We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, nothing special. Convenient, reasonably priced”
Review of Hotel Devillas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Devillas
Ranked #712 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Dakar, Senegal
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, nothing special. Convenient, reasonably priced”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We booked to stay here as we were looking for somewhere central, but at the lower end of the price range as it was early September. The hotel was well priced, but when we arrived we were disappointed with the location as we had come around the back and thought we were far away, but later discovered how easy it was to walk to many of the main sites of the city. Notre Dame is a 15-minute walk from here, so it is convenient. The area itself is not the most attractive as it is right by a train station, but this was not a major issue. The rooms are very small, so we struggled for space a little, but the room was mostly comfortable. As a number of people have commented, the guys behind reception do not come across as being friendly however, they did on a few occasions go over and above what was necessary to help us so I cannot really complain. The hotel is good if you want to stay in a convenient location for a good price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AccraJa_mes82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    230
    118
    40
    26
See reviews for
76
273
36
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forster, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This is a small 3* hotel 400m from Paris Austerlitz train station (if travelling south to the Dordogne, Toulouse etc) so was perfect for a 1 night stopover. Since we arrived mid-morning we were able to leave our luggage at the hotel and go exploring before checking in later in the afternoon. Our room was on the ground floor facing the street. It was quite small (like most "affordable" Paris hotel rooms) but was entirely satisfactory for our stay. It was bright, clean and very quiet during the night. The bathroom, with shower was also clean and bright. The hotel is handy to restaurants and brasseries for a reasonably priced meal. We found the front desk staff to be friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SixtyplusOldBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

When arrived hotel lobby was being renovated and smelt of paint. So got a bit of a shock. After going up a very small lift found the room was very nicely decorated and the hotel wifi useful. Had a balcony to look outside which was nice. The location is near some nice bars and restaurants all in walking distance. The metro stop is also in walking distance perfect for exploring the city. Overall a decent stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLittlestHobo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Just back from a two night break in Paris and the hotel was just what we wanted. It was very clean, the bed was comfortable with good quality linen, the shower was excellent - that's all I ask. Close to two Metro stations - Saint Marcel and Austerlitz, making it very convenient. Nice little bar next door and several more within a few hundred metres. The Receptionist on duty was always polite and they were very happy to store our bags for us after we had checked out.
Good value - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked an internal (scruffy) courtyard. May not have been a spectacular view, but it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyhotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

A simple and small hotel that's an easy, direct, metro ride from the Gare du Nord if arriving by Eurostar with the hotel itself is about two minutes walk from the Saint-Marcel station.

We arrived a little bit early for check-in, and were promptly told so upon arrival, but the hotel was happy to stow our bags securely so we could begin to explore rather than hang around. It's about a 25 minute walk from the hotel to the Notre Dame.

Our 6th floor 'superior' room was small (as is often the case in Paris) - couldn't quite work out what made it so superior though, perhaps it was because it had a little balcony you could step out on. Tastefully decorated, a comy standard double, a small amount of wardrobe space. Room included air-con, TV, desk, safe and their free wifi throughout the hotel.

Only a shower in the bathroom, but that suited us. Shame the attention to detail in the room was spolit by a missing glass shelf in the bathroom and a fomex panel surrounded by masking tape behind the sink stand. The complimentary toiletries are also disappointing - so make sure to take some shower gel!

We didn't bother with breakfast (seemingly the right decision looking at other reviews), but as you're so close to the metro it's much more fun to head into central Paris and find a coffee shop by the river or in the bustling back streets of the Latin quarter anyway.

This hotel is perfect for a place to get your head down that's comfortable, clean and with easy transport links to the rest of the city, (if a bit over-priced for what it is) but if you like to enjoy time in a hotel with lounging spaces, views and waiting staff - this is not for you.

Room Tip: As for a room on the sixth floor at the front. None of the rooms have a 'view' as such, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We thought it was gonna be a great place, but they never clean our rooms and the breakfast is expensive and not so good...the service is terrible, the only 2 good things are; the location, and The rooms, which are small but nicely decorated, and with great lighting.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatima C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Receptionist tried charging us 600 instead of 400- luckily our card got declined otherwise this may have gone unnoticed! The air-con in our room dripped onto the floor- we got moved into another room promptly which was good. When we got back one evening the receptionist asked us if we knew a man as he had come to the hotel asking to be let into our room as he knew our names and room number- still no idea how someone knew this information especially considering we had moved out of our original room! Luckily he did not let him in but for the rest of our stay we were worried every time we left the hotel. On check out we found out breakfast was not included in the bill even though it was a bed and breakfast and in the e-mail this was not stated! Plus it was 12 euros a morning each for a choice of 2 cereals, some bread and one type of croissant- complete rip off. Additionally the receptionist booked us a taxi to the airport saying it would be no more than 40 euros, when it came the driver said it would be around 70-80 euros which we were not prepared for we could barely afford it- not good!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#581 of 1,801 in Paris
551 reviews
Best Western Plus La Demeure
#504 of 1,801 in Paris
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#216 of 1,801 in Paris
294 reviews
Quartier Latin
Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
#1,236 of 1,801 in Paris
478 reviews
Gobelins
Grand Hotel des Gobelins
Grand Hotel des Gobelins
#681 of 1,801 in Paris
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Devillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Devillas

Property: Hotel Devillas
Address: 4 boulevard Saint Marcel | 5th Arr, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #712 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Devillas 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Famous Botanic Garden, a typical Parisian hotel (just renovated) welcomes you.Comfort, Quiet, StyleAll the charm of the Left Bank for your trip in ParisNot far from the Quay de la Seine, the Saint Germain Boulevard, the Mouffetard Quarter, the Bastille Opera, right in front of the Pitie Salpetriere Hospital Center, two steps from the Botanic Garden, and the Universities & Latin quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Devillas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devillas Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing