We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic hotel - careful with the parking (it is paid even when told otherwise)”
Review of Hotel l'Amiral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel l'Amiral
Ranked #1,303 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Basic hotel - careful with the parking (it is paid even when told otherwise)”
Reviewed 26 July 2010

My partner and I wanted to do a last minute trip to Paris and were looking for hotels online. We were going by car so needed accommodation with car park available. I lined up several options and called the hotels to enquire about car parking. By the gentleman who answered the phone at Amiral hotel, I was told that not only was the car parking included in the rate, the swimming pool was as well. I decided to book the room and showed up the following day to then be told, by the gentleman at reception, that car parking was at an additional cost of 20 euros per day. This gentleman was clearly very stressed as he was trying to leave for the day, the next person was not there yet and he could not help with check in coz he had to close the register plus he kept insisting (almost shouting) that I had to pay for the carparking. He informed us, and other guests, of this in a very rude and agressive manner so we ended up leaving our stuff in the hotel to go sightseeing and wait for someone else to help us.
Anyway, I will make a very long story short. I travel weekly for business and am vert familiar with 4 and 5 star hotels. This is not one of them. If you are looking for basic and accessible and you dont need carpark, it will do the job. If you are looking for a slight bit more, including service, space, quiet and cooperation, don't go here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inge_B_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    33
    16
    4
    6
See reviews for
18
18
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

I just returned from a 4 day break in Paris. We stayed at the Hotel L'Amiral and were really pleased with the Hotel.

It is in a great location, only a few minutes walk from the Vaugirad Metro Station, it is also walking distance to the Eiffel Tower (about 20 mins or so). There are plenty of cafe's and restaurants in the area so food options are plentiful. We ate breakfasts of delicious pastries from the local Patisserie each morning - only a 5 minute walk down the street. It is in a nicer area, which feels quite safe while walking around at night. We were on the first floor and could even see the top of the Eiffel tower from our room.

The hotel is great value, we paid 230 euros for 3 nights for a decent size (European sizes that is!!) double room. There was a table, small closet, and small TV in the room. The bathroom was very clean and recently renovated, with really good water pressure. They serviced the room daily so we always had fresh towels and soaps. The hotel has a lift (Again - its small - usual Paris size) which would be great if you were on the higher floors. The staff speak great English and were helpful if asked.


My only criticisms were that the walls were quite thin so we were disturbed one night by some noisy neighbours in the next room, the purchase of some earplugs the next day prevented a repeat. The hotel doesn't provide tea & coffee facilities either, I think the addition of a kettle and some tea would be fantastic, Especially in winter. The bed wasn't great, it is quite saggy in the middle so not overly comfortable, but linens and blankets were clean.

Other than that I can't really fault the hotel, it is good value, and a good location so would definitly stay there next time I go to Paris.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anchel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

The hotel and rooms are small, but very clean, with spacious bathroom and good plumbing. Initially we were given a room with a view of an inner court yard where the walls were being painted. We requested a room with a view looking out, and got on with a view of the Eiffel tower! Most of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We were advised to eat at nearby restaurant "Le Cap" and it was wonderful. The hotel is close to a train station, and on a quiet and safe street.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathykBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneve
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

We have staid 3 nights in this hotel.
We arrived very late, at 1AM, and needed to wake up the receptionist to open the door and do the check in. The guy was nice, even if we woke him up at night, and he gave us a room at the top floor.
The rooms are very clean and with new furniture, but quite small - like in most of the hotels in the central Paris Area.
The walls are a bit thin, so if you have noisy people in other rooms, you can easily hear them (which is also the case for most of the hotels in the center)
There is a lift which can fit 2 persons with no problem.
The hotel is located 3 minutes walk from Vagirard metro station, and around 20 minutes walk from Eiffel tower. The street is very silent - and there was no problem sleeping with open window.
The staff is nice and friendly, we could leave our luggage after the check out as well.
For the 70 Eur/night for double room, it is really a good value for money.
Breakfast is 8 Eur, but I think you can get real french breakfast anywhere in the city coffees for the same price.
I would recommend this hotel for short weekend stays for sightseeing Paris.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2007

Booked through venere.com.

A good budget choice. Its above average, for the price.
The hotel is clean with a very small room and large bath. Funny but only half of the shower was protected from spraying the room. Its in a great residential neighborhood with pubs, cafes, shops (rue lecourbe), and restaurants. A long but easy walk to eiffel tower, montparnasse, seine.

I especially liked the night man, whom I named "Manuel". He's from Barcelona. When he handed me my key, I say Merci, he says "Naaathing!"

  • Liked — Low price
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Val Girard
Hotel Val Girard
#492 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delos Vaugirard Paris
Hotel Delos Vaugirard Paris
#1,160 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carladez Cambronne
Hotel Carladez Cambronne
#900 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aberotel Montparnasse
Aberotel Montparnasse
#958 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nouvel Eiffel Hotel
Nouvel Eiffel Hotel
#1,573 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Convention Montparnasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Amiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Amiral

Property: Hotel l'Amiral
Address: 90 rue de l Amiral Roussin, 75015 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,303 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel l'Amiral 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the old town called Vaugirard, near the Eiffel Tower, Montparnasse Station and Porte de Versailles Exhibition Centre, Amiral Hotel offers you its 30 rooms, all en suite. Ideal for business or leisure needs, you will find here a very quiet, relaxing and warm homely atmosphere – when you are away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel l'Amiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Amiral Hotel Paris
Hotel l Amiral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing