We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if you can”
Review of Grand Hotel Amelot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amelot
Ranked #1,215 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Myself and a group of collegues attended a conference in Paris and booked in at the Grand Amelot. The rooms are decent, parts of the staff are competent and friendly (the cleaning staff in particular), but I can not recommend this hotel.

The bookings was mixed up and two of my collegues was issued rooms that was already occupied. Carpenters also started to work in one of our rooms the 3rd day of our stay, dismantling the door, cutting carpets and making a Grand Amelot mess. The price for the WiFi is steep, £1 / 30min is rather solid. Alternatively you can opt for £15 for a week.

The neighbourhood is quiet and good, generally a tolreable stay, but I won't be returning here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 85stiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

Our 2 night stay was horrible.
On arrival the receptionist was unfriendly.
Our room contained 2 doubles although we had booked a king bed.
The bedspreads were stained with what looked like red wine or blood.
The bed was made so that the bottom sheet did not cover the rubber undersheet.
The bathroom (shower only) was tiny.
There was no shower cap and no toiletries, only a soap dispenser fixed to the wall.
We were woken at 4 a.m. by the TV alarm which had not been set to zero after the previous guest had left.
The furnishings are generally tired and the hotel is in need of modernisation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This hotel has a good position( in the Bastille zone which is really quiet), it's near the metro and there are a lot of shops, restaurants and supermarkets . The rooms are very cleaned and the beds are comfortable. About the breakfast service and the food are really good. Lovely staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Had a relaxing stay, beds comfortable, bathroom basic, very helpful gentleman on reception when we arrived. Continental breakfast for 7 Euros was basic and we had to pay full price for our 2 year olds breakfast. Would not take up the breakfast option again. Hotel in a good area

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I have never been treated as bad, anywhere else I have stayed! The guy in the reception (according to him, he was the owner) was threatening to beat me up and threw me out of the hotel after having caused an ugly scene in the reception. All my belongings were gone from my room when I came back in the afternoon on the second day of my stay at the hotel, and I therefore went to the reception to ask what had happened. The guy was immediately yelling and being very aggressive and did not want to talk to me at all. After 10 minutes of ignoring me and reviewing video from a security camera, he came to the conclusion that nothing had been removed from my room. He was very aggressive and claimed that I was lying. He also made up a story that I had checked out of my room the same morning and told me to get out. It was impossible to reason with him, and finally I suggested that we should call the police to help with the matter. This made him even more angry... But then suddenly a cleaning lady showed up with a bag full of my things, which she handed to the guy. He then threw the bag at me and told me to take it and get out, even though I was supposed to stay one more night. I was rather chocked by this treatment and his general behavior and therefore asked if he could be serious and told him that maybe he owed me an apology for what had just happened. This made him even more angry and he came running out of the reception office to start a fight with me, threatening to 'finnish me in one second'! I then left the hotel and I will never go back. I later found out that I had only received some of my belongings. My toilet bag, and some things I had bought in Paris had been stolen. I didn't have time to report this to the police, but I wish I had. Now all I can do is express my deepest disappointment with this hotel and recommend everyone NOT to trust or stay at 'Grand Hotel Amelot', ever!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
9  Thank tobias h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric S, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Amelot, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Silence is the best answer.
You forget some great details, drugs alcohol and unfortunately still very bad attitude behavior during the fashion season.
For sécuritée the hotel we reject all who does not have a normal behavior.

Regards
management

Le silence est la meilleure réponse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Excellent service and very close to all facilities, restaurants and Bastille square including metro lines. Only one negative is the traffic is rather loud since the hotel didn't seem to have double glazed windows, well, not in the room we had anyway. Lovely staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Feliciahaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I had a superb experience at the Grand Hotel Amelot! Aside from providing a highly professional and experienced service, the manager and staff are exceptionally nice and friendly! The room I stayed in was quiet, comfortable and always kept very clean. The continental breakfasts are delicious, the price is quite reasonable and the location is safe and close to the center of beautiful Paris.

Room Tip: Ask if a room with a view of the Génie de la Liberté statue at Place de la Bastille is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosa54_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Bastille de Launay Hotel
Bastille de Launay Hotel
#485 of 1,803 in Paris
463 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Campanile Paris 11 - Bastille
Bastille / Oberkampf
Best Western Hotel Marais Bastille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Villa Beaumarchais
Villa Beaumarchais
#444 of 1,803 in Paris
762 reviews
Le Marais
Castex Hotel
Castex Hotel
#709 of 1,803 in Paris
673 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Les Jardins du Marais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amelot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amelot

Address: 54 rue Amelot | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,215 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £73 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Amelot 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay in our hotel located in the heart of Paris and discover the most prestigious monuments of France : the eiffel tower, the louvre, the arc de triomphe, the new opera bastille, the notre dame, the place des vosges, the marais neighbourhood, ...Enjoy the great entertainments of our magnificent cabarets such as the cirque d'hiver, the bataclan, the moulin rouge, the crazy horse ...Our main goal is your well being, through the quality of our warm hospitality and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Amelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing