We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good not Great”

Musee de la Vie Romantique
Ranked #186 of 1,131 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Romantic district called "New Athens", this town-house with its paved courtyard, central garden and two artists studios has kept its 19th century charm. Its first owner, the painter Ary Scheffer entertained the artistic intelligentsia of the time: Delacroix, Liszt, Rossini, Sand, Chopin, Tourgueniev, Dickens... The museum is a perfect setting for Scheffer and his contemporaries' paintings and George Sand's memorabilia (paintings,furniture, jewellery).
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good not Great”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is an interesting museum and not as hard to find as I had thought. The good news is it is free-the bad news is it is small and probably only takes 30 minutes to an hour to visit unless you stop at the cafe. Also, the day i went was very hot and there was no air. If you are a George Sand fan or want to visit a secluded cafe-go.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank loriual777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    118
    35
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Walk in Chopin's Footsteps!”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I found this hidden away, Utterly Romantic building standing alone at the end of a tree lined long walkway stiuated in the heart of Paris; You enter to the sound of classical delicate music...time has stood still here..this is where many of the Artists of the day hung out together, Renoir, Chopin, George Sand (a woman and Chopin's lover :) Together they shared notes and talked about life, love and the hereafter..Many lovely paintings remain on the walls, with historical furniture and decor on the main level..On the second floor when we were there, about 20 very young and adorably beautiful French children were sitting on the floor listening to their teacher who was explaining, in French, the story of the museum; The children were mesmorized! it was worth the visit even just to see this:) But the most wonderful part is that there is a shady Rose Garden on the side of the building where you can "take tea" and desert! Quiet, Romantic, lovely, right in the heart of Paris..And it is Free to enter! Enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ValTCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
476 reviews
285 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“a bit small”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

this museum is really cute! The atmosphere is really relaxing and peaceful ! It's a real pleasure to walk around this museum :) but it's a very small museum with a small collection! The visit of it should not take more than 40 mins but it's not very touristic and therefore different from the big major museums like The Louvres or Musée d'Orsay

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poitiers, France
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pretty but YAWN!!!”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Lovely setting, beautiful house and jardin, lovely staff but sadly the collection on show this week was so yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaawn I nearly fell asleep - hate to be negative but this week was not for me!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmmaCrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
“Charge an admission fee so customers can expect customer care”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I arrived there today just before 2pm. I went into the office to purchase an audio guide. Clearly, I interrupted the lady behind the counter who was in full flow on the phone. She indicated to me to take a free ticket and waved her hand behind her, as if to say go over there, I stepped out, looked around and saw no other member of staff. So I went back to the office, apologized for interrupting her telephone call, but I needed a audio guide. She said something that I couldn't quite understand then yelled that they were closed. Who was closed ? I abandoned my attempt to get a guide and entered the house. It was glorious, oldy worldly and romance seeped through everything. You have to see it to believe it. Then, I noticed that the first floor entrance was roped off. I couldn't be bothered to start asking. I stepped out and did some delightful people watching from the gardens. I saw a lady policing the entrance as I was leaving. She seemed very professional. Maybe I just arrived at the wrong time. Either way, they need to sort themselves out because negative reviews are not good for any business. Beautiful little museum, though.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Onelifeliveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musee de la Vie Romantique also viewed

 

Been to Musee de la Vie Romantique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing