We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a night stop if using the Gare de Lyon”
Review of Palym Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palym Hotel
Ranked #496 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Small tourist hotel very convenient for the railway station.
Basic room. No safe.
Ideal for a night stop or tourists on a budget - close to metro, RER, and bus routes.
Free Wi-Fi. Lift
Basic buffet breakfast @ €8 {2014}
Helpful staff
Will call for a taxi.

Room Tip: The hotel is situated in a back street far enough away from the main roads for noise not to be a pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tankerton1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

I have stayed at the Hotel Palym twice when I was in Paris. The hotel is older but well cared for. Like most European hotels, the rooms are smaller but the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms are clean. When in Paris you should only be in your room to sleep and shower anyway, so large rooms are overrated. On our most recent trip we did not get the breakfast. We bought it on our first trip there about 5 years ago and then realized it was a better idea to stop a a local bakery for breakfast.
The best thing about this hotel, besides the wonder, friendly, English speaking staff, is the fact that is is literally located across the street from Gare de Lyon. This makes getting around Paris a snap, including going to and from the airport. The airport shuttle stops here.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor because the elevator is very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Paris was our first stop on our two week adventure and four of us (My mom, sister, a mutual friend and myself) stayed Hotel Palym for two nights. Having four of us in a room was a little tight, but there was still room for luggage and for us to move around. We had a small balcony facing the street and we could see Gare de Lyon and its big clock.
The room was very clean along with the linens and bath towels. Housekeeping was very good and each day would come in a tidy up and bring fresh towels. the shower was great and the water pressure was strong. Upon walking into the lobby the staff greets you in a friendly manner. The staff is also very helpful in giving directions or calling a cab to bring you to the airport. The atmosphere is very relaxed and being on a quiet street is beneficial for a good night sleep and to help decompress from a busy day.
The location of the hotel and its proximity to Gare de Lyon makes getting around the city very easy. There are also plenty of restaurants located around the hotel that offer a variety of choices.
Overall the hotel was very clean, comfortable, and friendly and for the price each night it is very worth it. It is not a five star hotel, but it has everything one would need and it seems to have been renovated recently. We all agreed that we would stay here again the next time we are in Paris.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mekingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We spent our first night in Paris at Hotel Palym, as we just flew in from the USA and were headed to Avignon, via a train from Gare de Lyon. This hotel is very nice and a convenient location for the Metro, the trains at Gare de Lyon, and for getting to and from Paris from CDG Airpor. The rooms were clean, nicely appointed and quiet. The hotel is on a quiet street. The Wifi is FREE. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They were very forgiving of my French, which I just learned. This was my first opportunity to speak and hear French. There are good dining choices in the neighborhood, and a street market on Thursdays on Avenue Ledru-Rollin, just a couple of blocks away. We took an evening walk to the Seine River and around the neighborhood and felt very safe. I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend it if you are looking for a good place to stay at a good value, considering you are in Paris, which is very expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CRMotorbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Situated two hundred meters from Gare de Lyon the hotel suited us perfectly as we had travelled from Vienna by train to Paris. We found the hotel staff to be friendly & helpful. Our room located on the 5th floor was rather small but clean & comfortable with a small balcony providing a view of the street & Gare de Lyon. There are many restaurants located just a short walk from the hotel & the local metro station is close by.
We stayed 3 days at the hotel. We had breakfast ( separate cost)) at the hotel the first morning which we found overpriced for the quality served, accordingly we found a local cafe for the following two breakfasts.

Room Tip: We found the sole elevator in the building to be very ,very slow so perhaps a room on one of the low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NePat1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was our first visit to Paris. This hotel is small however it is located next to a major train station and the area is perfect to get around Paris. Very friendly people. If you need internet, go around the corner to one of the small food shops.

Room Tip: Call ahead. Get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor. Elevator is tiny so you'll have to take the spi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huskertraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Palym with several friends and thought it had a great location, just steps from the Gare de Lyon, and a quick walk or metro ride to prime locations. The room was clean, beds were comfortable and firm, and there were many cafes nearby where you could get breakfast (cheaper than the hotel). The staff at the front desk were helpful too. The only negative I had was that there is no shower curtain and the shower head is one of the hand held ones so the bathroom can get quite wet, though I guess this is typical of mid-level hotels in Europe.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Terminus Lyon
Hotel Terminus Lyon
#455 of 1,802 in Paris
1,055 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV
Bercy / Nation
Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
#605 of 1,802 in Paris
357 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#921 of 1,802 in Paris
229 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
#447 of 1,802 in Paris
2,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palym Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palym Hotel

Address: 4 rue Emile Gilbert | 12th Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#473 Family Hotel in Paris
#640 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £81 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palym Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Palym Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palym Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing