We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alba Opera Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$272
US$255
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$219
US$186
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Eiffel Seine(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$181
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$274
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$630
US$394
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Augustin - Astotel(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$166
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Saint Germain(Paris)
US$290
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Manufacture(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$225
US$212
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$1,371
US$1,230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
96
119
49
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
119
49
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslouis armstrongquirky hotelsacre coeurexcellent locationelevatorparisiennemetrostreetarrondissementessentials
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2012

My boyfriend and I went to Paris for the weekend. I was in charge of booking everything and after much searching, I decided on this hotel. I was not disappointed! We went to Paris on the Eurostar and got off at Gare Du Nord station. The hotel was about a 15 walk from there.They greeted us warmly and told us we had been upgraded which was nice. Now the lift is small, we used the stairs mostly. We had like a small apartment, we had a large bedroom, good side bathroom and a small room with fridge, mini bar and a kettle.It was all clean and tidy. The area was good also, loads of coffee and patisserie's around. We didn't have any noise bother us and the side street in which the hotel is placed is very quiet. We were also a short walk from one of the metro stations, St Georges I think it was, which made things easy. Paris is very easy to get around. So all up, a great place to stay and a good location too!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahjharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

My girlfriend and I treated ourselves with a three nights getaway to Paris and after an extensive research for a suitable hotel, the Alba Opera Hotel was chosen.

We arrived in the Montmartre section of Paris via the Anvers metrostation and from there it was a short walk to Alba. We were welcomed by a very enthousiastic girl at the frontdesk, who took time to welcome us. A good first impression. The reception was quite busy, due to a photoshoot that was being done for some sort of fashion magazine. As other reviews mentions, the Alba Opera has a very destinct interior style, with the pictures of scarcely clad ladies behind the reception.

We received room number 33, and as my girlfriend took the stairs, I took the very small, cramped, but authentic elevator. Don't want to be stuck in that elevator! Room 33 is on the frontside of the hotel and we had a view on the street. The room was clean and decorated with vintage furniture, which gave us a feeling like we were sleeping at a bed and breakfast. Despite the vintage look, the room was good sized and clean. Good sized bed, flatscreen TV and a minibar with led lights. About the bed, it was a little squeeky and personally I prefer duvet in stead of a blanket. It makes me feel that I sleep in a bed, in stead of sleeping on a bed. The matress itself was good.

The bathroom was a little outdated, but it enhanced the B&B style of the hotel. More important, it was clean, despite showing its age.

As the hotel is in an old building, it was sometimes a little noisy with other guests going to their rooms and noices from the street. It didn't bother us. What did bother us were the led lights of the minibar. They were too bright at night, so we pulled the plug when we went to sleep.

We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, because we always like to do that in the neighbourhood where we're staying and Montmartre offers more than enough oppertunities to do so. The hotel is conveniently located, with the Sacre Coeur a mere fifteen minutes away on foot. If you're looking for a very nice restaurant to eat, try the La Balancoire. Very good staff, great food and good atmosphere. But, book ahead!

All in all we had a very nice stay at the Alba Opera Hotel and Paris!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AntonHomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Went there for a long weekend, and were delighted to discover this quirky hotel in a cul de sac of the 9th arrondissement. The staff are friendly, the location is great for the Eurostar and the Montmartre, and the room we got was huge by Paris standards. Overall, the Alba Opera was a breath of fresh air from identikit chains.

The one major annoyance, however, was that some much needed renovations were taking place while we were there, and the sound of a drill is thoroughly unpleasant when attempting to nap.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank apostelnicu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

From the raving reviews and pleasant photos, we would have never guessed this hotel hadn't been renovated since Alfred Hitchcock's filming of Vertigo. It's set back on a side street in a not-so-great neighborhood. The lobby is quirky and has 70's-esque pin-up character yes, but as soon as we saw the elevator we wanted to run the other way. Baggage has to be sent up separately because the ancient elevator fits only two people side-by-side (and we're not big people); claustrophobics beware. We took the stairs every time to avoid it. The winding staircase led up to our barely lit, creepy room, such that we could not tell if our clothes were blue, brown or black. If you're looking for Parisienne and quirky, look elsewhere. While the rooms are cheap, there are plenty of other Parisienne hotels that make Alba Opera pale in comparison. If you're at all accustomed to modern accomodations, avoid disappointment and book elsewhere.

Room Tip: Mercure hotels in Paris are amazing.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The Alba Opera is quirky, charming and very Parisienne. It has a terrific location in the 9th arrondissement close to Montmartre, great shopping, brasseries, pubs, restaurants and shopping. Four metro stops nearby. Within an easy 15 to 20 minute walk to the Louvre, Notre Dame and other landmarks.

The hotel's owners and (most of) their staff will make you feel more like a houseguest than a hotel guest. They are extremely helpful in showing guests how to get around Paris and have lots of advice on things to see.

The hotel decor is quirky and bohemian while at the same time very comfortable and very clean. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. It makes the most of the historic building and neighbourhood. Continental breakfast is served in a nicely appointed breakfast room each morning from 7 to 11 (very generous hours, in my experience). Great coffee, fruit juice, croissants, pain du chocolat and rolls were the standard fare.

We had a lovely time, spending a full week in the latter part of September, 2012 and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it or to return to stay there again.

Mostly, this hotel offers a bargain for its location and amenities so close to the major landmarks of Paris. Certainly, one can have a far posher stay in Paris if they want to pay the price but the Alba Opera offers excellent value for the rest of us.

Room Tip: The elevator is slow and not very commodious. If you don't like taking the stairs and have doubts about fitting into the elevator (:D), ask for a room in a lower floor.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SEAchange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews