We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de la Porte Doree
Ranked #285 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Willows, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint Neighborhood”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We really enjoyed staying in this hotel so close to the Metro that took us to the sights in Paris. The neighborhood was a "regular" neighborhood away from the tourist areas and we really enjoyed being there. There were amazing bakeries and small groceries with beautiful produce right on the block. The hotel staff were very helpful and the hotel has very nice decor. The rooms are small, but modern and very clean. I think you get a lot for the price at this place.

Room Tip: The elevator is tiny, so if you prefer the stairs, stay on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargieP460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    285
    60
    13
    5
See reviews for
154
293
56
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I found the hotel very quaint and the size adequate. Truly, the shower is what bumps this up into the average range: wonderful pressure and temperature, and beautifully done. It also has great access to the metro. However, I had many other issues with the hotel. First, there was a distinct sewage smell that happened almost every night. Perhaps the plumbing should be checked out? We were on the second floor and I could actually feel the floor rumble with the metro- it definitely kept me up at night. Finally, it was incredibly hot during our stay. They have a thermostat but they have disabled the customer from dropping it down below a certain degree. After sweating all day, I needed it cooler. This was truly a bit of a disappointment with all the good I had read about the hotel. My husband and I were celebrating our honeymoon here and I certainly wouldn't recommend it for that. Overall for the price, i'd say it was average or a little below.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Small hotel. Elevator is tiny along with the shower. It feels you are unable to move. Service was OK. Bakery across the street is great along with the supermarket. My husband did not find the bed comfortable. Breakfast not included. Room size was decent. Door keys need to be updated. WiFi not the best. you need a daily code. Easy access to metro.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Exquisitey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in Feb '14. Although it isn't smack bang in the middle of Paris, its not too far from the main attractions.
An approx 15min subway ride will take you from the hotel to central Paris. There is a Metro station literally right outside the hotel. A matter of steps away.

The hotel is in a lovely location, not spoiled with tourism. It feels like a lovely local neighbourhood.

There is a McDonalds across the street and a Subway next door, for those who like to indulge in fast-food franchises.

The hotel itself is beautifully decorated. The rooms are quite small, but have everything needed & expected in a modern day hotel. Im guessing most hotels in Paris have small rooms anyway, so we knew what to expect. The elevator/lift is without question the smallest Ive ever seen. It wasn't an issue at all, quite amusing though.

Jerome on the front desk was extremely pleasant and helpful with our questions. He and another lady (with an American accent) didn't catch her name unfortunately. She was great too.
Jerome directed us to a local park on one of our days, way outside any tourist zone. It was beautiful. Around 25 mins on the tram.

Our room & bedding etc was changed regularly. Couldn't fault the service. If ever in Paris again I would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank average_joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend in Paris for the Tour de France. The hotel is great, nice local run hotel feel but not too small to feel like you're intruding. We were in room 18 on the second floor. The room was clean and spacious and cleaned daily. The big double window opened right up for us to get that paris life feel.
The location is great for the metro, literally out the front of the hotel however for this same reason there is some noise from the metro. It didn't bother us but if you're a light sleeper then it might bother you. I'd recommend passing on breakfast and going to the boulangerie opposite the hotel, croissant and pan au chocolat to die for!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyharrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stated one night at the hotel on route to Lille. The welcome we got from the receptionist was fantastic and she was helpful and friendly. The room was small but had tea making facilities which is also helpful for us Brits. The bathroom was small and my hubby just managed to use the toilet (long legs) and shower was a bit on the tiny side. Our room was certainly in need of re decoration. Lots of interesting sculptures around the port Doree area and lots nice bars and cafés. Would certainly recommend it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank clio15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights with our 1 year old.

The room was made up nicely and there was a beautifully presented cot for the boy. There were most things you'd expect in a room, but no fridge which was a little bit vexing as the baby's milk needed refrigerating - they let us use the fridge in the kitchen of course.

The hotel is small and contains the smallest lift I've ever seen, but the staircase was much more pleasant to use even from the top floor. There were some well-stocked bookcases and nice paintings on each level and it felt like a rather grand home and less hotel-y.

The staff were great and their knowledge of the area (we'd never stayed outside the 'centre' before) was terrific and there were lots if interesting things to do and see. It's certainly an up and coming neighbourhood. The staff were also really helpful when we got delayed and I had to stay little longer than planned.

There is no bar or restaurant, but there is a breakfast room. We ate there once and it was, again, well serviced, but a bit expensive when you can get a superb croissant for 0.90c directly opposite.

We'd go back!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pmckeating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel du Printemps
Hotel du Printemps
#235 of 1,802 in Paris
923 reviews
Hotel du Prince Eugene
#159 of 1,802 in Paris
1,243 reviews
Home MODERNE
#268 of 1,802 in Paris
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel L'interlude
Hotel L'interlude
#408 of 1,802 in Paris
373 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
#113 of 1,802 in Paris
552 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Grand Hotel Dore
Grand Hotel Dore
#524 of 1,802 in Paris
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Porte Doree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Porte Doree

Property: Hotel de la Porte Doree
Address: 273 avenue Daumesnil, 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Paris
#59 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#157 Business Hotel in Paris
#212 Family Hotel in Paris
#383 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Porte Doree 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de la Porte Doree is located a few metro stops from the city's main tourist centre and is close to the Bois de Vincennes, where you can enjoy a morning run or a lakeside picnic with your children. From the hotel, you can walk to the centre of Paris along the ancient Roman viaduct, transformed into an elevated garden best known as the "coulée verte". Numerous bus and metro lines near the hotel offer quick and easy access to the city's top tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de la Porte Doree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Porte Doree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing