We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
Ranked #426 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
172 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

First trip to Paris and this couldn't have been a better choice for hotel. Front desk staff was easy to approach. Great advice on restaurants, many in walking distance. Had a map to draw for each location. Metro stop close by. Many sites within walking distance. No street noise at night. Library stocked with soft drinks, wine and spirits throughout the day. Great breakfast in Library as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljim007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca_La_Mastra, General Manager at Hotel Esprit Saint Germain, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Travel Jim, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment on Trip Advisor. Our goal is to have satisfied and happy guests and if we contributed to making your stay in Paris a pleasant one and a nice memory, we are very happy. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again on property. Francesca La Mastra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    49
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
56
122
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This hotel is in a lovely part of Paris.The service was excellent,.All the staff were very helpful and
attentive. All arrangements were made seamlessly nothing was too much trouble.Breakfasts were
of a very high standard. Definitely a hotel I'll use again on my next trip to Paris.The open bar was a pleasant surprise.Many very good restaurants in the area It was a pleasure visit the city again.
Pity I couldn't stay to see the Bastille Day Parade.

Room Tip: rooms are very comfortable with excellent air conditoning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitleywarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca_La_Mastra, General Manager at Hotel Esprit Saint Germain, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Whitley Worrier, Thank you for taking the time to write your very nice comments on our property. What a pleasure to hear that you would stay again with us on your next trip to Paris. We'll be looking forward to welcoming you again .... maybe for Bastille day next year? Best regards, Francesca La Mastra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed at Hotel Esprit Saint Germain for the last 4 nights of our honeymoon. We arrived at the airport in Paris and got in the taxi line to head for the hotel. We were greeted by a friendly hotel employee and he led us into one of the comfortable, "living rooms" with a glass of champagne. Our hotel room was small (no dresser to unpack) but clean and had all of the essentials one might need when staying at a hotel. It was cute that they left fresh fruit in the room every day after they cleaned the room. St Germain is a nice area. Not too touristy, so you get the feeling of "real Paris." It is a quick stroll from the hotel down to Jardin du Luxembourg and the famous chocolatier / pastry chef Pierre Hermé (yum!) We were able to walk to Musée d'Orsay from the hotel as well as the Seine. The area felt really safe and there are a ton of restaurants and shops all around the hotel. Next time we visit Paris, I think I would enjoy staying in Le Marais. It seemed to us that the Marais area was a little funkier / younger than the St Germain area. We ended up spending a lot of time in this neighborhood. Not that St Germain was bad at all.... it would just be a completely different experience staying in a different area. Hotel Esprit Saint Germain is in a great location and we saw a lot on either foot or by taxi. We did not make it to Montmarte.... we had 4 days in Paris and never made it this far north from the hotel. At times we felt like the only people staying in the hotel which was great! The bar w/ bottles of champagne was a great touch and I loved making myself mimosas while enjoying my breakfast pastries from Gérard Mulot which is located just around the corner from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SparklePanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This hotel recommended by our travel agent. She was right it is a great spot. Staff very, very helpful and friendly. Best aspect is the public spaces which are like your living room. Breakfast lovely and free drinks in "bar" like area.

Room, even with upgrade, was really quite small, even for Paris, at least at these rates. Hard to walk around your suitcases. Good, free WiFi which is a definite plus.

Would definitely return for the atmosphere alone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCSCarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Centre of Paris, security, outstanding service, beautiful accommodation, terrace, open bar and mini fridge, delicious silver service breakfast, personalised maps for wherever you wish to go, appointments made...nothing is too much trouble. I adore Paris and the overwhelming experience was made all the lovelier by returning each day to such a warm, welcoming second home. RS

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSL930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Friends recommended this luxury boutique hotel to us and we were not disappointed. It only has 28 rooms which gave it a very cozy and intimate feel - very Paris. Our room had a living room and a balcony. The staff were professional and friendly at all times. Located close to many cafes and restaurants, and also a short distance from Notre Dame. Perfect for couples.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pswander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Our travel agent raved about this boutique hotel, and sure enough, when we got to reception we were convinced of her advice. Then we were shown to the room! We were paying close to $700 a night and were given a room that reminded one of a very small cabin on a ship. There wasn't room to turn around, much less unpack. It became necessary for us to upgrade to a suite, as there were no larger rooms available. The price was out of line with accommodations that I have booked all over the world. This was an unpleasant experience and one I would caution travelers to avoid. There are too many other hotels in Paris that give much more value for money.

Room Tip: I would if I could have found one. The suites were OK, but just that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masticate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Bel Ami Hotel
Bel Ami Hotel
#184 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Recamier
Hotel Recamier
#309 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Montalembert
Hotel Montalembert
#263 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Louis 2
Hotel Louis 2
#571 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#102 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esprit Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esprit Saint Germain

Property: Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
Address: 22 rue Saint Sulpice, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Spa Hotel in Paris
#164 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#260 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#271 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Esprit Saint Germain 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain has been designed along the lines of a private residence. 28 rooms and suites ideally situated in the heart of Paris, on the Left Bank in SAINT GERMAIN DES PRES, between the « JARDIN DU LUXEMBOURG » and the « BOULEVARD SAINT-GERMAIN » where literary and artistic legends surrounding Paris were written. Nothing ostentatious, just an elegant, convivial « atmosphere » of comfort and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Esprit Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esprit Saint Germain Paris
Esprit Saint Germain Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing