We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for the price, excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Commerce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du Commerce
Ranked #1,515 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value for the price, excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

My husband, six month old baby, and I stayed here, and it was a good deal for the price. It is really more of a hostel than a hotel, but we were pleasantly surprised with our experience. We live in Canada but have traveled in Europe before, so we knew not to expect a bathroom in the room. The staff were kind and helpful, and the location cannot be beat. We stayed on the first floor (one up from the ground) and had no problems with our wireless. Our room faced the street, but the noise was not a problem. Overall, we would go back and/or recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaHVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    130
    129
    62
    69
See reviews for
56
173
38
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

I have stayed at this place twice. The first time I was very happy with it considering the good prices on the rooms and the great location. However, the second time did not go as well.
We were put in the Courtyard room which had no wifi and to get to the bathroom you had to walk outside. We asked the reception if another room was available and the man was rude but did give us another room. For budget accommodation i can deal with a bit of rudeness. However, there were mice in the new room. When I spoke to the man at reception about the issue he denied any knowledge of it, even though there were mice traps behind the heater.

If they have fixed the mice problem and you want cheap accomodation in a great location, I would recommend it

Room Tip: Not the Courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
216 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

In the city centre! 10 min to Jardin du Luxemburg, 5 min to Notre Dame! In the very heart of Latin quartier! What more do you need in Paris? I stayed in a single room with shower inside. The toilet was in the corridor and one per floor (about 4 rooms). WiFi was in the hall only. From the window in my room I saw the street, not the yard, that was pleasure for me.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksu_Coccinelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

The wifi doesn't work in the room i was put in, when i asked about changing rooms/fixing my problem the rude attendee said he couldnt do anything. The concierge was smoking cigarettes in the lobby and it smelled terrible. All the hotel smelled quite funky to me. It was however clean and in an excellent location in the french quarter. I was just really put off by the rudeness of the staff. T

Room Tip: Dont choose room 1, or anything on the ground floor, there is no wifi acess from there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frmo33324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

Location. Perfect. Quartier Latin.
Decor. Freshly redecorated. I loved the colour combinations. Decor and furnishings attractive, modern and stylish.
Cleanliness. First class.
Staff. Polite, friendly, smart and helpful. Fluent in English and uncritical of my stumbling French.
Accommodation. Single room in ground floor annexe. Bed comfortable - firm, as I prefer. Room clean, fresh, and a perfectly adequate size for a single person, with all necessary facilities without being cluttered. I was perfectly happy with the courtyard location of room and WC: very convenient for main door. Warm: almost too warm - good in December.
Facilities. Dining area in reception. Coffee machine gave a freshly ground expresso. Microwave - very handy for someone on a budget break. Library useful: I donated a couple of books. Free internet access. Perhaps a few more plates might be useful, if more people were eating in. Oh, and a corkscrew: banned in cabin luggage on airlines. I had quite a hunt for a bottle of Chardonnay with a screw top. I ate across the road at Llhasa a couple of times, and it was very good, as was the Loch Ness bar next door.
Value for money. Excellent. Central Paris for 44 euro/night for a single room: I don't think you could beat that. I shall certainly be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grussell49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

When we stayed here there was construction going on in the main hall. This perhaps should have been reflected in our rates since we were constantly walking through and making them stop their work. However, our room was quiet which is important in hostels. The oddest part was that we could not leave the building with our room keys. This seemed to be so we wouldn't copy the skeleton keys, but really it was a hassle and they should update their security if it's really a problem. We loved the location close to many shops, restaurants, jardin des plantes and the Notre dame cathedral.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadaabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

I'm surprised by some of these negative views. We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Hotel du Commerce and were really impressed. It is more of a hostel than a hotel but if you're staying in Paris to see to sights, drink good wine and eat great food, then it shouldn't really matter. We spent most of the day and night out and about.
The location is amazing, a few hundred meters from a Metro station and less than a quarter of a mile to The Notre Dame. Also, very close to Rue Le Mouffetard (a quaint street selling pastries, chocolates, coffee, wine, cheese etc) is a hidden gem. We walked everywhere from the hostel and hardly used the metro,
The staff were friendly and helpful also.
We had a few luke-warm showers - so be prepared to be up by 8am if you want a hot shower but to be honest, that's not unusual if you're used to staying in hostels.
A great choice - highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
#912 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain
Quartier Latin
Hotel Marignan
Hotel Marignan
#495 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Gay-Lussac
Hotel Gay-Lussac
#1,459 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Appi Hotel
Appi Hotel
#1,602 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du Bresil
Hotel du Bresil
#1,146 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Commerce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Commerce

Property: Hotel du Commerce
Address: 14 rue de la Montagne Ste Genevieve | 5 Arr, 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,515 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du Commerce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Commerce Hotel
Du Commerce Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing