We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, Basic & Comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de Flore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de Flore
Ranked #693 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly, Basic & Comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

STAFF: very very helpful staff that was always lovely and helped us with every question we had with a smile on.

ROOM: we stayed on the last floor so we had a nice view of tipical parisian roofs. We could choose between a room faced to the backyard, which they said would be quiet or a room faced to the street - noisy but better view (if you have light sleep, do not choose this one). The total space was ok and the bathroom had no curtains, but it was not a real problem for us (floor a little bit wet, but just a little bit). Not thaaat clean, but nice place.

BREAKFAST: did not try. There are 2 markets crossing the street.

LOCATION: 5 minutes to 2 metro stations. This time we have spent 4 days in Paris and we wanted to know better Montmartre. The main attractions of this part of the city can all be done by walking. Nice neighborhood. We felt safe all the time, even at night (restaurants, markets, bakery...).

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank oamako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeFloreParis, Propriétaire at Hotel de Flore, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you to have taken time to post this review.

All the staff thank you for your compliments.

Indeed we are located at 5 / 10 minutes walk from the center of Monmartre (Sacré-Coeur) in a very pleasant and safe area.

Hope to see you again in Montmartre.

Best regards

Patrick FERARD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    64
    29
    6
    3
See reviews for
27
80
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Basic but comfortable, very helpful staff. Good location in Montmartre. Easy to get around from here even if not particularly central . Slept very well over two nights. Highly recommended if on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeFloreParis, Propriétaire at Hotel de Flore, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Martin K,

Thank you very much for coming back on your experience and taking the time to write this very nice review about it.

We are pleased to read that you were satisfied with your stay and our services.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards.

Patrick FERARD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem District, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Staff: The staff was lovely and helped us with every question we had, with a smile on.
Most of them were speaking good english (and the rest were speaking average english for Paris).
If there's one thing I can say against the staff is that we sent a mail to make sure it's a double room (and not a twin - i.e. not seperate beds) but we still got twin - However, we noticed that only after unpacking so we didn't request to change, so there's nothing the staff could do from that point ;)

Rooms: The rooms were nice and simple, but one thing I have to mention is the cleanliness. The rooms were perfectly cleaned every day, the toilet and sink were so shiny it felt like you could eat from it.
Shower didn't have curtains, but as I've seen in reviews of other hotels, it's not common in Paris (French people says it's not hygienic or something...).
The walls weren't isolating noise enough so we could hear our neighbors when they were speaking loudly (but it's not too noisy, and overall it's a quite hotel).

Location: The neighborhood around the hotel is lovely! Lot of bakeries, a supermarket, chocolataries and what not, everything right on the street, a minute of walk.
We read bad reviews about Montmarte, saying it's scary at night, etc. You can relax, Montmarte is a big neighborhood and the hotel's area is everything but scary. I've reached other places in Montmarte, and yes, I can see why they are scary at night, but there are at least 10-15 minutes away (walking).
There's a Metro station about 5 minutes away.
The only downside is that this Metro doesn't reach most sites so almost every site requires a Metro replace (about 30 minutes trip, total, to most sites).

Price: So the price we've paid was much more than I paid for similar hotels in other cities in Europe (Rome and Barcelona, for example). However, Everything else was even more expensive, so I guess it was a fair price for Paris (why is Paris so expensive?!).

Overall, I'm very satisfied of my stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chainet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeFloreParis, Propriétaire at Hotel de Flore, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Chainet,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this very nice comment about your experience in our Hotel !

We are pleased to read that you were satisfied with your stay.

Rest assured that the hotel team look forward to seeing you back again for another pleasant and
enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,

Patrick FERARD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-in-Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I,ve stayed in 100,s of Hotels, and although there is nothing wrong with Hotel de Flore, it will be a shock to many who stay, I would guess it was developed 20 years ago, it has 5-6 floors, with about 6 rooms per floor.
The rooms are small, with basic amenitities, it's old fashioned, and run on a real budget.
It's spotlessly clean, and if you want a room to crash out and see Paris, and just get your head down, it's fine, but you will be disappointed for anything else.
It's noisy, as your in Central Paris, you need the windows open at the front when it's warm,which gives you a view of the street,and everyone opposite eating dinner and watch TV in there apartments.
The reception was very helpful, and speaks good English.
Just think about what you need in a room before you book.
If the owners renovated the place, I doubt they could gain much more for the rooms,it's so difficult to find accommodation in Paris, they have like most Cities a captive audience.
I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeFloreParis, Propriétaire at Hotel de Flore, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Sir,
Thanks to have posted your opinion and to have appreciated the neatness of our establishment as well as the mastery of English by our staff.
As indicated previously, because of new standards of security and handicap, the renovation of the hotel has set more time than foreseen, but will be made very soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Was here for a holiday with two other friends. Booked a room for 3 people. The room was spacious enough for all 3 of us. There was 1 single bed and 1 queen sized bed.

Bath room had a bathtub. It was clean and sufficient.

The toilet was separated from the bathroom. Basic toilet but that's all you need.

There is an elevator to the rooms as well as stairs. It is a really small basic hotel so the rooms are very near each other. Sometimes you could hear what's going on outside.

Don't opt for their breakfast. It's mainly just cereal and croissants.

The hotel is not easy to find at all. It's located at the heart of the Rue Lamarck residential area so be prepared to get lost.

Even though the hotel has no restaurants, there are plenty around the area. Ranging from local cuisine to Japanese, Vietnamese and bakery. There are a few supermarket in the area including Carrefour. The train station is just a 5 minutes walk.

THE BEST PART of this hotel is the staff and customer service. Every single receptionist and staff greets you with a wide smile and is always willing to help you. They will also be able to help you book Disneyland tickets and transport as well as call for a taxi to the airport for you.

Overall, we stayed 5 nights for RM5K. Expensive? Not in Paris.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeFloreParis, Propriétaire at Hotel de Flore, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, and for your kind words.
We’re sorry you found us hard to find.
The hotel is less than 150 meters from Lamarck-Caulaincourt station on métro line 12, and just half a block from crosstown bus 95 stop Lamarck.
You can always contact us to prepare your itinerary to the hotel; in any case :
To come from Charles de Gaulle airport :
By bus : take the ROISSY-BUS to Opéra then the bus N° 95 direction "Porte de Montmartre", stop at "Lamarck".
By train and Metro : take the RER (train) until the station GARE DU NORD.
Then take the Metro from the station GARE DU NORD take the direction PORTE DE CLIGNANCOURT (line 4) until station MARCADET-POISSONNIERS
then take direction MAIRIE D'ISSY (line 12) until station LAMARCK-CAULAINCOURT

From the train station GARE DU NORD : take the Metro direction PORTE DE CLIGNANCOURT (line 4) until station MARCADET-POISSONNIERS then take the direction MAIRIE D'ISSY (line 12) until the station LAMARCK-CAULAINCOURT.

There is a shuttle from Beauvais to "Porte Maillot" in Paris.
Then you have to take the Metro until the hotel :
- line n° 1 direction "Château de Vincennes" and get off at "Concorde"
- then line n° 12 direction "Porte de la Chapelle" until "Lamarck-Caulaincourt".

To come from Gare de Lyon by Metro :
From the Metro station GARE DE LYON take the direction SAINT LAZARE (line 14) until station MADELEINE
then take direction PORTE DE LA CHAPELLE (line 12) until station LAMARCK-CAULAINCOURT.
The LAMARCK-CAULAINCOURT station is at around 150 meters from the hotel.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This small hotel has a number of things going for it - as others have already commented. It is well located on the northern side of Montmartre, very close to a metro station and also not far from Sacré Coeur etc. A couple of small supermarkets are just along the road which is handy too!

Reception was functional but efficient. Our room on the fourth floor was small but clean and had a useful wall safe. There was masses of hot water but the shower did not have a curtain so the bathroom tended to get rather wet! There is a small lift which is particularly helpful for the rooms on higher floors. We slept well as the road is not too noisy at night.

The hotel has recently upgraded itself to 3 stars and consequently put up its prices. However, we would happily stay there again when in Paris.

Top Tip - Parking. Apart from a small unloading bay outside, the hotel has no parking space and the nearest underground car park is not close and quite expensive. Street parking is also expensive. However, if you can time your visit over a weekend, from 1900hrs on Friday to 0900hrs on Monday you can park on the street for free. The only slight problem is finding a space as the hotel is in quite a busy and popular area. However, we soon found one within 400 yards of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victor_Delta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeFloreParis, Propriétaire at Hotel de Flore, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review !

Our showers do not have curtains - it's cleaner and more hygienic. But we do understand that it may be a little surprising. If you find that the floor is uncomfortably wet, please ask the reception for a fresh bath mat.

Also, thank you for your tip on parking ! We'll just add that in August, parking is not only much easier because of all the Parisians having left the city, but also free.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

this hotel is in Montmartre, near to the Metro and local places to eat. We had a double room on the 6th floor with small shower and lo. The room was hot as there was no air conditioning. Staff were helpful

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tallsally2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeFloreParis, Propriétaire at Hotel de Flore, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for reviewing us !

On the issue of air conditionning: like a number businesses and hotels in Paris, we are not equipped for AC. It is extremely unusual for Paris to be uncomfortably hot, but it does happen. Rooms that have windows facing the street receive a lot of daylight ; if you are sensitive to heat, or simply wish for a cooler room in the summer, please don't hesitate to ask for a room on our quiet courtyard.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Hotel Boronali
Hotel Boronali
#1,098 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
#507 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Declic
Hotel Declic
#171 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Hotel 29 Lepic
Hotel 29 Lepic
#568 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Les Jardins de Montmartre
Montmartre
Montmartre Mon Amour
Montmartre Mon Amour
#304 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Flore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Flore

Property: Hotel de Flore
Address: 108 rue Lamarck | Montmartre, 75018 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #693 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Flore 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Flore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Flore Paris
De Flore Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing