We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Boutique Hotel on Left Bank”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
Ranked #386 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Fantastic small hotel in the 6th Arr on a small charming quiet street, just off of Boulevard St. Germain. Great location in the heart of the left bank, walking distance to Louvre, Notre Dame, many shops, patisserie, fromagerie & wonderful restaurants. The front desk staff was very kind and attentive, and they were able to assist us with a few restaurant reservations. We stayed in a Superior room which had a king bed and was very comfortable, only wish the bathroom had been a bit larger but a small bathroom is fairly standard all over Europe so it was not unexpected. A typical French breakfast is served in the lounge area every morning (croissant, cheese, charcuterie), with complimentary self-serve wine & beer in the evening.

Nearby recommendations: La Grand Cremerie (wine bar with delicious food), L'Avant Comptoir (wine and very tasty small plates, small counter with standing only but a cool neighborhood experience), Pierre Herme (for macaroons, chocolates, etc), Bar du Marche (cool, young crowd) and right around the corner is Fish La Boisonnerie (delicious restaurant.)

We've just returned home and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca_La_Mastra, General Manager at Hotel Esprit Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Caroline,
I just wanted to thank you very much for taking the time to write this nice review following your stay with us. We will be looking forward to welcoming you back in the future on property for more discoveries of our beautfiful city. Best regards, Francesca La Mastra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

Absolutely lovely boutique hotel. First-floor lounge area, complete with breakfast, makes the hotel very homey and welcoming. Wonderful location. And Francesca and team are terrific; every recommendation, from restaurants to running routes, was perfect. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask about the room size; some are a bit small.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This hotel is ideal for your stay in Paris. Perfect for walking to tourist sites. It is centrally located, the rooms are very nice, the service is great. They also have a lounge stocked with food and top shelf liquor, wine and champagne at no additional cost. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank olenodak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Unfriendly uninterested staff
We almost turned around at the front desk within five minutes after arrival
Minute little rooms and bathrooms done out in dreary browns, cheap fabrics
400 Euros per night
We booked for seven nights but left after two.
They made us feel that guests are an irritation and a nuisance
Five stars!!?

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ConnieFinnemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca_La_Mastra, General Manager at Hotel Esprit Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Connie Finnemore,

I am really sorry to read that your experience of our property was not a positive one.

My Duty Manager advised that she offered you a glass of champagne upon arrival and, after showing you the hotel facilities and your room, you decided not to stay any longer with us.

I understand the hotel was not what you imagined, since your preference goes for more classic-type hotels with a traditional atmosphere, as you said.

Once again, may I say how sincerely sorry I am. We always do our utmost to please our guests, and most of them love our special concept of “home away from home”

On another hand, I hope you enjoyed staying on the left bank of our beautiful Paris.

Best regards,
Francesca La Mastra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and were treated like royalty. The service was great from beginning to end. The room was small, but that is to be expected in Paris and the lobby more then made up for it. The two rooms on the ground floor were warm and inviting for you to sit and chat, have a drink and read a book. Breakfast was top quality and filling enough to last you way past lunch.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meditaranean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca_La_Mastra, Manager at Hotel Esprit Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Meditaranean,
We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and spent a lovely honeymoon in Paris. Our goal is to always have satisfied guests and we thank you for taking the time to share your nice experience in Paris. Best regards, Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

had a great stay last weekend at this hotel. we were a group of ladies that doesnt often get to see each other. this place was fabulous for our special catch up. the complimentary champagne in the cosy lounge in front of the open fire was perfect. The breakfast was of great quality and i can highly recommend the scambled eggs. Rooms can be on the small side however the location makes up for it and we ended up spending more time in the lounge than the bedrooms anyway. Lovely place and i will be happy to recommend to others.

Room Tip: perhaps book a higher category of room if you need some good space.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barcelona77barcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Esprit St Germain is worth every euro. Excellent location. Close to the Metro and Lexington Gardens for an early morning run. Front desk staff very accommodating even when we had to cancel reservations the hotel
made for us. Wi Fi was excellent and breakfast was perfect. Après Shopping in the library with a glass of wine was a perfect end to the day.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank emjar1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Montalembert
Hotel Montalembert
#83 of 1,803 in Paris
666 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Bel Ami Hotel
Bel Ami Hotel
#173 of 1,803 in Paris
1,186 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Recamier
Hotel Recamier
#283 of 1,803 in Paris
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#107 of 1,803 in Paris
1,086 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#105 of 1,803 in Paris
387 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pont Royal
Hotel Pont Royal
#151 of 1,803 in Paris
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esprit Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esprit Saint Germain

Address: 22 rue Saint Sulpice, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Spa Hotel in Paris
#164 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#249 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#271 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £265 - £686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Esprit Saint Germain 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain has been designed along the lines of a private residence. 28 rooms and suites ideally situated in the heart of Paris, on the Left Bank in SAINT GERMAIN DES PRES, between the « JARDIN DU LUXEMBOURG » and the « BOULEVARD SAINT-GERMAIN » where literary and artistic legends surrounding Paris were written. Nothing ostentatious, just an elegant, convivial « atmosphere » of comfort and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Esprit Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esprit Saint Germain Paris
Esprit Saint Germain Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing