We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parisian charme at Hotel Porte Dorée”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de la Porte Doree
Ranked #267 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Charming, clean, very Parisian, l'hotel de la porte Dorée offers a good taste of Paris, of its hospitality, of its history, of its wonderful boulevards. The metro and the bus stop at a few meters from the hotel solve its not perfectly central location. Very kind staff, always ready to help with very appreciate suggestions to move around and to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lodoisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

I loved the style and feel of this hotel. Both bedroom & bathroom were good size. Shower was a bit tricky to use without flooding the bathroom & the sink kept blocking up.
The staff were very friendly and pleasant. Porte Doree and surrounding areas are very nice and a welcome break from the madness of Central Paris. Local markets a bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiyapet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

While this hotel is not in the center of things, the metro stop, as others noted, is literally a few feet from the entrance. We never waited more than 5 minutes for a train at that stop. However, since the metro only gets moderate traffic there, it’s not a congested area. It was nice to enjoy the slower pace of a neighborhood after returning from a day of sightseeing. It’s on a main thoroughfare, so there are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. We found the beds very comfortable and enjoyed the little amenities provided -- like a basket of magazines next to the bed. The front desk is staffed 24/7 and staff members were unfailingly helpful. Room sizes were fine for Paris. This is an older hotel which I think most will find charming (we did), but some may find difficult to manage because the tiny elevator is so difficult to use and the stairs slope a little.

My only con: Internet access is free, but spotty, and there is no printer for guests. If you want something printed you have to email it to the front desk and ask them to print it.

Big plus: The boulangerie across the street is exceptional. Best pain au chocolat ever!

Room Tip: The rooms (we saw 4 of them at various points) vary in size and noise level. Ask for a quiet one if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NESojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our stay in Hotel de la Porte Doree was a real pleasure, for a couple of reasons. First, the staff was absolutely great. Each of them was kind, helpful and attentive, and helped out where possible. Whether it concerned travel, connections, where-to-go (or not to go) or accommodations. My five-year-old daughter was treated like a real princess (which was especially good because staying in a hotel had been a long dream of hers). Breakfast was good in terms of quality and variety, everything was fresh and tasteful and there was enough for kids on the counter. It gave us a good start of the day. Apart from the food and the staff, the ambiance was wonderful. The hotel combines old Parisian charm with modern boutique style, even though the outside looks like an ordinary, middle-of-the-road type of accommodation. The rooms weren't big but they were very efficiently organized; everything fitted perfectly. The hotel was clean and quiet, rooms were well-isolated. Even though the hotel is located close to the eastern peripherique, it is well connected to the metro network and is 50 meters from the nearestby metro station (M8, Porte Doree). There is a parc and forest on walking distance, as well as a zoo and a tropical aquarium. You can rent boats in the parc at 5 minutes walking from the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to families as well as couples, perhaps not to singles given its distance from downtown area.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a main road. If you want to be sure of your nights rest, opt for a room on the backs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

An excellent hotel in a great location. The staff are extremely welcoming and the rooms are spotless. Metro links could not be more convenient. The petit dejeuner is delicious. This hotel is a real delight.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidNigel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I really enjoyed staying at the Hotel de la Porte Doree and the metro station was so close to the door which made traveling to and from all the tourist destinations easy. The staff were amazing and so helpful and professional, which instantly put me and my friend at ease. The decor and our room was really impressive and the beds were really comfortable. Very clean and beautiful!

The rooms were small but given the purpose of our visit, and the outstanding service we received, we did not mind the small rooms and the little elevator was a funny experience, which just added to the experience.

At the end of each floor/stair case are some book cases full of random books, in both french and english (i remember seeing a japanses book) of all genres which I thought added a very authentic, homely feel to the hotel.

We both enjoyed the breakfast, even though a bit on the expensive side, but personally I thought it was worth the little extra. There were a number of shops/stores/cafes/restaurants nearby which we took advantage of.

I will be recommending this hotel to a few of my friends who will be going to Paris with their partners as it is great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AribaPeeyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

It is a hotel how I imagine a parisien hotel. I loved this one. the elevator is very small, but it was funny to go with it.

The service was very friendly.

You hear the metro, but it is not so bad.

You have to visit teh viaduct art at the avenue Daumesnil.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rakete1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Gobelins
La Manufacture
La Manufacture
#285 of 1,802 in Paris
1,675 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#85 of 1,802 in Paris
672 reviews
Grand Hotel Francais
#95 of 1,802 in Paris
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Mercure Paris Montmartre Sacre Coeur
Montmartre
Ibis Paris Montmartre 18eme
Montparnasse
Fred Hotel
Fred Hotel
#275 of 1,802 in Paris
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Porte Doree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Porte Doree

Address: 273 avenue Daumesnil, 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Paris
#38 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#156 Business Hotel in Paris
#212 Family Hotel in Paris
#382 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £60 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Porte Doree 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de la Porte Doree is located a few metro stops from the city's main tourist centre and is close to the Bois de Vincennes, where you can enjoy a morning run or a lakeside picnic with your children. From the hotel, you can walk to the centre of Paris along the ancient Roman viaduct, transformed into an elevated garden best known as the "coulée verte". Numerous bus and metro lines near the hotel offer quick and easy access to the city's top tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Splitty, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de la Porte Doree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Porte Doree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing