We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in Paris”
Review of Hotel Devillas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Devillas
Ranked #726 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in Paris”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at Hotel Devillas for 5 nights and it was very pleasant. The room was clean and obviously recently refurbished, and we had a balcony facing the road which was great for fresh air. The "double bed" was two singles pushed together but that was our experience in most of Europe.

The area has plenty of cafes and restaurants if you don't want to venture out into the heart of the city at night which was handy as well. It's only a two minute walk to the nearest subway (and Monoprix) and the public transport system in Paris is fantastic so we were able to get around to all the major tourist sights very easily.

The elevator is slightly small and had some difficulties there but that was only a minor glitch during our stay. It is next to a hospital so you do hear sirens during the night but even being a light sleeper, it wasn't a huge problem for me.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    236
    122
    40
    28
See reviews for
81
280
36
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed here for one night (en route to Epernay) in October 2011 (Feb 13 was the earliest drop-down option given - I must improve on the timeliness of this review-making !) whilst renovations were ongoing, and even in those circumstances, found the place absolutely fine. It is modern, so if you are looking for the genuine 'French' article, this may not be for you, but : great location, close to Gare d'Austerlitz and close to metros and local facilities.

The room was spotless and the service was straightforward - after all, if you have a clean, comfortable room and decent bathroom, I don't know what else you require (perhaps I have a different perspective here, but I don't necessarily need to have a life-changing discussion on existentialist literature with the reception staff (Left Bank or no Left Bank) - and I found everything (ie: check-in/check-out) was efficiently dealt with. We chose not to have breakfast (that is generally our approach, as it is more interesting to eat in a local cafe).

In conclusion : this is a small, modern hotel which is well located and, in my view, presents good value for money - let's face it, this is Paris !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Management and staff were extremely rude, and could care less about the comfort of their guests. Small uncomfortable bed and room, which smelled of last guests. Linens and towels hung up in soiled condition, not what you would expect at the prices they charge. We love Paris, but this trip really makes us not want to visit there again anytime soon. My advice is to spend a few extra bucks on a motel that actually provides comfort and service.

Room Tip: There a no good rooms at this motel.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin9411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

-No shampoo or conditioner
-No other usual amenities
-Horrible hair dryer (over heats and can seriously hurt)
-Old stale towels
-No minibar or kettle with coffee facilities (even though the website said it did)
-Tiny room
-House keeping don't provide more body wash or new plastic cups
-Can only have one room key. Was told by receptionist that guests were not allowed to have more than one
-Was told by an old grumpy receptionist one night that every time we left the hotel that we had to hand our key in and collect it when we returned
-Elevator incredibly small. Max 2 people fit in it.
-House keeper entered the room while knocking while we were still in bed! Happened twice!! And she didn't even apologise!
Stayed for 4 nights and regretted it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my girlfriend. The location isn't bad but that's about the only positive thing I can say about Hotel Devillas. When we checked in the person at the reception was very rude and had poor english for someone working at a hotel reception, we were told we had no booking made until I produced the confirmation email. We had booked well in advance and had asked for a room facing the road. We were led to the room nearest the reception which only had a tiny window out to the back yard, it was like like being in a dungeon. The room seemed nice otherwise as it had just been done up. When we got up and showered the next morning the water from the shower came out all over the bathroom floor and out all over the room floor, it is a flaw in the way the bathroom had been done up, there is no lip up to the shower and the ground slopes towards the bathroom and into the bedroom. We had to throw all our towels on the ground to try soak up the water and put our belongings on the bed so they wouldn't get wet. When I went out and told the same rude guy that checked us in about the problem he told me he would get us more towels to soak the water up! So obviously this has happened many times before so why do they put people in this room?? When I told him this wasn't acceptable he said "what do you expect me to do I cannot make the renovation now" eventually he agreed to change our room but it wouldn't be ready until later. The next room was fine, just really small. My advice would be to stay somewhere else as we could of done without this hassle.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank brian777_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dakar, Senegal
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We booked to stay here as we were looking for somewhere central, but at the lower end of the price range as it was early September. The hotel was well priced, but when we arrived we were disappointed with the location as we had come around the back and thought we were far away, but later discovered how easy it was to walk to many of the main sites of the city. Notre Dame is a 15-minute walk from here, so it is convenient. The area itself is not the most attractive as it is right by a train station, but this was not a major issue. The rooms are very small, so we struggled for space a little, but the room was mostly comfortable. As a number of people have commented, the guys behind reception do not come across as being friendly however, they did on a few occasions go over and above what was necessary to help us so I cannot really complain. The hotel is good if you want to stay in a convenient location for a good price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AccraJa_mes82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forster, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This is a small 3* hotel 400m from Paris Austerlitz train station (if travelling south to the Dordogne, Toulouse etc) so was perfect for a 1 night stopover. Since we arrived mid-morning we were able to leave our luggage at the hotel and go exploring before checking in later in the afternoon. Our room was on the ground floor facing the street. It was quite small (like most "affordable" Paris hotel rooms) but was entirely satisfactory for our stay. It was bright, clean and very quiet during the night. The bathroom, with shower was also clean and bright. The hotel is handy to restaurants and brasseries for a reasonably priced meal. We found the front desk staff to be friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SixtyplusOldBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes
Best Western Plus La Demeure
#493 of 1,800 in Paris
470 reviews
Quartier Latin
Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
#1,208 of 1,800 in Paris
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Qualys Hotel Apolonia Mouffetard Paris 5
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#584 of 1,800 in Paris
551 reviews
Gobelins
Grand Hotel des Gobelins
Grand Hotel des Gobelins
#673 of 1,800 in Paris
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Devillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Devillas

Property: Hotel Devillas
Address: 4 boulevard Saint Marcel | 5th Arr, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #726 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Devillas 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Famous Botanic Garden, a typical Parisian hotel (just renovated) welcomes you.Comfort, Quiet, StyleAll the charm of the Left Bank for your trip in ParisNot far from the Quay de la Seine, the Saint Germain Boulevard, the Mouffetard Quarter, the Bastille Opera, right in front of the Pitie Salpetriere Hospital Center, two steps from the Botanic Garden, and the Universities & Latin quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Devillas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devillas Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing