We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money in Paris”
Review of Hotel du Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Lion
Ranked #585 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Value for money in Paris”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I stayed two nights while attending a business conference in the nearby Marriott - an 8 minute walk away. I saved about €300 by doing so. The location is very convenient - direct RER from CDG. My 6th floor room was small but everything worked - except the telephone which was replaced immediately. The free Wifi was useful.The staff were all friendly and I was able to use the lounge to work for a while after I'd checked out. The €10 breakfast is only "average" - good coffee but no cold meat, no eggs.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    249
    50
    11
    5
See reviews for
69
172
54
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Just returned back from a 3 night stay in the Hotel Du Lion.

We had a friendly welcome on arrival, all front of house spoke very good english. We were on the 6th floor and yes there are a lot of stairs but there is also a lift which works perfectly fine.

As others have said rooms are small but spacious enough for what you needed. Our room was cleaned daily and we were also given fresh towels daily. The bathroom is fairly modern with a good shower. We opted and paid a little extra for a room with a view towards the Eiffel Tower (room 62) however we could only see the Montparnasse tower due to the Eiffel tower being behind it which was a little disappointing!

The hotel is a nice area with plenty of shops (supermarket right across the street) and restaurants (would definitely recommend Cafe Daguree and Swann et Vincent). The hotel is also a great base for sightseeing, good access to the Metro (literally right outside the door) and great access from CDG airport - direct train from airport to hotel.

All in all this hotel is exactly as described, it isn't a 5 star however it isn't claiming to be. It is a great, affordable hotel with as mentioned before great access to everything you want in Paris. Would definitely return to this hotel if visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danbex23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

It's now the second time, that we came here to stay for a week in Paris. Close to Denfert - Rochereau and the famous rue Daguerre you may go everywhere in Paris within a very short time. The rooms are quite different, some small, others a little larger. The furniture isn't modern, let's say "timeless", and everything is well maintained. There is not enough place for storage (wallrobes). The "salle du bain" seems to be tiny and not suited for people over 2.00m. Everything is absolutely clean. The best of all is the crew, people how love to deal with guests. They have a smile for everybody and listen even if you try to speak french (or something like this). In the end we even talked to the elevator, it needed a friendly word to start. Wow, what a warm welcome to this unique city of Paris. We'll come back again.

Room Tip: The higher the better due to traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seideira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Last weekend I stayed at the Hôtel du Lion again. It is a great place to stay when you are in Paris on holiday or for business.

Close to the métro and the RER stations, the Parc Montsouris, the Cité Universitaire and the lively market street rue Daguerre (which offers ample opportunity to shop and eat out), the Hôtel du Lion offers you impeccably clean, quiet, modern rooms, many of which with a view of Paris. The members of staff at the reception are very friendly. As for breakfast, I do not take breakfast, but the buffet looks appetizing and the breakfast room overlooks the avenue below, which gives you a good view of what is going on in the streets. WLAN is offered free of charge, which is a good thing if you want to work or simply connect to the Internet.

I have certainly found the perfect hotel for my future trips to Paris!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Just a few blocks from the Ritz

For the price I give this hotel a 10!

The rooms are small but they seem to me to be all new... beds carpet windows, and it it is very quite... marche close by.... I stayed a week and never hat to get on the metro.... Front desk staff were great from mail and papers to request of resteraunts can not spell that word?

The breakfast was great ...

I would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Had a fantastic stay here in Hotel Du Lion . very clean modern rooms small but beautifully formed Great transport links into city too
Front desk staff very friendly and helpful maps of paris provided
Even after check out they minded our bags under lock and key until late afternoon
I will be returning again
It's a little gem

Room Tip: Ask for room with a balcony over Lion Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kookaburra2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virtual
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Mixed feelings about this hotel.

The good part was the price, location and cleanliness. Also the willingness of the receptionist to help. Until we decided not to stay. Then the attitude was decidedly unfriendly. I had called to notify the hotel about an early check in (my team arrived on early flight from CDG) and was assured it wouldn't be a problem. Turned out the plan was to give us seats in the foyer for a 4-hr wait until rooms would be ready. This should have been explained when I called.

Even though I'd read the reviews here, the stairs and the single room still came as a shock. Tiniest room and smallest bed I have ever seen in a hotel. The decor in the room we were shown to was depressing. We were initially impressed by the willingness of the receptionist to assist us get a room to rest in for the four hour wait. But the hotel refused us access to the telephone, refused access to the wifi and we were warned not to touch the toiletries (so couldn't shower or freshen up) until given our assigned room, which was the same room type as the temporary one. That's when we decided to look for somewhere else.

The hotel tried to charge us for two nights and i had to bring up the reservation that CLEARLY stated the first night only would be charged in case of late cancellation. I felt they were just being vindictive.

The main attraction was the price and location. I guess it's really a budget hotel, but for less than five Euros extra, we got somewhere better.

Believe everything you read about the stairs. It's a steep climb from a tiny entrance door to the reception. Extremely difficult for older people. A tiny lift that can barely squeeze in two people. Both single and 'double' rooms were small (single room was TINY), but I have since found out this seems to be the norm for hotels in this range in Paris.

Brighter rooms would be a bit more friendly. And, please, recognise that people have a right to choose where to say (or not) and don't ever try to overcharge your clients - it left a sour taste.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nsukky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel Du Midi Paris Montparnasse
Montparnasse
Hotel Sophie Germain
Hotel Sophie Germain
#507 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Montparnasse
Best Western Le Nouvel Orleans Montparnasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Villa Montparnasse
Villa Montparnasse
#606 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
#416 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lion

Property: Hotel du Lion
Address: 1 avenue du General Leclerc | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#133 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#392 Business Hotel in Paris
#392 Family Hotel in Paris
#499 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Lion 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is strategically located, a stone's throw from Montparnasse. within a few minutes, you can get directly to all the main tourist attractions : Eiffel Tower, the Champs Elysees, the Latin Quarter...in general, our rooms are two star, and have high quality facilities : bath or shower, hair dryer, toilet, trouser press, desk, double glazing, direct line telephone and television with satellite channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel du Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lion Paris
Du Lion Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing