We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Hotel
Ranked #516 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2007

We booked a package here through Luxury Link, and stayed for three nights last week.

When we confirmed the dates last fall,, we had requested a room with a balcony, and were confirmed in the "Queen Hortense" room. When we reconfirmed two weeks ago (a good idea), we were told we were in a different room, sans balcony. I e-mailed back to them the earlier confirmation, and we were upgraded to the apartment on the top floor.

I won't repeat earlier reviews of this room; suffice it to say that it is indeed lovely, as is the rest of the hotel. While the bedroom was small, the king bed was wonderful and the linens divine. The "living room" was spacious, well-furnished, and full of light. The bathroom was charming, with a separate shower and high-end amenities.

The breakfast was just coffee, juice, and croissants, but a dinner we had at the hotel was great, among the best we've had in Paris. The hotel staff are uniformly responsive, gracious and helpful, and the location is perfect.

As much as we loved our stay at L'Hotel, I recognize that the experience was enhanced by the room we were given. With the going rate for the apartment at close to $1000/nt USD, I doubt that we would have selected it. We didn't see any of the other rooms, but given the size of each floor, I imagine that most are quite small as other reviewers have noted.

  • Liked — Location, decor, food, staffing, and amenities
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SMTORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    88
    22
    12
    20
See reviews for
19
292
28
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
phoenix, arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2007

After reading the pro and con reviews of this hotel, I was a little wary. We stayed one week, left for another destination for a week, and returned to L'Hotel for another two nights before going home. We had a standard room at 280 euros a night. The room was a decent size compared to other places we'd stayed in Paris, and the bathroom was very well designed and relatively large. They kept some of our luggage while we were gone for a week at no extra charge. The staff was helpful and friendly and the hotel has lots of history. Great location! The only thing I would note is that there is only one tiny elevator, and the spiral staircase may be a bit much for some. We had a room facing the courtyard which was very quiet, and the beds were very comfortable, making for a good nights rest.

  • Liked — Interesting rooms, great night's sleep
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank bueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2006

we stayed here for one night earlier in the week and it was FANTASTIC. The location is great and the hotel is unique in decor. we stayed in the Art Deco room which had the most amazing silver art deco bed that was in the centre of the room. The bathroom was huge and the bath was the best I have ever been in - the complimentary bath products were divine. We will definitely return and will make sure we make time for the romantic celler swimming pool. I cannot wait to return.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
11 Thank duffymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2006

We stayed for 4 days in September. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. They made reservations for us, printed us walking maps and were very attentive. The rooms were very small and quite funky, which we did expect. We stayed on the street side so the room would get a bit stuffy as opening the window allowed in too much noise and smoke. The AC was not working well. A ceiling fan or fan of some type would easily rectify this. The location was fabulous, quick walk to St Germain metro and Rue de Sant Germain as well as quick walk to the Seine and Louvre. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was expensive and not as good as the many local cafes. Great neighborhood close to shopping, cafes and art galleries. Overall not a bad hotel but slightly high priced for the room.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The room size
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bryandshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordova, TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2006

The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are gorgeous, but there is not even a shelf on which to put clothes or luggage. The room was small but made unlivable because of the clutter of day to day living from the suitcase that had to remain on the bed or in the floor. I expected small and expensive, but at least usable.

  • Liked — history
  • Disliked — storage
  • Tips/Secrets — don't stay there
  • Stayed April 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank louhoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2006

We arrived to check into hotel, were shown to our room The Mistinguet Room only to find the air conditioning not working and the room had a distinct odour of stale cigarettes. We were offered a 15oEuro reduction and a fan.
As the temperature was 80 plus and there seemed no immediate possibility that the air con would be fixed we asked to move hotels.
They found us a place at a sister hotel Relais Christine, equally expensive but very nice and the air con worked.
This visit was to celebrate an anniversary so although they were very charming and helpful it was not really a good experience.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank MariechettedeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2006

Very small room and very small bathroom, air conditioning didn't work, asked to change room and they said the rate would go from 280 euros per night to 600 euros per night, stayed one night and moved on down the street.

I have been to Paris and other places in Europe, so, I was not expecting a big room, but, this was, in a word, is "the pitts".

Would not recommend this hotel.

Walt Brown
Palm Spings, CA

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
12 Thank 991Wally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Bel Ami Hotel
Bel Ami Hotel
#195 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Montalembert
Hotel Montalembert
#317 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Christine
Relais Christine
#67 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pont Royal
Hotel Pont Royal
#150 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel d'Aubusson
Hotel d'Aubusson
#35 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel

Property: L'Hotel
Address: 13 rue des Beaux Arts, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#180 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#293 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#421 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your L'Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Paris
Lhotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing