We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Myself & My Son Trip to Paris”
Review of Palym Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palym Hotel
Ranked #548 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Myself and my Son Damien stayed in Hotel Palym Paris for 6 Days in Feburary 2014
I enjoyed Paris and the Hotel was just near the Metro Gare De Lyon i would stay at this hotel again i found the staff quite nice The Staff in Reception Sanya/ Emilie and Martin very nice and also the lady in Breakfast room i think Emile was her name just saying a big Hello
Michael & Damien Lacey in Wexford Ireland

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 54 Nice Balcony very nice i would like to see the the price of Bed & Breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichaelLacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

Close to the Gare de Lyon. Easy to find right off Diderot Blvd. Our friends were afraid for the 2 stars...they like more expensive places usually. They ended up with the gorgeous streetside room with casement windows that opened with a view of the train station. They loved it because it was immaculate and affordable. We loved our room even though it was tucked away without a view but we didn't care. We walked all day and didn't need the view...we wanted something with ac (which worked beautifully on a very hot July week) Close to two markets-Monoprix and another-and great little cafes of all kinds. El Pellicano was around the corner and we loved that, too. Excellent Italian food ...after a week of French food ,which we love, it was a nice change. The little cafes for breakfast nearby are great. The morning waiter at Deux Saveurs was a friend at the end of the week.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annieedh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Everything is excellent - clean,cozy room with a comfortable bed, very nice and helpfull staff.For parisian two stars hotel I found it very good.Location is cannot be better.Next my trip to Paris - I'm in Palym hotel.Would recommend to stay here to all travelers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ilana90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

In a nice quiet street but still so convenient for Gare de Lyon. Nice rooms and if you time it right there are hot croissants for breakfast! Good value. I have stayed here twice and would always use this hotel when stopping off on the way to Italy or Southern France.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Palym during late November to attend a concert at the Bercy arena. With the Gare de Lyon only a short walk away the location is excellent for access to the arena (1 stop away) as well as to the metro and RER.
The staff were very friendly on arrival checking us in very quickly. There is a spacious lounge area within the reception with information on Paris available.
The room was a good size for the centre of Paris with a double bed, desk, TV (only 1 English channel), shower bathroom and a small balcony.
Breakfast is offered for around 8 euros though we did not try this out instead opting to visit one of the nearby supermarket to grab some breakfast. There are lots of restaurants in the area as well as fast food outlets including Subway.
Overall i would definitely recommend this hotel - it was great value for money for being in the centre of Paris and its proximity to the Gare de Lyon was extremely helpful.

Room Tip: We had room 23 which had a street view balcony. With the window closed there was minimal noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The main draw of this hotel is that it is super close to the Gare de Lyon train station (trains to Switzerland & Southern France.) But otherwise the logistics are so so. This metro stop is not actually all that optimal for basic Paris tourism. There are a few buses that go in useful directions, but you really need to know what you are doing and do your homework to use them. It's maybe a 20 minute walk to the very fun Marais/Bastille district, but the hotel's immediate neighborhood itself isn't much of a draw.

The staff was competent, if not overly warm. They just seemed tired. The rooms are typical 2-star Paris small. Basic, clean and adequate. It was noisy, however, even in our interior rooms. Walls are typical 2-star thin. Our rate was not as great as other reviews seemed to get.

This hotel is a good choice if you want an easy way in from the airport (the very convenient Air France bus from CDG stops literally 50 meters from the hotel) then in a few days an easy way out on a TGV train from Gare de Lyon. This is particularly true if you have a lot of luggage.

However, for my next tourist trip to Paris I am going to try to stay in a more central and/or more fun neighborhood, like the 2nd arrondissement, Rue Cher, the Marais, or Montparnasse.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelinFieldGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The hotel has a nice location, just 50 meters from Gare de Lyon metro station, and there are several groceries, cafes and restaurants in the vicinity. Our room had adequate space for my family of 4, but with each of us having 2 bags each, every bit of space was occupied. The bathroom was surprisingly of adequate space considering how small European bathrooms go. There is a lift available which is excruciatingly slow. For the price paid, you would think breakfast should have been included but unfortunately it wasn't...but I guess Paris hotels in general don't come cheap.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Terminus Lyon
Hotel Terminus Lyon
#445 of 1,809 in Paris
1,157 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#944 of 1,809 in Paris
234 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV
Bercy / Nation
citizenM Paris Gare de Lyon
citizenM Paris Gare de Lyon
#258 of 1,809 in Paris
656 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Viator - Paris Gare de Lyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palym Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palym Hotel

Address: 4 rue Emile Gilbert | 12th Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#227 Family Hotel in Paris
#640 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £77 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palym Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palym Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palym Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing