We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Ranked #134 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Son, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

A small and cosy hotel in the heart of Montmartre. Very helpful and friendly staff!
We have stayed here twice now, and this has been our regular hotel in Paris. Moulin Rouge is just 4 min. walk away. Ask to get a room on the top floor, with views of the Sacre Ceur and all the tin roofs. This is so French!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,512
    933
    138
    36
    67
See reviews for
291
1,503
202
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in this hotel with my girlfriend in a "Eiffel Room" (5th floor with view on the Eiffel Tower). Room was very clean and nicely organized. Drinks are available all day long for free close to the reception, always happy to provide good advices on restaurant and activities around.

Only drawback: the breakfast is not included (12€/day/person). But Montmartre is full of lovely coffee place where you can enjoy French pastries :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank T0rv4ld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Four of us spent 3 nights in Paris for my 50th birthday from 18 - 21 March. We chose this hotel due to the excellent reviews and were not disappointed. From the moment we checked in we had fabulous service and the staff were very helpful. The rooms were immaculately clean and more than met our expectations. We all agreed that we will certainly return and are planning our next trip to this beautiful city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheekychic1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Spent four nights B&B here as part of my wife's 50th birthday present. Well situated on a quiet street in a bohemian district, but still only 10-15 minutes by metro (Abesses is closest) from the city centre and the popular tourist attractions. Very close to Moulin Rouge (the campest thing ever, despite the abundance of naked female breasts) and, for the more highbrow, the Sacre Coeur (which was even seedier at night than the Moulin Rouge).

Smallish rooms (we had 52 - at the front of the hotel), but still a very fair size for Paris.

Breakfast buffet was very basic, so you might want to consider finding a local café instead, but that didn't bother us. Plenty of local restaurants to choose from for evening meals, and note that almost all include service on the bill, so no need to tip extra.

Service at reception was very friendly and helpful, and I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: The lift only goes to the 5th floor, and it is very small. One person and a suitcase, or two people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elnombre_lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The hotel resides at the steep Tholoze street of Monmartre and can be easily overlooked, as it doesn't stand out in any particular way. The lobby is cozy and beautifully decorated, with spiral staircases leading to the upstairs rooms or the tea room downstairs. That tea room is a life saver whenever you come back to the hotel from a cold winter day outside.There is an adjacent chic-designed room with a computer for customers use and a jukebox. The receptionists are very nice and some of them speak English. The check-in went very smoothly and our room was ready earlier than customary, as requested earlier.

We stayed at the 5th floor with a view on the roofs of Monmartre (again, by request). As we enter the room, it's impeccably clean and tidy, as if you're the first one ever to stay there. Same goes for the bathroom. The room is small, but the whole setting and the colors make you love it instantly. There is also a window in the bathroom that goes out to the same roofs as the window in the room, so you can leave it open while you shower if you're into exchanging views with the neighborhood :-).

There is free WiFi in the rooms, which is sadly not trivial with European hotels (hotels with no WiFi are immediately disqualified by us). The heating worked most of the time, though I never figured out how to operate it. The windows are sealed to noise, but the walls aren't, so you can still hear your neighbors or the cleaning lady in the morning.

The hotel is located at a walking distance from most of the area's attrcations, including the Monmartre funiculare, an actual windmill up the street, Moulin Rouge, shopping streets, two metro stations and a high percentage of TripAdvisor's top rated restaurants. There is a cinema right across the street, if you understand French.

Looking back at my stay in Hotel des Arts, I can't put a finger on something particular that makes this hotel great. There is no huge lobby, no big dining room with lots of food, our room was relatively small and opened with a regular key. But this is, in fact, a prefect case of a whole that's bigger than the sum of its parts and the high rating it receives is absolutely justified. It is definitely a place to call home and a quiet one to rest in after a hard traveler's day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yevgeni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

When we arrived at the Hotel the Lady in reception arranged with the taxi driver that brought us, who spoke no English, to pick us up for our return to the airport. All the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. 'Bijou' is the operative word here. The Hotel has a good mix of quaintness and attention to guests needs.The central, spiral staircase is just one of the many original touches. Our room was small but warm, comfortable and lacking nothing. The bathroom appeared to be brand new and well laid out, although, again, rather small. A continental style breakfast is available and hot beverages at any time, but not in your room.The Hotel is well situated for the local nightlife and shopping through the day. There is a Metro station a short downhill walk away, and for 4 Euros, return, will take you to the Champs Elysees.

Room Tip: Don,t expect a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The staff are incredibly friendly, the location is brilliant, the rooms are clean and overall everything you could want in a hotel staying experience in Paris. We have stayed there 2 times now and found our second visit to be even better than the first.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bex w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Grand Hotel Francais
#107 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Hotel HELUSSI
#43 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
#50 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Scarlett
Hotel Scarlett
#60 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#51 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#9 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts - Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts - Montmartre

Property: Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Address: 5 rue Tholoze, 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Paris
#66 Family Hotel in Paris
#105 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#148 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Arts - Montmartre 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel des Arts - Montmartre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Arts Hotel
Hotel Des Arts Paris
Des Arts Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing