We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oozes L'Romance”
Review of L'Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'Hotel
Ranked #606 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2012

I had been to Paris several times prior to this trip, but I stayed at L'Hotel durting my first visit to Paris with my (now) wife. We stayed in the 'apartment' suite, which was exquisite. A little pricey, but worth the extra expense. We really enjoyed dining at Le Restaurant in the hotel, where the food was sumptious and the service was impeccable. Remember to reserve a table, even if you're staying at the hotel, as the restaurant books up quickly. We also enjoyed afternoon cocktails and evening night caps at Le Bar, which is cozy and romantic. But the show stopper for my wife and I was the Hammam pool and steam room downstairs, where you can book a private reservation. Absolutely wonderful. L'Hotel is a short walk to the Louvre, as well as up to rue de Buci , which is peppered with small resataurants and brasseries. Our favorite was L'Atlas, where you can spend your afternoon eating fresh seafood, drinking great French wine and conducting a heavy dose of people watching.

Room Tip: "The Apartment" is the suite to book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankFromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2012

Well I've been in the Regent in Hong Kong, and many other top hotels this one takes the cake for luxury and especially relaxing enviroment. The breakfast is spectacular. We did look personally at a couple of rooms and chose room 54- balcony over looking a really neat residential eclave, soaking tub huge room with basic satin wall covering I could go on and on but what I am getting is. 1 don't use a booking agency. Call the hotel and make some friends. They are incredibly friendly and helpful. Just a huge relaxing atmosphere. They got us into Jules Verne on no notice. Did get us cabs in the rain. I was actually recommended by another hotel front desk person to spend at least one night of my life there. What she did not know is that I had already booked one night. Finances allowing I and my wife agree we will be coming here every year for the rest of our lives. I did look at a second floor room 24 I think it was one of the nicest I had seen in Paris for the price but wanted to see the suite 54, Walked in the door and said DONE We travel in December so there is a lot of availablity in Paris but how lucky was this to get in one of the nicest places that we could easily afford. Did not have an opportunity to dine at L Restaurant but it is the #1 ranked in Paris how sweet is that.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We were stuck in a cafe in marais and needed a taxi back to the hotel as it was pouring down with rain. We rang the front desk and asked if they would arrange a taxi to take us back. They refused to do so and gave us a number to ring and arrange ourselves. We tried but as the phone menu was in french, which we didnt speak, we couldn't arrange one. We rang the hotel again but they again refused to assist. We ended up asking our waitress to call one which she pleasantly did and we tipped her extra for it. When we got back to the hotel, we asked the front desk why they couldnt have done what the waitress did and called us a taxi, they replied that if we were not there when the taxi arrived then the hotel would be liable for the bill, thus they would not call us one. Hence, we understood that while we're paying over Eur 600 a night for our room, we were not deemed good for a Eur 20 taxi bill that the cafe was willing to take the 'risk' for. Very poor service that we have not experienced travelling elsewhere around the world. We will be checking out other hotels in Paris with hopefully better service.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
8  Thank feevrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

A magical bar to have a drink in Paris. We sought out the hotel bar after learning about the history and the people who used to visit here. Heck, Oscar Wilde died in this hotel! The bar is absolutely stunning - they have a small bar with four stools and then lots of lovely seating areas. We were the only people in the entire bar, so it was a bit romantic - even we felt like rock stars!

We had two glasses of rose each, about 9 Euros (cocktails are expensive but it goes with the territory, I'm sure they are tasty). It was really a magical experience - I'd consider staying here now that I've enjoyed the bar and the service so much.

A really wonderful place for a historic cocktail - you never know, maybe Johnny Depp will stop in.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Lovely base in the center of Paris. Great charm and ambience, fabulous quirky rooms.
Very helpful staff but not easy to get served in the bar at times. Excellent location for restaurants and sightseeing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siamsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We didn’t stay here, but we stopped by for a Sunday afternoon drink. We wanted a place where we could sit, talk, and drink champagne and L’Hotel was fantastic. The service was exceptional (the staff recommended a cheaper champagne for us to order). We loved the fact that this was a hidden gem and that it was empty, as that is the ambiance that we were seeking. The cocktails were delicious as well and very elegantly served.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Carolina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

As an Independent business traveller journeying to Paris with a few days to relax - the last thing I needed was to be surrounded in romantic soft settings or covered with over ostenscious gold tapped decor. I accidentally came across a book of Parisian Hotels and decided to go find this 'cool, smart, secret enclave with a hint of louchness'. However, I had my doubts, after all this is the place where Monsieur Wilde quipped ‘either that wallpaper goes, or I do’. Thankfully the wallpaper has evolved, tastes have been refined and expectations have been surpassed - the L'Hôtel did deliver the goods and more. You can even bring your well behaved pets with you! The rooms are delightful - from themed and (almost) minimalist Mistinguette Chic to the very colourful Pierre Loti - Mignon, Bijoux, Grand, Chic. Not for die-hard modern design lovers, or for functionalists - as the street noise can be distracting (or richly ambient) The furniture and storage is limited but fine if your can think creatively and happy to invest $$$$$. Its also very helpful if you learn the phrase 'Je ne parle pas beaucoup de français.' (I don't speak much French) and usually at this point, depending on your pronunciation, whoever is serving you will switch to English and you can communicate your needs beautifully ...... This hidden gem is beautiful, and one of the coolest yet friendliest places to stay in Paris. J'Taime, J'Taime dans L'Hôtel Rue Des Beaux Arts 75006

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tassanum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris
Champs-Elysees
Prince de Galles, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Bel Ami Hotel
Bel Ami Hotel
#163 of 1,803 in Paris
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Notre Dame / Marais
Les Bains
Les Bains
#639 of 1,803 in Paris
252 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel

Address: 13 rue des Beaux Arts, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#179 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#341 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#421 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £271 - £654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your L'Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Paris
Lhotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing