We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de la Porte Doree
Ranked #276 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel is clean and beautiful with classical decoration. They are also friendly and have good service. Although there is no private parking space, it's not difficult to find one. It's closed to metro and there are several restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JojoTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    285
    60
    13
    5
See reviews for
156
293
56
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weifang, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very helpful staff, lovely decoration. However, the cheapest rooms are really tiny compared to what i expected from the pictures I have seen.
You are just next to the Promenade plantee. A walk there is a lovely way to start a sunny day in Paris, absolutely gorgeous...
The breakfast is a delight, really worth the price!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rouroubila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willows, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We really enjoyed staying in this hotel so close to the Metro that took us to the sights in Paris. The neighborhood was a "regular" neighborhood away from the tourist areas and we really enjoyed being there. There were amazing bakeries and small groceries with beautiful produce right on the block. The hotel staff were very helpful and the hotel has very nice decor. The rooms are small, but modern and very clean. I think you get a lot for the price at this place.

Room Tip: The elevator is tiny, so if you prefer the stairs, stay on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargieP460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I found the hotel very quaint and the size adequate. Truly, the shower is what bumps this up into the average range: wonderful pressure and temperature, and beautifully done. It also has great access to the metro. However, I had many other issues with the hotel. First, there was a distinct sewage smell that happened almost every night. Perhaps the plumbing should be checked out? We were on the second floor and I could actually feel the floor rumble with the metro- it definitely kept me up at night. Finally, it was incredibly hot during our stay. They have a thermostat but they have disabled the customer from dropping it down below a certain degree. After sweating all day, I needed it cooler. This was truly a bit of a disappointment with all the good I had read about the hotel. My husband and I were celebrating our honeymoon here and I certainly wouldn't recommend it for that. Overall for the price, i'd say it was average or a little below.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Small hotel. Elevator is tiny along with the shower. It feels you are unable to move. Service was OK. Bakery across the street is great along with the supermarket. My husband did not find the bed comfortable. Breakfast not included. Room size was decent. Door keys need to be updated. WiFi not the best. you need a daily code. Easy access to metro.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Exquisitey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in Feb '14. Although it isn't smack bang in the middle of Paris, its not too far from the main attractions.
An approx 15min subway ride will take you from the hotel to central Paris. There is a Metro station literally right outside the hotel. A matter of steps away.

The hotel is in a lovely location, not spoiled with tourism. It feels like a lovely local neighbourhood.

There is a McDonalds across the street and a Subway next door, for those who like to indulge in fast-food franchises.

The hotel itself is beautifully decorated. The rooms are quite small, but have everything needed & expected in a modern day hotel. Im guessing most hotels in Paris have small rooms anyway, so we knew what to expect. The elevator/lift is without question the smallest Ive ever seen. It wasn't an issue at all, quite amusing though.

Jerome on the front desk was extremely pleasant and helpful with our questions. He and another lady (with an American accent) didn't catch her name unfortunately. She was great too.
Jerome directed us to a local park on one of our days, way outside any tourist zone. It was beautiful. Around 25 mins on the tram.

Our room & bedding etc was changed regularly. Couldn't fault the service. If ever in Paris again I would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank average_joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend in Paris for the Tour de France. The hotel is great, nice local run hotel feel but not too small to feel like you're intruding. We were in room 18 on the second floor. The room was clean and spacious and cleaned daily. The big double window opened right up for us to get that paris life feel.
The location is great for the metro, literally out the front of the hotel however for this same reason there is some noise from the metro. It didn't bother us but if you're a light sleeper then it might bother you. I'd recommend passing on breakfast and going to the boulangerie opposite the hotel, croissant and pan au chocolat to die for!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyharrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel du Printemps
Hotel du Printemps
#227 of 1,801 in Paris
930 reviews
Hotel du Prince Eugene
#165 of 1,801 in Paris
1,249 reviews
Home MODERNE
#270 of 1,801 in Paris
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Fred Hotel
Fred Hotel
#244 of 1,801 in Paris
749 reviews
Gobelins
La Manufacture
La Manufacture
#260 of 1,801 in Paris
1,576 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel L'interlude
Hotel L'interlude
#446 of 1,801 in Paris
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Porte Doree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Porte Doree

Property: Hotel de la Porte Doree
Address: 273 avenue Daumesnil, 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Paris
#32 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#157 Business Hotel in Paris
#212 Family Hotel in Paris
#383 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Porte Doree 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de la Porte Doree is located a few metro stops from the city's main tourist centre and is close to the Bois de Vincennes, where you can enjoy a morning run or a lakeside picnic with your children. From the hotel, you can walk to the centre of Paris along the ancient Roman viaduct, transformed into an elevated garden best known as the "coulée verte". Numerous bus and metro lines near the hotel offer quick and easy access to the city's top tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de la Porte Doree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Porte Doree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing