We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright hotel, good cutomer service but very awkward staff”
Review of Ideal Hotel design

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ideal Hotel design
Ranked #904 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Alright hotel, good cutomer service but very awkward staff”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

good stuff:
1. Pretty good location, close to everything pretty much.
2. The bakery rigth outside was amazing, just dont get that sandwich with the black specks.
3. Customer service was outstanding, but they were a little awkward. Just the way they move and act, made me feel a little uncomfortable.

bad stuff:
1.REALLY small elevator and slow as heck, sometimes it would completely7 pass my floor and stop.
2. The bed was actually 2 smaller beds pushed together.
3. The bathrooms are small... REALLY small. But then again, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street, they are currently undergoing renovations, could be a lil noisy, di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brandon v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    313
    197
    75
    44
See reviews for
119
322
46
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The hotel is in the suburbs but there is a tram metro and bus station close by. The rooms were clean and the maid service excellent. The main fault was the tiny two person lift. The stairs were windy and going up 7 store's was a chore.
Be careful with your booking as our Breakfast was 12 euros extra which was expensive if you have a family. WiFi was free but there is no air- con. each room has a large portable fan.
The receptionist was very helpful when we wanted thinks booked

Room Tip: The front rooms have more noise due to the tram and Metro. The facade of the building was being reno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian108_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel itself was not bad at all. It is a boutique style hotel and had recently been remolded (so we were told). Our room had was very nice and clean and decent size by European standards. We had windows that opened out to a small courtyard (Thank goodness because it was hot) however there was a baby located in a room just below that screamed for 2 hours straight (not the hotels fault but disturbing nonetheless). Our room had a separate bathroom with a tub/shower and door. Again, thank goodness because our friends had a shower in the room which we found out is not uncommon in Europe. One should learn about this before traveling to Europe because frankly, I would have had a cow since I was traveling with a friend whom I did not know that well. Anywho... Our room was nice. Nothing fancy but definitely comfortable. Now the lift to get to the rooms was another story. It was the smallest lift I have ever seen in my life and only one person with one suitcase can fit at a time. It is also slow. Location... I did not book this hotel and would NOT have chosen this hotel on location alone. It is at the very last train stop opposite of the main city where all the attractions are. Worst location if you are planning to do the tourist thing. I would definitely recommend staying much closer to the center of the city or by the train station. Our friends got a hotel for 10 euro's more (Holiday Inn by the train station) and it was very nice and well work the 10 euro's more to be so close. The restaurants in the area of this hotel are pricey but we found everything in Paris is pricey. However, there were restaurants in the main area of Paris that were off slightly off the beaten path that had great food and good prices. The front desk staff is NOT helpful or friendly so don't bother asking advice. Google it or TripAdvisor or many of the locals will help you. Contrary to popular belief, we found the French to be more than happy to help a tourist (except the waiters and waitresses but that is for a dining review) Some tips we learned about dining in Paris-- DO NOT sit at a table that has napkins and silverware already on the table and ask for a coffee or drink. These tables are for dining customers. The tables without the napkins and silverware are fine to sit at if you just want a coffee, tea, or drink. If you go to the bar to get a coffee it is significantly less expensive than if you sit at a table. We found this to be true in 4 restaurants we tried this at. If you want to really experience Paris and their amazing food, stop at a cheese shop and grab some of the best cheese you will ever have, a baguette at the bakery, a bottle of wine and some Pains au Chocolat and head to one of the beautiful parks and people watch. Oh... and lets not forget the chocolate, definitely try the chocolate. Oh and BTW.. be equipped with an umbrella. It rained two days straight..... the two days we were there. :) Bon Jour and safe travels

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TiaNFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed there for Holidays, it has a good area close to the metro station, but as soon as we wanted to check in, the problems begun: we could only check in at 3p, geting to the rooms, the front of the building was being renovated so a lot of noise and dust in my room, the floor was unbelivably dirty and smoky, it was summer and Paris was absolutely hot; no airco and noise from the workers in the morning buildings walls down made it impossible to sleep.
I would stay there without problems if the building wasnt being renovated, they could have told us that in the check in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiovannaSette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night and enjoyed the hotel. Small rooms but well maintained and clean. Good wifi system and very helpful staff. Ask for a room on the back if you want to avoid the noise of the busy streets in front of the hotel, especially in summer as you need to keep your window open . Easy to access by metro. Would recommend for short stays at a good value.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jeanmarc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I booked this hotel for a holiday with two other friends. The hotel looked clean, airy and bright in the pictures with a focus on functional, fun design. The reality is the hotel is grimy and the interior looks like a dirt-soiled version of what is pictured on the website. Every thing is worn down and dirty in the hotel. Our room looks like it has been "updated" with a layer of cheap wall paper but room and the bathroom were old and sad. It was a hotel where you had to tell yourself not to look to see how clean it was or you would be even more put off.

It just was not nice to come back to after a long day out, as it was dirty and hot. There is no air conditioning here and area is quite noisy so what little air you can get via your one window is accompanied by noise from the nearby bus depot. Don't book in the summer!

The only redeeming factors about the hotel are the wonderful staff who was very friendly and helpful and the location.

I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: If dirt doesn't bother you stay here. Don't book in the summer, not AC and does not have goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LowBrow_Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in July. Would stay there again happily. The hotel room had everything we needed. Buffet breakfast was the usual pastries, toast, baguettes, cheese, fruit etc - all good. Staff were all nice, friendly and very helpful. Although it is located away from the centre the metro stop is right outside the hotel entrance so getting to the heart of Paris was simple. The hotel lift is small but welcome as our room was on the 7th floor! Other reviewers have complained about the street noise but we didn't mind it - what do they expect from a capital city? It just added to the atmosphere in our opinion. Very reasonable rates for a family room too.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wendy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel Virgina
Hotel Virgina
#633 of 1,802 in Paris
292 reviews
Montparnasse
Villa Royale Montsouris
Villa Royale Montsouris
#396 of 1,802 in Paris
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Paris Alesia
#641 of 1,802 in Paris
172 reviews
Hotel Acropole
#275 of 1,802 in Paris
468 reviews
Montparnasse
Parc Hotel Paris
Parc Hotel Paris
#1,255 of 1,802 in Paris
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ideal Hotel design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ideal Hotel design

Property: Ideal Hotel design
Address: 108 boulevard Jourdan | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #904 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ideal Hotel design 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entree ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ideal Hotel design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideal Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing