We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Ranked #125 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I've been to Paris quite often but never stayed in Montmartre. I did some research before booking my 10-day stay here and I couldn't be more pleased. The hotel exceeded my expectations. I had a nice large room on the third floor overlooking rue Tholoze - a quiet side street on a dead end. The room was immaculate and the service fantastic. Juliette and the fron desk staff were alwqays so helpful and recommended interesting sites to see in and around the area. The all-you-can-eat breakfast for 12 euros was well worth the price (don't expect meat or eggs, except for boiled eggs)
Each room is named after a artist, writer, actor or singer. My room was named in honor of George Brassens - a famous song writer and guitarist.I would definitely stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: I always prefer a room facing the street. The windows here are sound proof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

924 - 930 of 2,857 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

We can't wait to return to Paris and we'd love to return to this charming hotel. All of the staff were friendly, helpful and kind and the hotel was lovely--so much personality. They really celebrate the neighborhood and I fell even more in love with the Montmartre this time.
We were glad we bought the romantic room package and enjoyed the robes, flowers, chocolates, French doors and lovely 4th floor rooms with a separate shower and large, very clean tub. I appreciate having a room 4 floors up so we could open the windows and enjoy the fresh air. A lower room might have more street noise but we enjoyed hearing sounds of a bustling neighborhood
Our room included breakfast and we enjoyed ours and also appreciated the ability to visit the room for tea and coffee and a croissant later in the afternoon.
Finally, what a great location. I enjoyed exploring the antique stores, luthiers and various other shops and museums nearby. And the metro is just a few blocks away.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bookmonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A splendid hotel in an excellent location. How nice to have a clock in the room! Just one of the little touches. Of course we had one of the expensive rooms with a view over the whole city right to the Eiffel Tower - fabulous when it sparkles after the hour. The only downer is the stuffy breakfast room in the basement, but that's understandable given the need to use every inch of a building in Paris. I'd recommend breakfasting out.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the Eiffel Tower - book direct with the hotel to be sure to get one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Boblarota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A friendly welcome gives such a good first impression. Hotel is clean and nothing seemed too much bother for the staff. Loved the juke box! The hotel is in a fantastic location for taking in Montmartre, just five minutes from the Moulin Rouge and 5 minutes from Abbesses metro station. Though we never made it in these times as we always seemed to end up in one of the many bars and cafes on route.

Only minor critisism is we would have liked coffee/tea making facilities in the room.

Would stay here again next time we visit Paris.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neville B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights- the receptionists were helpful, friendly and patient. The free self-serve refreshments [good selection of teas] in the breakfast room from 1pm to midnight with snacks was a thoughtful touch.

The free access to the internet in reception made booking tickets for next day access to museums and attractions very easy, emailing the reception to print out tickets. Room sizes are small and many look out into light wells so quiet and peaceful... as you'd expect in the centre of Paris.

Comfy beds and spotlessly clean rooms and en-suite.

Didn't have the 12 euro breakfast in the hotel basement, but lots of pavement cafes on Rue des Abbesses [great bakeries + fruit and cheese shops for picnics] where you can get a basic breakfast for 8 euros [coffee, bread, juice and croissant], with an omelette for 12. Easy access to the Metro.

The hotel's arrangement with a minibus transfer to CDG was efficient and direct but is more expensive at 18 euros per person- cheaper to get metro day passes and then top up and use the RER to and from the airport. Lots of small independent shops and restaurants nearby without having to pay tourist prices... like 'Au Virage Lepic' round the corner on Rue Lepic.

Will stay here again, the decoration and the CD jukebox were fun!

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, get a room overlooking the internal light wells and the higher you go t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pontevecchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

If you are looking for the perfect little spot in Montmarte for that Moulin Rouge experience, this is a great place to stay. The front desk staff is very welcoming and accommodating. They speak good English if that's your first language. The location is excellent, many cafes around, within very close walking distance to Place du Tertre, the Moulin Rouge, the Sacré Coeur, and the art district in Paris in general. Its all about the atmosphere here.People are bustling all around, you really feel that you are in the epicenter of the Parisian art district. You can walk to so many awesome spots. The train is about 3 blocks away and you can get to anywhere you want there. Once you get to the Moulin Rouge area there are lots of sex shops, so the area is not for the young kids. The hotel itself has very small rooms, an incredibly small elevator and a tight twisty staircase. There is barely enough room for 2 people and getting big luggage up to the room or the ability to store your big luggage in your room can be challenging. They do have wi-fi but it was often very slow or often broken in the evening. Don't count on it. The breakfast at 12 Euros is too expensive for what you get. Go across the street or down the hill for a better breakfast. We'd stayed on the top floor with an Eiffel Tower view. They had champagne waiting for us. When we put our head out the window we could oversee all of the rooftops of the flats and apartments in the area, and had to look out to the left to see the Eiffel Tower. It was beautiful and very French romantic to look out the window in the evening. Who knew the Eiffel tower sparkled at the top of every hour! That was a fun surprise. As for the room itself, as I said its very small, barely enough room for the bed itself and not really built for the average sized American. You'll be tripping over your luggage as you try to navigate. The bathroom doesn't have a full shower or shower stall or curtain so you'll probably get the floor wet. But it is clean. The cleaning staff does a good job. They'll come and clean your room when they know you are gone, regardless of whether you have the Don't Disturb sign out or not. The TV had a few English speaking news stations on it, but nothing that exciting. The room was mostly quiet, though you are very close to the other few rooms on the floor. There is a safe in the room, but the instructions are a bit off, but its easy enough to figure out. So you don't come here for a Hilton experience. You'll be sorely disappointed if the hotel and room and features are why you are there. You are there because of the location and the French romantic feel. Because we were on our 20th Anniversary we loved that French romantic feel. But the room itself was not a sanctuary to go back to, but the location and the friendly staff was enough to keep us out and about every day and night. It's a great spot with great staff if you're looking for a romantic getaway in Montmartre. I'd definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Go with the top floor Eiffel Tower room - its quieter and the view is spectacular. Worth the extra m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We were a group of 4 friends. I asked for (and got) two twin rooms, with showers, near each other. One was definitely smaller than the other but we were only really at the hotel to sleep and shower. The reception staff were helpful and friendly (and spoke excellent English). The location was great. Near 2 different underground stations. Loads of cafe's, bistros and shops nearby. We didn't pay for the breakfast as we wanted to go out for croissants etc. Only problem I could see was that as there was no A/C in our room it would probably be quite hot in the summer.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickyToot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
#55 of 1,802 in Paris
944 reviews
Montmartre
Mercure Paris Montmartre Sacre Coeur
Montmartre
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
#79 of 1,802 in Paris
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#85 of 1,802 in Paris
672 reviews
Grand Hotel Francais
#95 of 1,802 in Paris
2,030 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel de la Porte Doree
Hotel de la Porte Doree
#267 of 1,802 in Paris
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts - Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts - Montmartre

Address: 5 rue Tholoze, 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Paris
#66 Family Hotel in Paris
#105 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#129 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £62 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Arts - Montmartre 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Arts - Montmartre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Arts Hotel
Hotel Des Arts Paris
Des Arts Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing