We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Monte Carlo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Monte Carlo
Ranked #863 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Great little hotel close to lots of restaurants and within walking distance to metro, Louvre & Sacred Heart. Front desk staff was great, very helpful and friendly. Small rooms, but cozy and clean. We faced the street, so it was a little noisy in the mornings - but it was Paris! Loved the big windows that opened up. Wifi was reliable, quite a few tv stations if you wanted to check the news. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindsB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    285
    101
    23
    17
See reviews for
66
282
112
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seinajoki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Been there few times, last time was in may 2012. Cozy little hotel, small but very clean and comfortable rooms. Good french breakfast with reasonable price. Excellent location. Manager/owner Thomas (Greetings from Finland!) is very warm and helpfull person and other staff are great too. Would recommend this hotel for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toketoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

No problems or hassles with this place.....friendly, helpful, English-speaking staff, clean quiet room (even though I faced the noisy street), excellent location, convenient to metro and Gare du Nord station. Wonderful stay in a wonderful city. My only complaint would be they should include the continental breakfast in the room cost; seems sort of nickel-and-dimey to charge 8 euros a day separately. (That said, the breakfast was simple and very nice. Good coffee.) Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaJeanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at Monte Carlo for a week long solo vacation in Paris. I chose Monte Carlo instead of the cheaper hostel alternatives because many reviewers raved about the safe and cozy location. Indeed, I felt very safe walking to/from Monte Carlo. Less than 5 minute walk to two Metro stops and relatively close to Gare du Nord station.

All of the front receptionist throughout my stay spoke english and were very hospitable and eager to help when I asked for directions and or restaurant recommendations.The pictures on TripAdvisor are very accurate. Expect a small room with the bare minimums. My room included a single bed, desk, bathroom sink, safe and t.v. Since I was rooming alone, the toilet and shower were both separately located down the hall. The removable shower head was very dangerous and heavy. I have a nasty scratch on my chest as a result of it not being able to stay on the swivel. Becareful!

I wished the cleaning crew did a better job in vacuuming my room. I suspect my room was vacuumed only once during my entire week stay.

I opted out of paying 8.50 Euros for breakfast. I found this to be way overpriced even for Paris' standards. There are many bistros nearby where you can score a croissant and coffee for 3.50 Euros instead.

I really enjoyed my stay at Monte Carlo but next time, I would like a hotel closer to the city center.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danielledesir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelMonteCarloParis, Propriétaire at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for having stayed at our hotel and shared your experience.

We choose this time to present to you our breakfast:
For 8.90 euros we prepare a French-style self-service at will continental breakfast composed of hot drinks (coffee, chocolate, tea, milk), slices of bio baguettes and croissants, whole meal bread and brioche, as well as cereals, jams (jellies), honey, butter, nutella, soft fruits (figs, apricots, prunes) & fruit juices.

Our products are quality brand foods. We provide 100% orange and apple juices of the Tropicana label. Our high quality breakfast coffee is roasted and delivered each week by a well-known Paris furnisher. Our baguettes and croissants are freshly baked and delivered each day by a local bakery.

On average in the neighbourhood cafés, a simple served breakfast composed of a coffee, a fruit juice and a croissant costs 9 euros.

Hoping to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stay there two nights, May 10th and 11th. The staff is nice but have no knowledge of anything around the area. We asked if we can get a hop on-hop off bus from near by and the staff said no, we walked about 20 mins to Louvre (that's where they said the closest stop was) and then we found out that day after we took the bus all day and saw one of the stops 4 mins from the hotel on the main road, Grands Blvd. Next time we asked the staff how to get to Gare du Nord from there and they said walk, 15 mins, then we went and talked to someone else (shift was changing) and the new guy told us (who was very nice, very inviting and easy to talk to) a bus stops right outside the hotel, 20 steps from where we are, take it and it goes straight to Gare du Nord (and he was right). Room hotels are very small, if you are two people with two luggage bags, you barely have place to walk. Rooms are clean. Breakfast is expensive (8.90 euros) for coffee/tea, orange and apple juice and breads. No eggs of any sort, no meat, no real fruits, nothing. I would skip breakfast and go to the cafe shops on the street right outside the hotel. Bathroom is very very small even for European standards. All being said, now that I know where the hotel is located and what to expect, I will go there again, it was a good price for the stay. There is no A/C but we did not need A/C as it was still chilly, though there was a fan in the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sankuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pampatar, Venezuela
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

My wife and I went on Nov 2013, here are some of our impressions:

- Excellent location: The 9th arrondissement is a nice place to stay at. Plenty of places to eat, lot of art galleries, there are 2 metro stations near the hotel (Paris metro is really easy to use once you get to know it)

- Price: It was the best deal we could find, besides, I think Hotel Monte Carlo will give you the parisien experience you are looking for. Many other hotels like Ibis are a little more expensive and are very generic in terms of decoration.

- Bedroom: Small but cozy. We booked a double bedroom with street view. I found the room to be a little hot at night, even when the weather outside was like 6 C but nothing opening the window wouldn't solve.

- Bathroom: Also small, the shower was a little difficult to handle, cold water comes in ice cubes, hot one will peel off your skin. But I didn't even care, everything else will pay off for this little detail.

- Staff: Very helpful, they really helped us with directions, how to use the metro, and places to visit.

In a nutshell, this is not a luxury hotel, the bed wasn't new, the room was small, but it was an unforgettable experience. This is a very cozy place!

Room Tip: The rooms with street view are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teddy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

My husband, 12 year old son and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in a triple room facing the courtyard. It was very quiet. The room was very clean and the pillows were the most comfortable I have ever had in a hotel. The windows were large and provided nice fresh air, but we also had fans if it had been too warm. The staff were friendly. We arrived late (11:30 pm). I had emailed them prior to our trip to say we would be quite late. When we arrived they called us by name and knew exactly who we were. They kept our luggage for no cost on the day we checked out.

The breakfast is very nice, and worthwhile, especially if you supplement it with some fruit and yogurt from the little market directly across the street. My son ate for free, which was an unexpected bonus! The wifi in the rooms was excellent.

The metro station is close, and the neighbourhood is pleasant and full of cafes and restaurants. I only wish we'd had more time to walk around and explore. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachObsessed73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Tiquetonne
Tiquetonne
#517 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Prince Albert Opera
Prince Albert Opera
#1,350 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#885 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
#976 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Residence du Pre
#622 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Hotel de L'Union
#663 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Carlo

Property: Hotel Monte Carlo
Address: 44 rue du Faubourg Montmartre | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#161 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monte Carlo 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Monte Carlo in Paris benefits a central location in the 9th area of Paris between The Opera Garnier, Montmartre and Grands Boulevards. The most famous monuments and museums like The Eiffel Tower, Museum of Louvre, Notre Dame de Paris or L'Arc de Triumph are accessible easily by subway. Three subway stops "Le Peletier", "Grands Boulevards" and "Notre Dame de Lorette" are near the hotel and permit to visit all Paris. The nearest museums and monuments are Museum Grévin, L'Opera Garnier, Basilique Sacré-Coeur as well as grands magasins Galeries La Fayette et Printemps for shopping. The area of the hotel is a lively place with lots of antique stores as well as the auction house "Drouot", parisian cafes, restaurants, bars and the famous restaurant "Bouillon Chartier", supermakets and a small traditional market Cadet. The hotel interior was created by the designer Sofi Bollack-Klarwein. The hotel is a cosy place, done with love and taste where the owners welcome the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Paris
Monte Carlo Hotel
Hotel Monte Carlo Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing