We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le 1er Etage Marais
Ranked #2 of 132 Paris B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I spent seven nights here the second week in June. It was very well appointed and the hosts were helpful and not intrusive at all. The location was great and it was easy to get to all the major attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nocofam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    36
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
183
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed for 5 days for business myself and sightseeing for my wife.
1. Metro was reasonably close and about 5 min walking enjoying various shops.
2. Interior was chic, meticulously set and decorated with efficient space utilization.
3. Breakfast was good, not unnecessarily heavy and never fed up despite 5 days' stay with fresh juice, coffee, fruits, cheese, ham, jamon, goat cheese and various croissants.
4. The landlord and lady were both very friendly, caring, considerate and honest as you would expect of a good natured human.

You would find a luxury room in the middle of old street Paris.
You should not expect spacious lobby, shiny marble floor, bell boy or room service ...but you can have fresh water, juice, coffee and some confectionaries anytime you like. That point was even better for us and felt like at home.

One demerit was WiFi which was very weak in our room that we better came out of our room for better connection.
Other than that we had perfect stay and pleasant experience while in Paris. I would not hesitate to stay here whenever in Paris. Thank you Madame and Monsieur.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lupusdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliette_1erEtage, Propriétaire at Le 1er Etage Marais, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review.

We are glad you and you wife enjoyed your stay and were able to mix business and sightseeing.

We hope to see you again for another trip in Paris.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We loved our stays at Hotel 1er Etage May and June 2014, 5 nights and return for 1 night prior to flying home. Although there is not a staff member on site at all times, help with reservations and advice was always just a call, text or email away.
Rooms are small but clean and well designed, airy and light. Breakfast is lovely with seasonal fruit salad, croissants, homemade jams, yogurt, cheese.
Location is great for exploring central Paris.

Room Tip: Room 1 has window on interior courtyard. Room 5 has window on the street which is busy at night, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliette_1erEtage, Propriétaire at Le 1er Etage Marais, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Susan

Thank you for your nice comments, it means a lot to us to have happy customers

We hope to see you again next year as there is still a lot to see in Paris !

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

First, the location is perfect- right in the center of the most live-full area of Paris (Le Marais). Although there are so many restaurants, bars and boutique shops at the area, the hotel is totally quiet and peaceful.

Second- the hospitality. The couple that runs the hotel is doing all they can to make you feel at home and "Parisian". The breakfast, which is included in the room rate, is an opportunity to meet with other guest, and mainly to get tips and advises from the hosts.

The rooms are comfortable and well decorated; everything is new (opened just at 2013); beverages and fruits are offered free for all day long, and everything is "saying"- you're very welcome.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsraelAri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliette_1erEtage, Propriétaire at Le 1er Etage Marais, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really pleased you liked our concept and enjoyed your stay with us... and you are indeed very welcome !

We hope to see you soon again for business or for pleasure for visiting Paris.

Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great staff, I also really enjoyed our room. A/C works great!!! Large bed. They let us check into our room early! That was so nice. We were exhausted from the travel. Very informative, assisted with us with a car to the airport. Also helped in some of the planning and ideas around Paris. Fabulous location near subway.

Great value for Paris.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bestbgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliette_1erEtage, Propriétaire at Le 1er Etage Marais, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such nice review. Yes we know our friends from USA love their A/C ... :-) so we made sure there is one in each of the room and in the reception ... and we had them verified before the hot season.

We hope to see you again soon

Juliette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A great experience for us to have found this B&B/hotel available for our 2 night stay in Paris. Having stayed in various hotels in Paris around Opera area before, we found this place a nice change away from crowded touristy area. Outside it is like normal apartment(you have to enter the security code, walk through a corridor and climbed the narrow stairs), but once stepped inside, it is totally new world. This is a new, quiet, clean B&B with chic design in every corner of the place, from the common living room all the way through the bed room. The breakfast is served at yourtable with full of high quality choices of croissant, baguette, cheese, parma ham, jams (including home-made secret recipes), and freshly grounded coffee. The special touch is to have a morning chat with Juliette, the charming host who is very knowledgeble and can give us many tips for nice french restaruant, vintage shops and places to visit around Marias. These are something we can't find in a regular hotel.

Room Tip: You can email to Juliette specifying your room preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliette_1erEtage, Propriétaire at Le 1er Etage Marais, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you for the nice review, and the nice pictures. 2 Nights is not enough :-) .. next time you come to Paris, maybe you can take more time ....there are many more places to discover and we will help you find them.

Best

Juliette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowtown, NZ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We enjoyed our two night stay very much. The hotel was stylish and ideally placed to explore the Marais with its great design shops, restaurants and bars. Despite being right in the middle of a lively night district, the apartment was quiet and relaxing. The breakfast was excellent and we were made most welcome by Serge and Juliette.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drkenbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliette_1erEtage, Propriétaire at Le 1er Etage Marais, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We would be very happy to welcome you again next year for your next french tour !

Juliette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel Dupond-Smith
Hotel Dupond-Smith
#6 of 1,802 in Paris
182 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#8 of 1,802 in Paris
218 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Le Relais des Halles
Le Relais des Halles
#12 of 1,802 in Paris
509 reviews
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#84 of 1,802 in Paris
183 reviews
Le Marais
Le Pavillon de la Reine
Le Pavillon de la Reine
#50 of 1,802 in Paris
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le 1er Etage Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le 1er Etage Marais

Property: Le 1er Etage Marais
Address: 38 rue Ste Croix de la Bretonnerie, 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1er Etage is a new concept in Paris that combines the comfort of a refined hotel and the charm of an authentic Parisian apartment. Each of the 5 rooms is unique and you will immediately feel like home in this exclusive place in the center of Paris. Breakfast is served in the living-room. We offer complementary soft drinks, coffee, tea and cookies to make your stay as relaxing and simple as possible ! 1er Etage offers Soundproof Rooms, Air Conditioning, Flat screen TV, en suite showers,and free of charge WIFI. Children under 12 cannot be accommodated at the hotel, and pets are not allowed. Our reception desk is open from 7:30 am to 1:30 pm, but access is possible 24/24 using a system of codes. An 'App' is made available to our guests before their arrival in order to prepare their trip. Ideally located in the heart of Le Marais in the Rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie, 1er Etage is the perfect base for visitors in Paris ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Le 1er Etage Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing