We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Esprit Saint Germain is FABULOUS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
Ranked #399 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Esprit Saint Germain is FABULOUS”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Upon my 5th stay, I once again must stress how great this little gem of a hotel is in the heart of the Left Bank. It is so charming and includes a beautiful living room for all the guests with complimentary champagne and wine!! WOW! Rooms are not large, but Very well appointed and the hotel is very well maintained. Service was great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baylorgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    52
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
58
127
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The Hotel Esprit Saint Germain is located in the 6th arrondissement, on the left bank of the River Seine, and very near the St. Sulpice Church and Square. The 6th arrondissement is known for its intellectual tradition, prestigious history, beautiful architecture, numerous art galleries, and it's one of the most fashionable and expensive most districts of Paris. The hotel is on a small street with wonderful boutiques and many good restaurants. It's a great, central location.

I had a chance to meet Mme. Laurence Tafanel, the owner of the Hotel Esprit Saint Germain at a conference. In 2001 she purchased the building where the hotel resides and spent more than $17 million in renovations. When you walk through the hotel you can see her in every room.

For a 5-star luxury hotel, the Esprit Saint Germain may be considered small - only 28 rooms - yet it was designed to feel like a French residence, a truly Parisian experience. And it certainly does feel like a home, from the welcoming fireplace in the entry area to the beautiful breakfast area. But it also has all the features and amenities you would expect in a 5-star luxury hotel.

The Hotel Esprit Saint Germain has wonderful FREE amenities including • American breakfast daily • Complimentary Bar in the lobby with champagne, wines, spirits • Mini bar in the room • Internet • Access to the Fitness centre (Steam room and Sauna) • Access to the business center • Newspaper of your choice • Flowers and fresh fruits every day • and the price Includes 10% VAT tax, other taxes and service. Hard to find all that in Paris...

Also, if you book through a Virtuoso travel advisor, you can get these additional Virtuoso amenities: Upgrade on arrival, subject to availability • Daily full breakfast, for up to two in room guests • Choice of red or white wine in room on arrival with a plate of assorted French cheeses, baguette and crackers • Departure gift of Butter cookies from famous bakery Poilane and bottle of mineral water • Early check-in/late check-out, subject to availability.

Before my arrival I had numerous conversations with Djenane Poidatz, the Front Reception Manager. When we arrived on-site, Ms. Poidatz was the consummate host as she provided an in-depth tour of the property. She was engaging and very knowledgeable. Together, she and I spent more than 90 minutes wandering through rooms, discussing amenities and features, and getting a glimpse into the behind-the-scenes goings-on that make this one of my favorite hotels.

The hotel was fully booked during this Christmas visit, but Ms. Poidatz coordinated our visit prior to check-in time so I was able to see multiple rooms. The choice of rooms at the Hotel Esprit Saint Germain include: Classic Room • Superior Room • Deluxe Room • Prestige Room • Prestige with Private Terrace • Suite with 2 bathrooms & a walk-in closet • Penthouse Suite with Private Terrace.

I liked the Prestige Room with the private terrace...

As you would expect in a 5-star luxury hotel, the rooms have these features: flat screen TV’s, DVD & CD player, Ipod/Iphone dock, high speed internet access, air conditioning, minibar, tea & coffee facilities, safety deposit box with an internal electrical socket, desk office set up, cordless phone, direct outside line, hair dryer, bathrobes, slippers. and Etro toiletries. The rooms are all non smoking.

We had a wonderful visit.... The reception and concierge staff are extremely helpful. Need a taxi, they'll call one for you. Restaurant recommendations - no problem. Staying here is like staying in a friend's Parisian home. More than just comfortable, it's relaxing. If you want a glass of champagne, wine and cheese, newspapers, fresh fruit, bread, croissants, specialty meats, cheeses, and french yogurt.... this hotel provides all this - complimentary! The Esprit Saint Germain is elegant, sophisticated, classy, and understated.

http://ow.ly/wHDWg

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floors to get a view of Paris. The Prestige room with the private terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPT1887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

First time in Paris and disappointed in the hotel. My husband and I stayed for four nights from 4/28/14-5/2/14. Rooms are very small (we were in room 305), toilets are claustrophobic! Mini bar in the room is stocked with only one of each item, so good luck if you both want an orange juice in the morning.
The hotel is “ok” at best and not worth the high price of the room. The staff is not overly friendly and not anxious to assist with questions or recommendations. The lounges are very nice and are the best asset of this hotel with the complimentary bar. Beware of the taxis, the meter starts at 6-8 euros before you leave the hotel (something the hotel staff neglected to mention, that this is customary). There is a taxi stand around the corner (again something the hotel staff neglected to mention – we saw it on our way to the train station leaving Paris).
Breakfast is minimal and more “Continental” than “American”. The service, again, is not overly friendly – with a morning greeting of “do you want eggs this morning?” (No other choices on the menu for hot food)
There are some nice small shops in the vicinity and a Pierre Herme store close by.
There is only one staff member that stood out and I regret that I did not get her name. She has dark hair at the front desk and was the only staff member that was personable. We were there for May Day and I was talking to her about the Lily of the Valley flowers. She deserves a commendation and I am sorry that I cannot mention her by name.
I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkTraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca_La_Mastra, General Manager at Hotel Esprit Saint Germain, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear NewYorkTraveler001

I thank you for your comment and I am sincerely sorry for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay with us.
Our goal is to have happy guests that want to come back. Our nice « home away from home » concept is always very much appreciated.

As you already know, the rooms on the left bank can be small as we are located in an historical area.
Our houses are from the 17th or 18th century.
We have several categories of rooms of different size, from 195 sq ft up to 400 sq ft for our suites with 2 bathrooms and a walk-in dressing. We have as well one 450 sq ft Penthouse suite with a beautiful terrace overlooking the Saint Sulpice Church.

As you well said, we have two lounges with 24 hours complimentary bars.
The minibar in the room is complimentary as well. It is refilled everyday with 10 different drinks. You are always welcomed to ask for your preference combination of drinks to our team, which is available 24 hours.

My team is always happy to help, discreet as per our guests request and professional.

In Europe we consider having the toilets separate from the main bathroom as an extra comfort. But, we do have on property few rooms with toilets inside the bathroom.

As per the taxi fare upon arrival, this is customary in Paris as you well said. The counter starts to run from the moment the taxi is called. I apologize for my team that omitted to give you this information. Our guest guide in the room mention this point. We usually do not recommend the taxi stand, which is at 2 minutes walk from the property unless our guests ask for one. In fact, we never have the insurance there will be a taxi available at the time you will need one.

As per the breakfast we always cook the eggs your way, on the spot, so you can enjoy them warm and fresh.

Finally, I am glad you enjoyed the Lily of the Valley flowers we offered on may first to each of our guests to bring you good luck for the year, as this is a lovely tradition in France.

I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful Paris, and particularly the left bank.

Warm regards
Francesca La Mastra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

One thing you quickly realize in Paris is that space is tight - cafes, roads, restaurants. Hotels are no different. I suspect no matter where we stayed, the quarters would feel tight based on our North American standards. We stayed in room 501 which had a little balcony with a table and 2 chairs - it was nice to have that additional space.

This is a very quaint hotel with many wonderful amenities. They have an open bar most of the day with wine, champagne, tea, coffee and soft drinks. Breakfasts are served in the lounge as well (rooms are too small to eat comfortably in and it was raining most of the time, so no eating on our balcony).

Our room felt dark and small. The bed was comfortable, the pillows were not. The bathroom was hot and tight. The shower and tub are combined and the water pressure from the shower could sand blast a building - it was a painful experience. The blow dryers are also very low end. It overheated quickly and stopped working for 20 minutes and the nozzle wouldn't stay on. The bathroom decor is also pretty dreary and in need of a refresher - too much dark brown.

It sounds negative but ultimately our stay there was comfortable and positive. Lovely staff. The location really does make this boutique hotel. It's an easy fabulous walk to everything - from shops to the Louvre. Our balcony, when it wasn't raining, was wonderful and made us feel like residents - such picturesque views up and down the rue. What it lacks in space is made up for in charm, location and service.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony/terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca_La_Mastra, General Manager at Hotel Esprit Saint Germain, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Pauline T,

Our guests’ feedback is very helpful and important to us.

Our goal is to always have happy guests and we will take into consideration your comments on the water pressure and uncomfortable pillows.

Following this review about the rooms, please know that hotel rooms on the Left Bank are usually small. The houses and buildings are older and smaller on this side of the river. Hotel Esprit Saint-Germain is located in an 18th century building on a small, quiet street in the Saint-Germain area of the left bank.
The building is historic and protected. When the owner brought the property, she literally broke down the walls and rebuilt it from the inside to modernize and create as much space as possible in the rooms and bathrooms.
She only kept the original facade and 18th century beams. The blow dryers are low and turn off quite quickly for security reasons imposed by the European norms.

We still hope that you had a nice stay with us and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on property in the future.
Best regards

Francesca LA MASTRA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We booked three nights at the hotel and enjoyed the break there. Very friendly staff. Room was clean and bright. Enjoyed the free bubbly served in the lounge. The location is just right. If I had slight niggle it would be the chairs were a bit low to eat breakfast comfortably.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkpotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca_La_Mastra, General Manager at Hotel Esprit Saint Germain, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear JKpotters,
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice comment on your stay with us.
We are certainly very happy to know that you had a pleasant stay and hope to welcome you again soon on property. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Don't let the "small room" comments you may read here keep you away from this hotel. Paris has small rooms, but the ones here are just perfect...because you'll be right smack in the middle of the greatest neighbourhood in Paris, feeling like your spending a few days with friends. The staff, reception rooms and the overall ambience are just perfection. We won't consider any other hotel for our next trip to Paris!

Room Tip: Go for a larger suite if you're worried about size...the cost won't kill you, after all Pari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penrhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca_La_Mastra, General Manager at Hotel Esprit Saint Germain, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Penrhos,
How nice and touching to read such a wonderful comment.
One of our greatest pleasures is to hear that we reached our goal when we hear that we contributed to make your stay in Paris a memorable one. Please know that we are all looking forward to welcoming you again in your “new home away from home”. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My daughter and I booked a deluxe room for 5 nights at a not inexpensive rate. On arrival, we were shown to the smallest room I have ever seen. The first night felt like sleeping in a boat at best, a coffin at worst. When we tried to switch rooms, we were told unsympathetically that this was all they had and we would have to pay for 2 nights even if we switched hotels. My husband who was in the States emailed them later that night to request a change for us. Whether it was because it was a man who asked or a room magically appeared, the next morning Francesca the manager (who is lovely and had not been there the evening we arrived) showed us another room in the same category which, while still not large, was perfectly fine. The rest of the hotel was great. Really nice lounge areas on the first floor with generous breakfast and wine in the evening, and a location that can't be beat. I would probably stay here again. Just be really careful about the size of the room you are getting.

Room Tip: We were in an 05 and an 06 room. Can't remember which was which, but ask them. Avoid the small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMRye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca_La_Mastra, Manager at Hotel Esprit Saint Germain, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Mrs LMRYE,
Just a small note to thank you for the nice comments you made and to let you know that I am really glad that your daughter and yourself enjoyed your stay with us after the first night.
We will be looking forward to welcoming you again on property.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Montalembert
Hotel Montalembert
#149 of 1,801 in Paris
613 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Bel Ami Hotel
Bel Ami Hotel
#176 of 1,801 in Paris
1,137 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Recamier
Hotel Recamier
#302 of 1,801 in Paris
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#104 of 1,801 in Paris
1,076 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Louis 2
Hotel Louis 2
#564 of 1,801 in Paris
433 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#106 of 1,801 in Paris
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esprit Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esprit Saint Germain

Property: Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
Address: 22 rue Saint Sulpice, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Spa Hotel in Paris
#164 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#253 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#271 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Esprit Saint Germain 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain has been designed along the lines of a private residence. 28 rooms and suites ideally situated in the heart of Paris, on the Left Bank in SAINT GERMAIN DES PRES, between the « JARDIN DU LUXEMBOURG » and the « BOULEVARD SAINT-GERMAIN » where literary and artistic legends surrounding Paris were written. Nothing ostentatious, just an elegant, convivial « atmosphere » of comfort and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Esprit Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esprit Saint Germain Paris
Esprit Saint Germain Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing