We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place”
Review of L'Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
L'Hotel
Ranked #549 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights in June, we booked a standard mignon room which we knew would be tiny before we arrived but it was absolutely perfect! Beautiful products in the bathroom, together with really friendly and helpful staff made it a memorable experience. The hotels location in Saint Germain Des Pres is fantastic for walking across the river to The Louvre in about 10 minutes, and 15 minutes to Notre Dame. Do reserve the Hammaman in the basement, it's lovely, and try L'Resturant if you can, we managed to but only because there was a cancellation during our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blaze14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    88
    22
    12
    20
See reviews for
19
292
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed in no 16 Oscar Wildes old room, fabulous, with its own terrace we were hard pushed to venture out!
Do book time in the private Hammam a wonderful escape after the busy streets of Paris.
A very romantic experience.

Room Tip: Ask for no 16 as it has a small terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homerpcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monterey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I cannot say enough good things about our stay. This is a hotel for couples, not families. We booked the $385 room - second smallest - and it was perfect. The hotel is small, old, romantic and hidden away. Our room was old Paris, velvet covered walls, faint smell of cigarettes from years gone by ( not overwhelming if you hate cigarette smell like I do. Book yourself an hour in the basement cavern pool. There is an attached steam room and you will go back and forth between the two. So relaxing. We did it before dinner. Top notch service....Do not miss out on L'restaurant - worth every penny. We did the schefs 5 course with wine pairings.

Room Tip: We were in room 14, a bed that was a little smaller than an american king. no view per se. Easy walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed at L'Hotel for three nights and found it irresistible. Not only is it in a great location (St. Germain), it is truly unique in this day of cookie cutter hotels. It is reminiscent of the Deco days in Paris, with weirdly decorated rooms and history emanating from every wall. The room we stayed in was large, and had a balcony that could seat four for drinks. We loved everything about this hotel, including the accommodating and gracious staff. Oscar Wilde lived here for a time.....that about says it all.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRR055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed here two nights at the end of our 2 week vacation. The hotel is gorgeous and the staff were helpful and lovely. We had a smaller room, which was fine, though it felt the the decor had won over creating a practical space (ie. there was no place to set up your suitcase). We found this hotel to be a bit too expensive all the way around. The bar prices as well as the fact that breakfast (18 euro) is not included seemed excessive.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineMFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This trip to Paris we wanted L'Hotel as we had heard how remarkable the experience was. It certainly did not disappoint. We always stay Left Bank at Bel Ami or other small hotels. We felt like we were living in another era and the presence of Oscar Wilde and other famous people were with us! Staff lovely as well.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

L'Hotel... what a place to stay for a first visit to Paris. Right in the heart of medieval Paris surrounded by art galleries, cafes, cathedrals, museums, restraunts and bars. It was love at first sight.

We arrived early (8.00am) from Australia and our room was not ready. The hotel took care of our bags and we headed out to explore the area and find somewhere for breakfast. 2 minutes of walking leads us to a square with multiple cafe's to choose from. After coffee and croissant, we were feeling better and set off on a walk around St Germain, guided by nothing but our eyes and what was in front of us.

After stumbling across the Panthéon in the nearby Latin Quarter and seeing Foucault's pendulum (which demonstrated the rotation of the Earth), we made our way back to L'Hotel and had lunch in the excellent restaurant. Our room was declared ready so we headed upstairs.

First impressions: Lots of red, gold and dark wood, creating an atmosphere of classical french luxury. Lovely bathroom with checked black and white tiled floor, free standing bath, fluffy towels and robes.

The bed was comfortable with beautiful white linen sheets and warm blankets and superb pillows. The intricate headboard included carved wooden figures and a wonderful pitted mirror.

So the 'L' first stands for Love... I loved this hotel. It is romantic, historic (it used to be a palace for Frnech princess or queen) and our course Oscar Wilde lived here when banished from England. I loved the location... I loved the staff - so professional, friendly and helpful.

I discovered later that night that 'L' also stands for 'little' as I crashed around in the dark. As you expect in old hotels, the rooms are on the smaller side, particularly when you are used to modern spacious rooms.

But really that was my only complaint and seeing as you are hardly ever at the hotel (there is just so much to see in Paris) it's a problem that I am happy to live with.

5 out of 5 fluffy robes.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AaronEveringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Bel Ami Hotel
Bel Ami Hotel
#184 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Montalembert
Hotel Montalembert
#273 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Christine
Relais Christine
#61 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pont Royal
Hotel Pont Royal
#150 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel d'Aubusson
Hotel d'Aubusson
#30 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel

Property: L'Hotel
Address: 13 rue des Beaux Arts, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#179 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#313 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#421 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your L'Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Paris
Lhotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing