We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”
Review of Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #1,135 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Berkeley hotel. The hotel manageress was consistently polite and helpful. The hotel itself was clean, cosy but perhaps a little too warm. Comfortable sleep and lovely bathroom facilities. Despite being on the corner of a busy main road, the room was peaceful at all times. We did not eat at the hotel as there are plenty of local restaurants, cafés and patisseries. The hotel is in great location to the metro with many direct lines for the Eiffel Tower, louvre and other tourist hotspots. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ryesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

The hotel is so right in the place. Cute, little, clean, comfortable room. The room has two big windows. Bathroom is ok, not big but not really small. They provide quality toiletries but you need to bring your own if you are too articulate.

Me and my boyfriend walk from here to Eifel Tower. Far, far, far but exciting. The train station is just across the hotel. Many choices of food and restaurant nearby.

Be careful of the gangs playing on the train station, somebody stole my phone fast.

Room Tip: The corner area are the best rooms with great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

A super hotel, in an excellent, safe location next to metro. Loads of places to eat near by- huge amount of shops. Rooms clean with a mini bar, heating and Tv. Staff friendly. Breakfast adequate. Stayed there twice and would def stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 91Firefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed at Berkeley 4 days, together with 3 work colleagues. We visited Paris for business purposes. 3 out of 4 days were without hot water! Moreover, the staff attitude was quite strange. The only thing they could say was "we hope to solve tomorrow". No compensation proposal, no real interest to solve the issue.

I arrived at the hotel on Oct 27 in the evening. The guy at the reception desk said they have no warm water as a part of the heating system is broken. And they hope to solve by the next day. But the next day it was not solved. The same promise again. I will not go in all the frustrating details, but I want to say the following:
- the hotel staff said that the hot water problem is solved on Oct 29; but when I arrived back from work, I discover that the water was still cold
- the problem was actually solved on Oct 30 in the morning (after 3 freezing nights!)
- the room was not very heated either (probably the same system fault) and it was quite cold in Paris (11 - 12 Celsius degrees during day); so washing with cold water was no fun!
- my colleagues and I asked the hotel to move us to another hotel or to find a fitness room with showers nearby - nothing was possible
- we also asked a discount for the inconvenience - it was not possible
- we asked to talk to the manager - he was always unavailable

I will never go back to that hotel, even though it was decent in terms of cleanliness and location (Montparnasse). I am sure that the personnel is not capable to solve a problem fast. Imagine if the hotel is left without power or heating during winter!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iri_Vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed in Berkeley Hotel on a business trip (4 single rooms) and encountered the following issues:
- upon our arrival, on Sunday, the reception staff told us that one of our colleagues doesn't have the breakfast included, even though we have the printed reservations from the agency with the same conditions. We contacted the agency on Monday and the hotel corrected their error.
- also upon our arrival we were informed that there is no hot water and that they "are hoping" to solve it the next day. No details were given to us. On Tuesday morning we told them that we would change the hotel if the hot water will not be available upon our arrival from the office. It wasn't, but they promised that by the time we came back from dinner it will be ok. They announced us that they had the broken piece for the heater and we will have hot water. The surprise came as we didn't. We went down to talk to the receptionist who was annoyed and told us that other guests took showers. We invited him to try the hot water - it was cold. He told us that he doesn't know how to start the heater and wouldn't disturb the manager on that late hour (22 o'clock). During all these days we have proposed them different scenarios to compensate for the fault (give us access for a couple of hours in a partner hotel to take a shower, give access to a fitness club with a shower, make a discount for the reservation) but they did not accept any.
Every time we asked to talk to the manager we were told we can not contact him/ her (one receptionist told us it was a man, another that it was a woman)
The following morning the water was hot.
We left the hotel on Thursday and asked for a compensation, but they said it is too complicated and wouldn't give any discount.
All the staff was indifferent to our complaints and did not try to solve the problem finding alternative means.

The location is indeed good, close to the city center, with plenty of shops and restaurants around.

Room Tip: specify not to receive a room in the attick
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gabriela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We spent two nights at the Hotel Berkeley which was a decent size considering European standards. It's very close to the Metro station and about a mile walk to the Eiffel Tower. There were plenty of restaurants surrounding the hotel and a shopping center across the street. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel considering there are too many great places to eat in the city. The room was clean, but the shower drain did not work well. The water sat in the tub for quite some time and the shower head was not connected to anything so it made showering difficult (one hand on the shower head, one hand doing the washing). Our room on the third floor overlooked a side street which was very busy and loud in the late evenings. You could hear the street noise from the room, but I didn't have any trouble sleeping. We did have an issue with the bill once we arrived home. We had reserved our stay through Booking.com for a set rate and the hotel had charged a much higher rate regardless of the invoice we received upon check-out. The hotel finally debited us the extra rates but it took a number of communications with the hotel and Booking.com to resolve this issue. Booking.com blamed this on the hotel, but clearly there was a lack of communication among the two companies. Overall, this hotel is located in a great area with easy access to the metro and restaurants with a decent sized room,.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4theluvofwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Location is very close to Montparnasse Station which has multiple links around Paris. Room was fairly modern & a decent size for Paris ( so I am told), we chose not to eat breakfast in the Hotel but instead try the local numerous Cafés. Some pros and cons to help others decide:
Pros
Location
Friendly helpful staff and 24/7 reception
Local cafés & monoprix supermarket
Montparnasse Tower Tour across the road
Comfy bed & no street noise despite facing the main intersection
Free good strength wifi
Cons
Small lift may be an issue for larger people
No kettle to make a cuppa ( would have been appreciated)

Overall we were very happy with our stay and would certainly book again, the Berkeley isn't 5 star and wasn't perfect but it was certainly better than 3 star rating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingScorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Timhotel Odessa Montparnasse
Timhotel Odessa Montparnasse
#1,133 of 1,804 in Paris
349 reviews
Montparnasse
Timhotel Tour Montparnasse
Timhotel Tour Montparnasse
#954 of 1,804 in Paris
400 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Odessa Montparnasse
Hotel Odessa Montparnasse
#533 of 1,804 in Paris
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#925 of 1,804 in Paris
733 reviews
Montparnasse
Patio Brancion
Patio Brancion
#1,231 of 1,804 in Paris
130 reviews
Montparnasse
Le Glam's Hotel
Le Glam's Hotel
#1,368 of 1,804 in Paris
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Hotel

Address: 2 rue d Odessa | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,135 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £72 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Berkeley 2 rue Odessa, close to the Gare Montparnasse and the Montparnasse Tower, in the 14th arrondissement of Paris. direct access to the Latin Quarter and Saint-Germain-des-Près. The Montparnasse Bienvenue metro station is just 160 meters from the hotel, providing direct access to the Rodin Museum. Luxembourg Gardens is a 10 minute walk. Located in the lively Montparnasse district, it has a 24/24 and free Wi-Fi. The rooms are simply decorated, have a minibar and a TV with Canal + channels. The private bathroom has a bathtub. Enjoy a continental breakfast each morning in the breakfast room at the hotel Berkeley effect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing