We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in paris”
Review of Hotel Monte Carlo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Monte Carlo
Ranked #909 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gem in paris”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 8 day stay at the hotel. it was clean and centrally located. the best was the service - Thomas was superb and helped to make our stay in Paris a memorable one. He was friendly and helped us find our way around and took care of all our needs. Merci Thomas.

Room Tip: Shanghai room overlooks the garden. Any room away from the street is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abu k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    287
    104
    23
    18
See reviews for
69
286
114
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The Metro (Le Peletier) is just 1 minute walk from the hotel and shopping area Lafayette is 10 minutes walk away! Next to the hotel you have the best Chinese noodle in whole Paris:-) The room is spacious, cozy & modern. The hotel reception is very helpful, provides us lots of useful information. I will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Paris!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolandho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelMonteCarloParis, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to know that your stay at our hotel and contact with the staff was enjoyable. It encourages us to continue working with passion and to make our guests feel at home.
We would be happy to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Staff friendly, good location, rooms very small but this is apparently normal in Paris and for how long your actually in them! Clean enough. Free wifi which is good. Missing a long mirror in the room (a bit annoying when getting ready and the only mirror is above the bed or bathroom sink). We tried breakfast on the first day but it's about 9€ for a very basic selection (no cheese, meat, eggs etc, better going to a local cafe. We didnt realise that when we booked through Expedia we booked a shared bathroom...not our cup of tea so we paid an extra 20€ a night to upgrade to an ensuite! Our room was facing the road, a little noisy and there is a few pubs along the road but we were too tired to be annoyed by this. Our room also had the lift right next to which was a bit noisy one of the nights but again this didn't bother us too much! All in all we thought this hotel was ideal for our short break!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Saw the reviews on here and decided to go for it...hotel was as to be expected. It is a quirky little hotel at the bottom of the Montmarte hill, surrounded by places to eat and drink. Room was a little smaller than we thought but manageable. Room was very clean, which is in my book the most important thing. Overlooking the courtyard was quiet at night too. Staff were very friendly and helpful...and speak good English too if you are struggling in French. If you only in Paris for a few days then this will do the trick for you...and quite cheap by Parisian standards.

Room Tip: Take a courtyard room with private bathroom...and avoid bathroom sharing and noisy traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thevontrapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Couple travelling together for a 3 night stay, hotel is situated in a nice area of Paris, good location. We have been to Paris many times previously but 1st time in this location.

On arrival, greeted by a typically-natured French male receptionist, who refused to smile!!!! Allocated Room 403, fourth floor via very small but functional lift. Hotel is very clean, both rooms and communal areas.

On entering our Room, where intially aware of a "communal shower area" situated directly beside same. Signage outside same states that it is not to be used between 11pm and .Didnt think much of it at the time, however, were made very aware of it use during the very early hours of the morning throughout our stay...... like 5.30am! As always, rooms in Paris are small and you can hear everything, so sounded like someone taking a shower on our bathroom at ridiuclous hours each morning. That combined with the road noise (there is a very popular Irish bar a few doors down from the hotel and revellers could be heard well into the wee hours from our Room) might make another court yard room better option.

The Room itself was small, but as to be expected of Paris. It was clean and had adequate facilities (mini safe, hairdryer, fan, flat screen tv) for the rate. The bathroom was clean with a good shower however, the interior of the bathroom in general was a little tired, e'g mouldy ceiling in bathroom, main room was in better order, reasonably well decorated.

Staff on reception the following day were exceptionally helpful and reccomended places to eat plus also booked a table for us at our chosen restaurant, which was greatly appreciated.it was just a shame our intial encounter on arrival was not as memorable.

We would reccomend this hotel as it is quirky, also for its good location, easy access to the Metro, reasonable rate, but avoid Room 403!





.

Room Tip: avoid room 403, can be noisy both inside and out
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicadee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelMonteCarloParis, Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, it helps us to improve!
We regret sincerely that your stay was not all that it could have been.
We will raise with all our team the situation on your arrival with our "reserved" night-collegue .
As for the noise, it is not always easy to control our street neighborhood, as our area is known as "Paris vivant" with restaurants, cafes and theathers. We regret this disconvenience and we will do all possible to advise our neighbors.
We are very pleased to know that your contact with the day-receptrionists was memorable and we would take pleasure in welcoming you back, making your next stay most enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This hotel is all you need when in Paris. Clean, affordable and in a perfect location. It was easy to find and only a 5 minute (if that) walk to the Metro.
The room was spotless and the bathroom was larger than expected (for Paris).
No complaints and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cem_W131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Paris was our last stop on a backpacking trip. The front desk guy was the same guy the entire time. He was friendly and very accommodating when we needed a wine opener. They upgraded us to the "garden view" where we slept with our window open. Room was set up odd but great space for Paris. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Tiquetonne
Tiquetonne
#513 of 1,800 in Paris
564 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#817 of 1,800 in Paris
126 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
#1,054 of 1,800 in Paris
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Art Hotel Congres
Art Hotel Congres
#664 of 1,800 in Paris
503 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel de la Mare
Hotel de la Mare
#369 of 1,800 in Paris
272 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Ibis Paris Grands Boulevards Opera 9eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Carlo

Property: Hotel Monte Carlo
Address: 44 rue du Faubourg Montmartre | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #909 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monte Carlo 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Monte Carlo in Paris benefits a central location in the 9th area of Paris between The Opera Garnier, Montmartre and Grands Boulevards. The most famous monuments and museums like The Eiffel Tower, Museum of Louvre, Notre Dame de Paris or L'Arc de Triumph are accessible easily by subway. Three subway stops "Le Peletier", "Grands Boulevards" and "Notre Dame de Lorette" are near the hotel and permit to visit all Paris. The nearest museums and monuments are Museum Grévin, L'Opera Garnier, Basilique Sacré-Coeur as well as grands magasins Galeries La Fayette et Printemps for shopping. The area of the hotel is a lively place with lots of antique stores as well as the auction house "Drouot", parisian cafes, restaurants, bars and the famous restaurant "Bouillon Chartier", supermakets and a small traditional market Cadet. The hotel interior was created by the designer Sofi Bollack-Klarwein. The hotel is a cosy place, done with love and taste where the owners welcome the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Paris
Monte Carlo Hotel
Hotel Monte Carlo Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing