We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed the food and service too!”
Review of Lazare

Lazare
Reserve with
Lazare is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #914 of 17,405 Restaurants in Paris
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: THE RESTAURANT Today, in the little gastronomic revolution of French train station, LAZARE is a pioneer. Under command of Chief and MOF Eric Frechon, 3 star Chef at Bristol, the Saint-Lazare train station has a great brasserie with every particuliraties of the Coffee station of bygone days. Under a tubular ceiling, we are sitting down in a place with walls full of dishawasher shelfves with a imposant wood and copper bar in the middle. Under lights of great canopies, we can savor big classics of french railway gastronomy : Le Parisien jambon-Beurre, the "Best" Saucisse-Purée, Oeufs de poules "bio" mimosa, Thon et truffe or the Paris-Deauville (revisited Paris-Brest) We would watch too, depending on days, the Coq au vin or La Poule au riz. It is good to waiting for the train relaxing on our chic and intimist parisian terrace.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the food and service too!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My husband and I decided on the spur of the moment to have lunch here. The restaurant was buzzing at noontime (even in August?) and we had to wait a short time, but it was certainly worth it. Nice table, not in a crowded part of the restaurant. The waitress was lovely and helpful. We had the meal of the day, Fricasséed Chicken, and Steak Tartare. My husband said it was the best chicken he had ever had. The tartare was delectable and the bread to go with it superb! The french fries were really fun! The wines very acceptable also. For dessert we shared a pan of hot Burlat cherries cooked in port wine with vanilla ice cream. Yummy. The lunch crowd had diminished as we were finishing up and we went away satiated with full intentions of returning!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen75017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarisse F, Responsable relations clients at Lazare, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor.

It was a real pleasure to read your very nice review on LAZARE. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit at LAZARE’s.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you and your husband during your next trip to Paris.

Kind regards,

Monsieur Sebastien Chevriot, Restaurant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    490
    237
    88
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious brasserie fare”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was my second dining experience at Lazare. The food is remarkable. Calamari starter and cheese flight was divine. Steak au cheval with frites (addictive basket of fries)and the salmon were exceptional. Too full to attempt a dessert. We'll visit again on our next Paris trip to work through the menu.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieDakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarisse F, Responsable relations clients at Lazare, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor.

It was a real pleasure to read your very nice review on LAZARE. I am pleased that you enjoyed our cuisine, specially our «Steak à cheval poêlé, bacon grillé, pommes frites » and the « Saumon rôti, petits pois à la française ». We select our products very carefully to offer every day the best cuisine to our guests.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again during your next trip to Paris.

Kind regards,

Monsieur Sebastien Chevriot, Restaurant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zephyr Cove, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly service, great location”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Opened by Eric Frechon, 3 star chef at the Bristol's, Lazare is convivial and friendly. Short and sweet, the menu brilliantly revisits a few classics at a very decent price considering the quality you usually get for the money in Paris. A provencal, knife chopped tartare, a tomato and ginger cabillaud and home made desserts are all I need to be happy. The calamari or the charcuterie plate are also worth a try. Fairly busy, with a large beautiful bar occupying quite a bit of space, it is best to book.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank madibon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarisse F, Responsable relations clients at Lazare, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor.

It was a real pleasure to read your very nice review. I am pleased that you enjoyed our cuisine, specially the « Steak Tartare » and the « tomato and ginger cabillaud ». Every day, our team is dedicated to offer the best quality of cuisine and service.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Monsieur Sebastien Chevriot, Restaurant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My worst experience in Paris ”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Some restaurants in paris, the service is unadmired but the food makes me silence to write a bad review.
But this restaurant is just simple. The waiter is seriously rude. The food wasn't impressive at all for the price.
I will never come back. There are many other great restaurants in Paris. Just simple as it is. Don't go here.

Helpful?
3 Thank Yuuuuuuuuuuuuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarisse F, Responsable relations clients at Lazare, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear guest,

I am really concerned that you have been disappointed by the quality of the service which you found rude. Your observation has been told to all the staff. I will make sure it won’t happen again.

Kind regards,

Sebastien Chevriot
Director of the restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Interesting experience”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

A good opportunity to see how a 3 star Michelin chef presents food in a station restaurant. Quite a short menu, excellent food - we had the steak tartare. Wines on the expensive side, but what does one expect in Paris in a place with all the hyped write-ups ? We ate early at 7.30 pm and it was quiet to start with, but by the time we had finished, the place was buzzing. Good fun.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WILLIAM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarisse F, Guest Relations Manager at Lazare, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased that you had a great time in LAZARE and you enjoyed our cuisine, specially the « Steak Tartare ».

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Sebastien Chevriot, Director of the restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lazare also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Lazare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing