We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean small hotel very close to Montparnasse Train Station”
Review of Hotel du Maine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Maine
Ranked #1,329 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“clean small hotel very close to Montparnasse Train Station”
Reviewed 8 October 2010

This is a small, clean and friendly hotel located less than a 10 minute walk from the Montparnasse Train Station. Tucked in on a side street, it has little street noise. The only noise I heard was from a school that must have been close by when the children came out for lunch or break. The rooms and bathroom are small but clean. Suitable for a single or couple looking for a few days away. I did take the breakfast so I cannot comment on that. I stayed here in September and October 2009 and would definitely return, especially if I wanted to be close to the Montparnasse Train Station (which has bus connections to CDG airport).

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillYTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    88
    67
    31
    25
See reviews for
20
70
57
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Millersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
213 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Triple room booked in April for 2 adults & a teen for 4 nights. Put in a ground room with double bed and a "camp" cot. Next to breakfast & reception areas, no ventilation as the cot blocked opening the window. Cot collapsed at 2:30 AM. A segment of the metal frame bent in the middle. Scared my granddaughter so bad she screamed, blood curdling screams for minutes until we calmed her down. Despite much noise in lobby front desk area durring the night no one responded to screams. Not sure anything could be done at that hour anyway. Put mattress on floor and addressed problem in the morning with "manager" Were offered a new bed - not a cot - or a second room at no additional charge. Ended up with a second room. All was ok until Monday, as we were leaving out for the day - we had pre-booked tickets for the Eiffel Tower. We were told we had to get everything packed in the rooms because we had to change rooms. I asked for the manager, and was told he'd be there in the morning. It was the morning!! Told the gfirl behind the desk "No", she neeed to get this straight with the manager. This was not what we were told about the rooms. We left. When we got back the night clerk told us we would be charged for the rooms for 2 nights. We said no, asked for the manager, and were told he would be there in the morning. The next morning we were presented with a bill for the originally agreed upon amount for 4 nights in a triple and paid it in cash. The second room was their offer, replacing the bed would have been agreeable as well.
YESTERDAY THEY CHARGED OUR CREDIT CARD 150 Euros!!!!!!!
We will, of course, fight this through the credit card company.
In general the hotel was what was to be expected for under 100 Euro a night, old, showing wear, no frills but in an area that was quite nice and between 2 metro lines. If not for the BS we've have used them on future trips.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CherylInMainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

It was very unfortunate that there appears to be a problem with thefts and the hotel does not seem to be interested in assisting, even though there appeared to be surveillance video. My mother told me that she heard someone trying our doorknob two nights in a row! We were located just down the hall from the front desk, so I didn't think it to be possible. The theft occurred when our luggage was left in the lobby area, (beneath the counter where breakfast was served). An unlocked carry-on was entered and my mother's scarf and some food items were stolen. I sent 2 emails to the hotel, however NO RESPONSE FROM THEM!! I loved the location of the hotel, however I can't say I'd stay there again as the cleanliness was also in question. They sprayed way too much Febreeze (or similar), to the point that we had to ask them to not do that anymore. Most of the hotel staff were friendly and helpful, some not so much. They need to deal with their theft issue, it's either staff or????

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tereea59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

I reserved this hotel through internet. Though it was with breakfast and we had printed confirmation, the front man insisted that we need to pay for breakfast!
We chose not to have any though there were no refrigiator in the room.
After returning I checked with the booking site with their mistake, they again insisted that there was no one who had said we need to pay! Liar.

If you really want to stay in this hotel, you should reserve it in french. They make use of discommunication.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ekaterina14106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I was also stolen, while we were out, and it had to be only with access, i dont want to make false accusations, but i was missing some bills...

Though, it was very cheap...

I do recommend this hotel if you have all your things well secured and you are looking for a cheap option.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claudiost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

While my bag was in my room, someone went in my bag then into a velcro pouch and stole money. Based on the security at the front desk, the criminal had to have inside access to my room (a key.)

Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank roadman1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2009

After dealing with London hotels the previous weekend, this was like being in a palace! It was a proper double bed, private bath, quiet and clean. After reading Trip Advisor reviews of cheap hotels, I have a habit of checking the mattress for bedbugs before I even unzip my bag, and this one was clean. the room seemed very fresh and clean. The only problems were it was too cold for my California blood, but I'd rather save money than be warm outside the bed. Also, the shower was broken and they didn't get around to fixing it while I was there, but let me use an empty room's shower, especially after I made a deal with the chambermaid that she didn't need to clean my room that day. I wish I could find a hotel like this in London. I only paid 40 euros/night!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkyracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel la Perle Montparnasse
Hotel la Perle Montparnasse
#1,378 of 1,802 in Paris
57 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Oasis Montparnasse
Hotel Oasis Montparnasse
#1,388 of 1,802 in Paris
26 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Clairefontaine
Hotel Clairefontaine
#1,278 of 1,802 in Paris
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Montparnasse Daguerre
Hotel Montparnasse Daguerre
#871 of 1,802 in Paris
263 reviews
Montparnasse
Tipi Hotel
Tipi Hotel
#1,552 of 1,802 in Paris
178 reviews
Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
#396 of 1,802 in Paris
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Maine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Maine

Property: Hotel du Maine
Address: 16 rue Maison Dieu | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,329 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Maine 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel du Maine is an exquisite hotel with new hotel standards, always booking for modernity and comfort. Located in a quiet little street, however in the heart of Paris! Very well distributed, then very closed to Montparnasse station y del metro Gaîté, the hotel du Maine can receive you for your business travels or your holidays. Most of its 31 rooms overlook a courtyard, the modernized lift, the decoration in the “air of time” and the reception 24 hours/24 are some examples of what the hotel du Maine car offer to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel du Maine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Maine Paris
Du Maine Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing