We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel l'Amiral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel l'Amiral
Ranked #1,240 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Medina, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“so bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

reception; the stuf were nice but they were not helpful
the manger was rude, the hotel take from my master card the price twice, and i had problem between the bank and the hotel.

the room was old fashion and very small not like i saw it in booking.com.
the Elevator very small and takes ages to go up.

Room Tip: take room in first floor because Elevator is bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mosha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    32
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
17
18
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Location : Very good. Very central. Most eateries are round the corner. The Vaugigard metro station is nearby too.
Ambience, & hotel stay : We were three of us on a budget trip so took up a double room with an extra bed, and cost wise was very effective ! But sadly, what you see in pictures is what you get. Not an inch more not an inch less. So yes, for 3 people, it was quite cramped. With the beds, a table & 3 suitcases we had to literally jump around to navigate the room. BUt then, we werent complaining that much, since we spent the least amount of sleeping hrs in this room.
Ambience was decent overall.
Staff : Were a little grumpy. the ones who understood english were not exactly helpful, and the girl who didnt converse very well in english was utterly sweet. So, you know! we found our way around thanks to pamphlets :)
The life and the staircase are worth mentioning - The lift was extremely tiny. Would hold one person & one suitcase & thats about it. And trust me, if you suffer from a wee bit of claustrophobia, you will probably decease in there! So yeah we managed again...climbing 4 levels through the spiral staircase. Each day at least 4 times up n down for 4 days! :)
Price : Very cost effective for budget travellers!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmsahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Amiral is a nice hotel which is just some 2 KMs from the Eiffel. Its also 5 minutes walking distance from vaugirard Metro station. The rooms are small, but well maintained. You will be greeted by friendly staff and who are ready to help you out with any sort of queries you may have.

This hotel has free Wifi, though the reception will be poor as you go high up. So if you prefer to have Wifi, its better to opt for a room in the first three floors. The only problem is with the Hotel is the cramped lift, which is quite archaic and could just hold 3 people at a time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We picked L'Amiral for a cheap weekend break in Paris,we paid 320 euros for 3 nights and compared to other hotels in paris this was very resonable.The hotel is in a lovely area which feels safe even at night.The rooms are well appointed and very clean and the bathroom is a resonable size (i was expecting to not be able to turn around after reading some reviews!) We had a room on the top floor of the hotel and a fab view of the Eiffel tower! The room had double windows which made it feel very Parisian!
The bed was really comfy and we didnt hear a nosie from the streets below so slept really well.The staff were really friendly and we got some recomendations for some fantastic resturants and bars so do ask!
The only few downsides are the location-it is about a 20 minute walk from the Eiffel tower and then its a further 10-15 mins before you are near any resturants,shopping and even further still to any of the other famous landmarks in Paris.Yes there is a metro station very near by but personally i wouldnt use the metro at night.
The only other thing was the cleaning lady was very loud on a morning-you could hear her in the other rooms from very early. Generally the hotel is really great and very friendly and besides the location is everything you need.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirsty38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

After spending several evenings searching the internet for a hotel in Paris I had become used to the idea that Paris hotel rooms are small, therefore the size of our room at the L'Amiral was no surprise. However, we didn't visit Paris to spend all of our time in a hotel room, so the small size wasn't really important to us. It cost €445.00 for 5 nights in a room with 3 single beds plus a small desk and chair. This, by Parisian standards, is quite cheap. The room had a good supply of electric sockets enabling us to power 2 PCs (free wireless access to the internet is available) plus phone and camera chargers and our daughter's hair tongs etc., etc. The room was clean and bed-linen and towels were changed daily. The bathroom was also very small, with a constant supply of very hot water available. The hotel has a lift that's big enough for 3 people (or one person and 3 suitcases).

Breakfast was listed at €8.50 per person and consisted of just tea/coffee/orange juice plus a croisant and small baguette with various spreads, and I thought this was a little expensive for what was offered.

The hotel's location is quite good, being just 250 metres from Vaugirard Metro station and 2.25 km (1.4 miles) from the Eiffel Tower. The immediate neighbourhood is quiet but within a few hundred yards there are lots of shops, bars and restaurants (I can recommend the nearby "Le Bugatti" Italian restaurant for a really friendly atmosphere and good value. It's on the corner of Rue Du Docteur Jacquemarie -Clemenceu and Rue Madamoiselle, 400 metres from the hotel).

Our teenage daughter sarcastically nicknamed the young woman on the reception desk when we arrived as "Little Miss Cheerful" because she always seemed very serious but generally the five people we met on reception were friendly enough, although one woman didn't speak much English. I was a bit disappointed to discover that because of "computer security" the hotel wouldn't print our airline boarding passes that I had stored on a USB memory stick so I had to go to a nearby copying service to do it.

Overall, if you just want a roof over your head and a clean bed for the night in a quiet area not too far from the city centre at a reasonable price I'd recommend L'Amiral. For comparison the Novotel, 350 metres away, on the same dates would have offered a bit more luxury but at a cost of €810.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B_Temple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

My partner and I wanted to do a last minute trip to Paris and were looking for hotels online. We were going by car so needed accommodation with car park available. I lined up several options and called the hotels to enquire about car parking. By the gentleman who answered the phone at Amiral hotel, I was told that not only was the car parking included in the rate, the swimming pool was as well. I decided to book the room and showed up the following day to then be told, by the gentleman at reception, that car parking was at an additional cost of 20 euros per day. This gentleman was clearly very stressed as he was trying to leave for the day, the next person was not there yet and he could not help with check in coz he had to close the register plus he kept insisting (almost shouting) that I had to pay for the carparking. He informed us, and other guests, of this in a very rude and agressive manner so we ended up leaving our stuff in the hotel to go sightseeing and wait for someone else to help us.
Anyway, I will make a very long story short. I travel weekly for business and am vert familiar with 4 and 5 star hotels. This is not one of them. If you are looking for basic and accessible and you dont need carpark, it will do the job. If you are looking for a slight bit more, including service, space, quiet and cooperation, don't go here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inge_B_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

I just returned from a 4 day break in Paris. We stayed at the Hotel L'Amiral and were really pleased with the Hotel.

It is in a great location, only a few minutes walk from the Vaugirad Metro Station, it is also walking distance to the Eiffel Tower (about 20 mins or so). There are plenty of cafe's and restaurants in the area so food options are plentiful. We ate breakfasts of delicious pastries from the local Patisserie each morning - only a 5 minute walk down the street. It is in a nicer area, which feels quite safe while walking around at night. We were on the first floor and could even see the top of the Eiffel tower from our room.

The hotel is great value, we paid 230 euros for 3 nights for a decent size (European sizes that is!!) double room. There was a table, small closet, and small TV in the room. The bathroom was very clean and recently renovated, with really good water pressure. They serviced the room daily so we always had fresh towels and soaps. The hotel has a lift (Again - its small - usual Paris size) which would be great if you were on the higher floors. The staff speak great English and were helpful if asked.


My only criticisms were that the walls were quite thin so we were disturbed one night by some noisy neighbours in the next room, the purchase of some earplugs the next day prevented a repeat. The hotel doesn't provide tea & coffee facilities either, I think the addition of a kettle and some tea would be fantastic, Especially in winter. The bed wasn't great, it is quite saggy in the middle so not overly comfortable, but linens and blankets were clean.

Other than that I can't really fault the hotel, it is good value, and a good location so would definitly stay there next time I go to Paris.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anchel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Val Girard
Hotel Val Girard
#487 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delos Vaugirard Paris
Hotel Delos Vaugirard Paris
#1,123 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carladez Cambronne
Hotel Carladez Cambronne
#885 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aberotel Montparnasse
Aberotel Montparnasse
#943 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nouvel Eiffel Hotel
Nouvel Eiffel Hotel
#1,557 of 1,798 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Convention Montparnasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Amiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Amiral

Property: Hotel l'Amiral
Address: 90 rue de l Amiral Roussin, 75015 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,240 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel l'Amiral 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the old town called Vaugirard, near the Eiffel Tower, Montparnasse Station and Porte de Versailles Exhibition Centre, Amiral Hotel offers you its 30 rooms, all en suite. Ideal for business or leisure needs, you will find here a very quiet, relaxing and warm homely atmosphere – when you are away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel l'Amiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Amiral Hotel Paris
Hotel l Amiral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing