We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value buy could be better”
Review of Hotel Devillas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Devillas
Ranked #726 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value buy could be better”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We stay here for two nights, 5 minutes walk from the metro station but if you arrive here travel with luggages i suggest taking a taxis would be ideal. When we first arrive there was no greeting at all. Guy at the front desk was just in his corner, didnt even look or said hello till we ask him for our room. Even after we checkin he just turn around and min his own business. Overall the room was good, great value cuz the hotel is located near a lot of family mart and restaurant. The reception just need to be more welcoming and a smile wouldnt hurt.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BTLounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    236
    122
    40
    28
See reviews for
81
280
36
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Just spent two nights at this Hotel. First of all they may have replaced the staff on reception as we experienced nothing but courtesy and helpfulness. They even lent me an adapter for English electric plugs. Location wise the hotel is 2/3 minutes from the Metro and 5 minutes from the RER and ideally placed for a single ride from GareDe Nord. The room was freshly decorated, clean and basic. This is a three star hotel done well. Lots of local cafés and bars with the Botanic Gardens up the road, 15 minutes to the River and very well connected for the rest of the City.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a 3 day stay and thank god I chose this hotel! I was a little scared having never been to Paris that the area might be bad etc but the hotel was lovely, the receptionist was friendly and spoke perfect English. You left your key card with the front desk each time you left but there was someone there 24/7 so not an issue. Guy on the night shift was really nice, kept saying have a nice meal or enjoy your walk. Free digital safe in room was brilliant for passports. Subway across the road gets you anywhere really easily. We had a front facing room on 4th floor. Balcony, new bathroom, freshly made room, GREAT! Only negative...lift fits about 2 people in but really, who gives a crap. I will be staying here again! Great hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justask4leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights the first week of February. As long as you're not looking for luxury, this is a great budget hotel. Our room was clean and the staff was very friendly and informative. The location is decent, as long as you don't mind taking the subway (which is a quick 2-3mins walk). We never heard hospital sirens or the trains. The only downside was the lack of late night restaurants nearby.

In short - if you're looking for a place to sleep while in Paris, this is a good place. If you're looking for a room to relax during the day, don't.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I forget some clothes and when I called to ask they said that they did not find nothing in the room! Just a few hours later I leave the room, the cleaning lady lies and stole so is very serious you are not safe, imagine if you forget something really important they do not care they just keep them away and that is not the only problem you cannot sleep well and get some rest because is next to the subway station so I could sleep at all and they do not put bottles of water, so I considered bad because for the price they should give you one bottle.
Very disappointed!!!

Room Tip: At the front desk they can be more helpful, i mean give you more informations the guy was busy talki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillermo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at Hotel Devillas for 5 nights and it was very pleasant. The room was clean and obviously recently refurbished, and we had a balcony facing the road which was great for fresh air. The "double bed" was two singles pushed together but that was our experience in most of Europe.

The area has plenty of cafes and restaurants if you don't want to venture out into the heart of the city at night which was handy as well. It's only a two minute walk to the nearest subway (and Monoprix) and the public transport system in Paris is fantastic so we were able to get around to all the major tourist sights very easily.

The elevator is slightly small and had some difficulties there but that was only a minor glitch during our stay. It is next to a hospital so you do hear sirens during the night but even being a light sleeper, it wasn't a huge problem for me.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed here for one night (en route to Epernay) in October 2011 (Feb 13 was the earliest drop-down option given - I must improve on the timeliness of this review-making !) whilst renovations were ongoing, and even in those circumstances, found the place absolutely fine. It is modern, so if you are looking for the genuine 'French' article, this may not be for you, but : great location, close to Gare d'Austerlitz and close to metros and local facilities.

The room was spotless and the service was straightforward - after all, if you have a clean, comfortable room and decent bathroom, I don't know what else you require (perhaps I have a different perspective here, but I don't necessarily need to have a life-changing discussion on existentialist literature with the reception staff (Left Bank or no Left Bank) - and I found everything (ie: check-in/check-out) was efficiently dealt with. We chose not to have breakfast (that is generally our approach, as it is more interesting to eat in a local cafe).

In conclusion : this is a small, modern hotel which is well located and, in my view, presents good value for money - let's face it, this is Paris !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes
Best Western Plus La Demeure
#493 of 1,800 in Paris
470 reviews
Quartier Latin
Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
#1,208 of 1,800 in Paris
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Qualys Hotel Apolonia Mouffetard Paris 5
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#584 of 1,800 in Paris
551 reviews
Gobelins
Grand Hotel des Gobelins
Grand Hotel des Gobelins
#673 of 1,800 in Paris
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Devillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Devillas

Property: Hotel Devillas
Address: 4 boulevard Saint Marcel | 5th Arr, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #726 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Devillas 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Famous Botanic Garden, a typical Parisian hotel (just renovated) welcomes you.Comfort, Quiet, StyleAll the charm of the Left Bank for your trip in ParisNot far from the Quay de la Seine, the Saint Germain Boulevard, the Mouffetard Quarter, the Bastille Opera, right in front of the Pitie Salpetriere Hospital Center, two steps from the Botanic Garden, and the Universities & Latin quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Devillas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devillas Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing