We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alba Opera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alba Opera Hotel
Ranked #930 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Fantastic little hotel in a quiet yet very accesible location in the 9th.

We had a junior suite for 4 which consisted of 2 rooms + bathroom and kitchenette and was perfect for our family of 4. The hotel is family run, extremely friendly and with charming (yet, as another reviewer said, quirky) decor.

This has become our favourite hotel in Paris, and we'd certainly go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    110
    47
    11
    6
See reviews for
60
117
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

My wife and I spent 5 days in Paris at the end of July/beginning of August 2012 and had booked this hotel mostly because of it's location near Montmartre but also based on reviews here (and probably because it's claim to fame: that Louis Armstrong stayed here).

It's situated in a dead end, in a street that we found was not marked on most maps so thank God we had a GPS (iPad) with us at all times or we would have struggled to find it. That's not a complaint though, in fact we liked the location as there was no traffic.

When we first arrive we were at first surprised to see that our room looked like a tiny Paris apartment from before World War II. We quickly got used to it and started to like it for what it is - Paris is like taking a trip back in time and this hotel certainly fits the picture perfectly! The hotel and it's rooms have lots of charm and personality. Don't come here expecting Hilton, come here if you are looking for something different, because as I mentioned it is like living in a small, old apartment.

The breakfast room and lounge downstairs as well as the lobby added to the feeling of going back in time, the owners really have put in a good effort in creating a very nice ambience.

Also worth mentioning that the hotel is only 2-3 minutes from Rue des Martyrs - a fantastic place to go for dinner as we did pretty much every night.

Would definitely stay here again if (when) we come back to Paris and would recommend this hotel to couples (but probably not families unless the "kids" are teenagers).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Quirky doesn't really do this hotel justice, we're a family of 4 with teenagers so requested a suite -what we got is really a small apartment; a spacious double room, separate lounge area with a sofa bed and additional seating, decent bathroom and a little kitchen.
We stayed in the middle of a heatwave in August and were concerned about the lack of AC but the big windows let in enough air to make it comfortable, (we heard literally no road noise at all)the fridge in the kitchen was put to good use - although a word of warning, the kitchen isn't kitted out with cutlery, crockery, kettle, utensils or pots & pans. Bathroom was clean, spacious and functional - we woud have given an "excellent" rating if it had been more up to date, it was the only thing that let the suite down.
The staff were incredibly helpful and willing to please, breakfast was lovely, great coffee and the best bread we found in the whole of our trip to France. Location is good for exploring Paris, just a short walk to metro, although perhaps wouldn't recommend families or lone female travellers taking the Pigalle option in the early hours of the morning.
The decor is what made all of us fall in love with this place...it's unusual but stylish - don't go if you like your hotel rooms to be beige and bland!

Room Tip: Suites very spacious - especially by Parisian standards
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guestgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We arrived at the hotel and immediately felt like we were in the heart of Paris, a perfect little hideaway, beautifully French. We were greeted by a guy on reception (who I think was the owner/manager) who was friendly and humorous with us. We speak a little French but his English was fantastic and was able to have a joke with us. He gave us a map of the area and showed us where the nearest metro stations were etc and gave us a small business card sized map of how to get from the hotel to the metros which came in really handy.

The hotel was perfect. Balcony windows that opened wide (no healthy and safety rules to ruin the setting). My parents in the room above had a balcony they could sit out on with table and chairs. My partner and I didn't have this but were still able to sit out on the small ledge/balcony which was perfect in the evenings. The hotel has a beautiful old lift (like the one in the original Producers movie!) and everything is old and original, which was lovely. Our room had pictures of French show girls and models on the walls, a little room for getting ready with wide balcony windows again and old French lamp shades with tassels. I guess this wouldn't be to everyone's taste, but for us it was perfect. There's also a bar and free wifi and a tv, mini bar and radio in the room. The beds were wonderfully comfortable and because of location, we could sleep in silence. We did go to bed quite late each night though.

We brought our own travel kettle and tea bags because most French hotels don't have this, but we were told we could borrow a kettle from reception if we had wanted. The rooms were clean and immaculate. They were cleaned and tidied each day, fresh towels left for us etc.

Another note for visitors to Paris.. when crossing the road, the green man means nothing. As I said earlier, one of the best things about Paris is that health and safety is non existent. Drivers will whiz past you even if the green man is on but you get used to it and if you're using the bus, be prepared to be jolted and thrown from one end to the other. None of these are bad things in my opinion.

My partner and I sometimes receive a bit of awkwardness in hotels (being a same sex couple) and have given single beds in the past, to much amusement. But there was no awkwardness here. We were travelling with my parents and were all welcomed with open arms. I will definitely stay at this hotel the next time I come to Paris, I didn't want to leave! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Fantastic location within 10 mins of 2 train stations and 2 metro stations.Hotel was very quirky,rooms decorated very well,compaired to a boutique hotel ,very goodReceptionists were always helpful.As we were travelling with a small baby the staff couldnt do enough.Great being only on the first floor with pram ect..The junior suite was so spacious,with a sitting area and kithenette to let us spead out for our 5 nights.Didnt have a kettle until we asked on day 3 and told us to keep it in our room .Could of done with a few knives and forks,plates etc,however we did know this before we arrived,so with a short trip to supermarket we bought paper plates etc....saves on the washing up.No air con was not an issue either,the two large windows let plenty of breeze in,even in 30 degrees !!The babys cot was big ,our bed was enormnous with all clean bedding.Lift ....breath in !!!but beautiful...Our stay here was perfectly parisian and we really cant wait to stay again .

Room Tip: No 11 was a junior suite,with 2 large windows and plenty od room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEBORAH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinese PinkAddict in Malaysia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Criteria this Paris trip (I come here annually and this is my 9th visit), requirement has changed bec of my 2-yr old so I need space. Got room 63 which is top floor with super big windows and 2nd floor staircase that leads to a second queen bed. Spacious. Toilet clean and looks fairly new. Toiletries basic. Room with superb view at night (awesome moon and stars view if you wake up middle of the night). Helped with printing of boarding pass. Had a small elevator which was very classic though very tight for 3 people. Didn't have breakfast at hotel bec lots of boulangeries near by with superb bread! Left the stroller at reception every day didn't have to push it up. Location not too near metro station so beware though we didn't mind the walking (except with the baggies uphill). Probably would stay again. I'm
Doing this review via their hotel wifi now while hubby asleep! Lovely small hotel can do a Long walk to Opera. Have a Carrefour nearby to buy all groceries and drinks!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

This hotel is situated in a small street in the vibrant area of Mon Martre and you would expect it to be quiet, however, because it is surrounded by private apartments, we were kept awake for most of the night by a family living across the courtyard with very loud children. Unfortunately the hotel was being worked on at the time so we couldn't use the stairs and the lift was tiny so our family had to take to trips to and from our room each time. The lift added character to the hotel but it became a bit of a nuisance. It was so very hot when we were there that the absence of air conditioning was really noticeable & whilst the hotel was exceptionally clean, it was quite dated in places and the carpet smelled a little. This hotel is not really family friendly and caters more for couples, however, the young lady on reception was extremely helpful. All in all some great points as well as some,which were not so good unfortunately.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LDCandDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Tour d'Auvergne
Hotel Tour d'Auvergne
#556 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Sacha by HappyCulture
Hotel Sacha by HappyCulture
#343 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Appart Hotel Cosy Cadet
Appart Hotel Cosy Cadet
#714 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Aida Opera
Hotel Aida Opera
#480 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Opera Frochot
Hotel Opera Frochot
#873 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Carlton's
Hotel Carlton's
#946 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alba Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba Opera Hotel

Property: Alba Opera Hotel
Address: 34 T rue de la Tour D Auvergne | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#500 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alba Opera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Alba Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Opera Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing