems to have improved from other people's previous comments. All the showers only have a short wall to catch the water so you do have to be careful, but it's fine.
Fantastic location, close to everything including several different metro stops and as a single woman I never felt unsafe catching the metro home or walking around the streets where the hotel is, which was really great.
The downside is the walls are very very thin and the doors are quite old and creaky, so you hear people having a shower in the morning and people coming in and out of their rooms and even people talking in their rooms. However, the hotel is aware of the problem and has signs everywhere asking people to keep quiet in the corridors and only shower between 6am and 11pm, and overall people seem to do so (but they can't help the creaky doors in echoing corridors…). With earplugs I didn't find it a problem.
I would definitely come back, an excellent place from which to discover Paris without that "horrible budget hotel" feel.

Room Tip: Next time, I'd get a room with its own bathroom, I think it's a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzzieHolliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Small and cozy hotel that is very tastefully decorated. The rooms are small but still manage to care for your needs for hanging up your clothes, taking a shower and sleeping. It is very clean. For me and my husband it was perfect. We had a double bed, true I'd have preferred twin beds, facing the beautiful little courtyard. My friends had a double bed facing the street and one night it was a bit loud but otherwise fine. The breakfast room is so cute you don't want to leave. Outside the hotel you have a pharmacy, convenience store, restaurants, metro stops. The staff is really nice and helpful. The only drawback I can think of is that you sometimes can hear other loud guests ... but not the quiet ones.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ldvma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I stayed in this hotel on a business trip and loved it. Great location, free wifi, plenty of restaurants and bakeries on your doorstep if you get hungry, there is even a small supermarket across the street. Rooms are small but unless you plan to stay inside all the time, who cares? Recommended if you want to come to Paris and are on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeighBCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

First, yes, the rooms are small. The bathroom is small. But, after all, miss, this is France! If you aren't willing to be in a room that is best compared to a cruise ship cabin, you're going to be paying big money to stay in the city of Paris. So, level-set your expectations as far as room sizes...only the big "Americanized" hotels have the same size rooms that you expect for this amount of money in the US. That having been said, if you are a larger person (and I'll be happy to give specific measurement details via private message), you may have trouble in the bathroom. I am probably close to the largest that you could comfortably be to get in and out of the shower easily due to the very narrow entrance. The toilet and sink area was not a problem, though.

Checking in was no problem. While I speak some French, I was able to switch to English with the desk staff. The lobby is nicely decorated, with several sitting areas. We opted to not get the breakfast because we were doing early morning departures and wanted to be able to eat on the go. The front desk mentioned the presence of a market nearby (practically across the street), and I will say that we stupidly did not take advantage of that. Go to that market and pick up some reasonably priced French wine as well as soda or other needs...it's much cheaper than buying at restaurants. You can also re-use smaller bottles as water bottles while you're touring. Also, if you're taking a train after (as we were), you can take wine or other beverages and snacks with you on the train and have a mini-picnic as you go. There's also several restaurants near the hotel, including pubs, a creperie, and a few cafes. One metro stop is very nearby and a few others are a short walk away. You can also take the RER line A (most often used for Disneyland Paris) from the Opera station, which is a short walk away (maybe 10 minutes, walking briskly).

The room itself was clean and nicely decorated. It was very colorful without being garish. The lighting is a little dim at first, because of the use of CFLs, but it brightens as you leave it on. A fan was provided in the room, as well as a small LCD TV with remote. The window opens for cooling purposes. (There is a heating element but no air conditioning.) There were plenty of electrical outlets for our purposes, and wi-fi is included at no extra fee (but you will need to get a separate code/login for each device you plan to use). The wi-fi was perfectly usable for e-mail, blogging, podcasts, and photo uploads. We did not use it for streaming video at all, so I can't comment on that.

The water pressure in the shower was fine, and shampoo and soap are provided, as well as plenty of towels. The sheets and bedspread were very comfortable. There's a safe in the room as well as plenty of shelves and area for your things. I definitely think the room size is comparable to a cruise ship cabin, in that there's just enough room and no more.

Overall, I'd definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: The Roma room faces the street and so you'll get a fair amount of street noise. Courtyard-facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#865 of 1,805 in Paris
146 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Tiquetonne
Tiquetonne
#649 of 1,805 in Paris
599 reviews
La Villette
Hotel du Quai de Seine
Hotel du Quai de Seine
#986 of 1,805 in Paris
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de L'Union
#738 of 1,805 in Paris
167 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Royal Wagram
Royal Wagram
#950 of 1,805 in Paris
271 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
#1,152 of 1,805 in Paris
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Carlo

Address: 44 rue du Faubourg Montmartre | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#125 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £42 - £583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monte Carlo 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Monte Carlo in Paris benefits a central location in the 9th area of Paris between The Opera Garnier, Montmartre and Grands Boulevards. The most famous monuments and museums like The Eiffel Tower, Museum of Louvre, Notre Dame de Paris or L'Arc de Triumph are accessible easily by subway. Three subway stops "Le Peletier", "Grands Boulevards" and "Notre Dame de Lorette" are near the hotel and permit to visit all Paris. The nearest museums and monuments are Museum Grévin, L'Opera Garnier, Basilique Sacré-Coeur as well as grands magasins Galeries La Fayette et Printemps for shopping. The area of the hotel is a lively place with lots of antique stores as well as the auction house "Drouot", parisian cafes, restaurants, bars and the famous restaurant "Bouillon Chartier", supermakets and a small traditional market Cadet. The hotel interior was created by the designer Sofi Bollack-Klarwein. The hotel is a cosy place, done with love and taste where the owners welcome the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Paris
Monte Carlo Hotel
Hotel Monte Carlo Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing